Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better on a second reading
On the first, I reacted pretty much the same as the other reviewers, dashing off a two-sentence synopsis to a friend and telling him not to bother.

On the second reading I began to appreciate it more though, although readable, it's actually less accessible than some of Moore's other works (the first two LOEG volumes for example). I can understand why other...
Published on 6 Jun 2009 by Ian Williams

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same?
I picked this up in my local library, having only seen the recent Nemo: Heart of Ice since reading the original story, lo those many years ago. The basic plot of this volume, which is set in 1910, involves the daughter of Captain Nemo running away to sea, and fetching up in a dockside hotel in London, though for narrative purposes, this appears to be in the East End,...
Published 12 months ago by No More Mr. Mice Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better on a second reading, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
On the first, I reacted pretty much the same as the other reviewers, dashing off a two-sentence synopsis to a friend and telling him not to bother.

On the second reading I began to appreciate it more though, although readable, it's actually less accessible than some of Moore's other works (the first two LOEG volumes for example). I can understand why other reviewers were disappointed because the League appears relatively ineffectual in the story which itself is very separate from the other plot strand until the very end. We expect our heroes to, if not always win, at least have a significant effect. Here they are misled and ineffective.

The other part of the story concerns what happens to Nemo's daughter in London's East End, and not very pretty it is either, told in the manner of Brecht's Threepenny Opera with her as Jenny Diver and Macheath as a returning Jack the Ripper.

Operas tend to have prologues and this LOEG volume is essentially the prologue to the new series. What happens here will resonate in later volumes later in the century so it's certainly unfair to dismiss future parts on the basis of the first. However I can understand people who didn't like The Black Dossier (I do, a lot), not liking this as it's more in keeping with TBD's tone than with the first two books.

I particularly liked the Prisoner of London, trapped in space but not in time.

There seems to be some confusion over the identity of Quartermain Jnr. As far as I am aware he is Allan Quatermain made immortal by going, with Mina Murray, through Ayesha's fire. Oliver Haddo is the equivalent of Aleister Crowley in a W. Somerset Maugham story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work but still enjoyable, 8 Nov 2010
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
This was not vintage Alan Moore in any way. However there is still a lot to praise in this book.
My main criticism is that not enough happens. Sure there are plenty of witty lines and some good set pieces but there just didn't seem to be that much of a plot. Of course it is relatively short and is setting up events in future volumes. On a subsequent read through I did start to appreciate it more.

I liked O'Neil's artwork though I think it can be a bit of an acquired taste. It was very evocative and the layout was very clean and clear as well. There is sometimes quite a lot happening and a careful study of what is going on in the background can be entertaining.

Many of the characters that are introduced are not as famous as the ones in previous volumes and I probably didn't get many of the allusions in the book.
It has the usual amusing adverts on the inside of the front cover and the short stories at the back are witty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same?, 3 Oct 2013
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
I picked this up in my local library, having only seen the recent Nemo: Heart of Ice since reading the original story, lo those many years ago. The basic plot of this volume, which is set in 1910, involves the daughter of Captain Nemo running away to sea, and fetching up in a dockside hotel in London, though for narrative purposes, this appears to be in the East End, where she finds work as a chamber maid. Meanwhile, Karnaki (the Ghost-Finder) has had a dream of this, as well as of an occult group who are up to no good. Fortunately, being a member of the current League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, his colleagues are able to do a bit of amateur sleuthing into the matter of the occult group, in which we meet several literary characters, though sadly, due to libel laws, very few of the real occultists who inhabited that era. The sleuthing doesn't really go anywhere, and Nemo's daughter, after rejecting her inheritance when it comes looking for her to tell her of her father's death, finally embraces it and summons the Nautilus to exact revenge on `the East End' when she is sexually assaulted while going about her work. The sleuths turn up to see what is going on at the Dockside, and bump into her just as she is leaving. There is a bit of a sub-plot involving MacHeath the Dockside Murderer, possibly due to the use of songs from the Threepenny Opera to accompany and enliven a rather dull section of the story, but that is about it. Hopefully, this was an episode in an ongoing story, and not a work complete in and of itself. As the old saying goes, if you are the sort of person who likes this type of story - Alan Moore writing his own version of Edwardian dialogue, with much contemporary literary allusion, and illustrated by Mr Kevin O'Neill in his fortunately inimitable style - then you will find this story to your liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerslush, 10 Sep 2011
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
Where before the League was self reverential victoriana, this moves into character study, and not based on previous novellia. It therefore falls or rises depending on your view of the previous. If you love Alan Moore's study of previous literature, it may not appeal as much. If you love fresh interpretations, especially where somewhere as esoteric as Nemo's daughter might explore, through rejection, rape and redemption.. then explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bit more intellectual than your average comic, 8 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. A. G. Sambrook (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
-The most important thing to remember about this comic is that it's one of three, as in it's not a finished story. It's part one... of three.
And it's awesome. In scope and in content...

