Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far freaking out, man!
Sorry, couldn't help that and if I hadn't used that title I'm sure someone else would have.

This book brings back memories of the early 70's when I had long hair and regularly visited a head shop in Newcastle's arcade where I bought my first Grateful Dead t-shirt (Skull & Roses, what else?) and picked up the occasional copy of The Furry Freak Brothers, all long...
Published on 24 Sep 2008 by Ian Williams

versus
2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not funny any more
My worldview has changed so much over the years, that I can no longer identify with anything in these comics. I just don't find any of it funny any more, and I just found it boring. That's all really, just realise that we change over time, and what was great back in the day, just goes flat.
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far freaking out, man!, 24 Sep 2008
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
Sorry, couldn't help that and if I hadn't used that title I'm sure someone else would have.

This book brings back memories of the early 70's when I had long hair and regularly visited a head shop in Newcastle's arcade where I bought my first Grateful Dead t-shirt (Skull & Roses, what else?) and picked up the occasional copy of The Furry Freak Brothers, all long since gone missing.

Along with Crumb's Fritz the Cat, the Freak Bros were the best known characters, and the longest lived, to come out of the underground comics movement of the late 60's. The reason being they were brilliantly written, outrageously funny, perceptive, satirical, scathingly cynical about just about everything, and so on. The detailed distinctive and appealing cartoonish style didn't hurt either.

Now although the core joke is that of the FB's constant search for drugs (followed by sex), the stories themselves ranged widely across all aspects of the counter-culture and the world, music, capitalism, government agencies, revolution, movies, comics, and extreme violence. Oh and let's not forget the Fat Freddy's Cat strip and said cat's constant search for food (preferably live & screaming) and place to use as a toilet (shoes and hats being good). Despite being of their time, the stories remain as fresh and funny as the day they were first published.

Over 600 pages, 224 in colour with covers and posters and other odd stuff, and a brief history of the strip, this is a bargain and a genuine masterpiece of the comic form. This is just great fun from the first to last pages and an essential purchase. It's even better than drugs, man (or so I'm told.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Omnibus review, 3 Jan 2009
By 
M. Doga "Mav" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
This is everything I hoped for when ordering this book. It really is every Freak Brothers story. There are even a few that I had not seen before and I thought I had read them all over the years.It brought back lots of memories.
This is a must for any fan and those that like comic book art.
I am certainly not dissapointed.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories, I think..., yes, definitely, I think..., 11 May 2011
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
In the misty seventies I kept stumbling across these anarchic comics, but I was always too busy with work and a new family to search them out. Recently I was pointed towards this bumper book of all of the stories. To my delight it also includes many of the Fat Freddie's Cat footnote strips and several full page FFC stories.

About a third of it is in colour, two blocks of about 110 pages each in the 624. Tucked away at the back is Shelton's history of how he came to create the series, and how over the years he had help from friends in drawing it, and how they often struggled to keep it going.

It is hedonistic fantasy, a drug-fuelled dystopia, a reign of unlawful and rebellious anarchy, heavily shaded by guilt, paranoia, anxiety and craving. And yet we all knew someone who was just like one of the Freak 'brothers', and we all knew a cat just like Fat Freddie's. It is gloriously Politically Incorrect, and has set the standard all other anarchic comics must live up to.

There is one big problem, the format is smaller than the original publications, and some of the printing is too dense making the text tiny and difficult to read even in a good light - I borrowed reading glasses and a magnifier to read parts of it, mainly the early pages.

But it is worth every penny. I expect to be dipping into it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vote for McGroot!, 23 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
I first discovered the Freak Brothers in the mid '80s and always enjoyed their manic adventures and the subtle and not so subtle satire. I owned most of the comics but lent some out and never got them back. I tried to buy some of them again but found that I couldn't get 'The idiots abroad' stories in colour anymore, only black and white. The ones I had lent out were colour so I wasn't happy about that.

Fast forward several years and I discover this omnibus edition so I just had to buy it. All of the original strips are there and all the colour stories are in colour including the idiots abroad. I'm very pleased with this collection and expect to read it several times over.

If you've never read any of the Freek Brothers comics but enjoy adult themed silliness in your comic book stories then you'll enjoy this omnibus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shelton's Sheer Brilliance Shines In Fabulous Furry Freak Brother's Sagas., 29 Sep 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
Like a lot of people of a certain age and a rock music fan from the 70s when music really was good and if U2 were around at that time would considered 'good' and not mega great I discovered the Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers.

The mags cost around six shillings- that's 30 pence.
The strange thing is the prices kept going up.
Many times the price would have a sticker with a higher price on it stuck in place.
The places where you could get the comics would be 'Head Shops' that would sell Indian Insense, holders clothers and cheap hippy jewelry or those vegan type food shops with all those weird and wonder herbs, spices and meat free burgers and bangers.

The thing was you bought the mags lost em them rebought and lost them again.

I had a good collection but not complete so this book is an absolute mega brilliant discovery.

Every single cartoon strip of the Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers and loads of others including Fat Freddy's Cat is included and a heck of a lot in brilliant colour.

Now the thing that sets these comics apart was they were and are wonderfully drawn and are humorous.
Very. They tell of the alternative and drug fuelled life of three hippies all wonderful characters in their own right and as an added bonus Fat Freddy's Cat that often eclipsed the brilliant of the brother's strips.

Each figure was easy to recognise from Fat Freddy's rotund shape and mutton chop sideburns that merged into a beard.
Freakwheelin' Franklin like a stoned and exiled Hell's Angel with his hat and beard and Phinneus large nose, mustache, glasses and 'genius.

This was a dip into Americana and a drug fueled one at that.

Now some people may say that the comics are a bad influence people copy the antics it makes drugs look 'cool'.
I can say anyone with half a brain and has actually read the antics would understand the converse is true.
These who criticise the comics as being a bad influence are the same loonies that say that say Dennis the Menace in the Beano is a bad influence of children.
If Dennis steals an army tank and flattens the high street children realise that it is a comic and would never emulate his antics.
Any 'do gooder' who thinks the opposite