All of the negative feeling I got from the reviews on this page seemed to be some kind of backlash of Alan Moore's choice of content. Where 'The League' was originally praised for being complex, different, intelligent and actually required you to read - I know! Actual reading! - up on the subject if you wanted to get all of the jokes and references, now people seem to think that this is its downfall. That it's just too clever for its own good. Make up your minds people!

Personally I found it brilliant, elegant, brutal and it hints at a fantastic volume 3 (like I said this is just the first part). It also feels like Alan Moore is setting down a giant blueprint of the series by dabbling across time periods, that as this volume is a snapshot across three eras of the League you get the feeling he'll be filling in the missing years later (he gave us a broad outline in the black dossier). Or maybe he'll go back pre-mina and quartermain? Who knows, I'm just here for the ride. (I have only one question for Mr Moore, and that is will Sir Harry Flashman be making a cowardly appearence?)

If you want full page splashes of spandex clad super heros or eighty pages of fight scenes with dialogue amounting to four or maybe five words this simply isn't a comic for you. This is a comic for the more curious comic reader.
I say bring on the sixties League!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not his best, 23 Jun 2009
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
Alan Moore is generally good (I think thats pretty much taken as read these days) this was not. Like all experimental artists the odd dud is produced and this is one. There is too much self aware literary and historical referencing and not enough character, plot and those other fripperies which are traditionally associated with the medium. Its all very post-modern but not very engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blasting rods, 12 July 2009
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
1910 is the first in a trilogy of stories, new releases over the next two years all being well, taking the concept of blending all fictional worlds into a reflective metanarrative through the twentieth century to the present day.

In this one, Carnacki the Ghosthunter's premonition of an evil cult's efforts to bring about the apocalypse lead a new version of the the League made up of Mina Harker, the rejuvenated Quartermain masquerading as his own son, Virginia Woolf's Orlando, Carnacki and Raffles the amateur cracksman into an adventure that brings them into contact with Nemo's successor and a version or two of Alistair Crowley.

There are two main stories, the death of Nemo and how that and Edwardian England shape his successor, and the League's efforts to prevent the future from happening. To say that the League is ineffectual is wrong, they prove very effectual but not in the way intended. Plus, those who have read much Moore will recognise that his nominal heroes (Miracleman, Halo Jones and Captain Britain spring immediately to mind) are usually pushed and pulled by the tides of fate, and the machinations of other characters, so this is hardly a departure from his normal style.

And what is fun, as ever, is the way that Moore plays the characters off each other, like Mina's dislike of the male Orlando or Raffles' attraction to Mina or Campion Bond's reduction to the role of butler to Mycroft, and the moments like Orlando wielding Excalibur or the encounter with a man unstuck in time whose poetic metaphors hold clues to the future.

And there is the frenetic energy of Kevin O'Neill's art which is perfect as ever at capturing the world in a very British idiom.

I can understand some of the criticisms that the story does not feel complete, thematically it's certainly not and no doubt that's what the upcoming two elements of the story will deal with, but you have to bear in mind that Moore is also reflecting the society of the time, the fin de siecle, bohemian nature of the times. But I wouldn't want to miss out on where this story is going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Century 1910, 12 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
Totally different to previous League books but then again, none of them are all that similar. I guess it's the pacing with this one, it's quite a slow burner and practically everything that happens in the plot is leading up to the climactic ending of death and destruction along with the birth of a new character. A lot of people seem to be complaining about this one being too confusing but I'm not sure why, anyone who's read The New Traveller's Almanac (from League 2) and The Black Dossier should be up to speed and aware of exactly who everyone is and what their purpose is. Another complaint people have is that the literary references are too obscure, well that doesn't matter, League isn't just a glorified game of where's Waldo, there's a lot more to it than spotting the literary references and figuring out where the characters are from, if one is really desperate there's always google. The point of any good comic is the story and the characters, not the satisfaction of a nerdy ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 (Paperback)
Awesome read, and great graphics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok not great, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It wasn't up to the standard of the other books , still not a bad read tho , hence 3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 by Alan Moore (Paperback - 22 May 2009)
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews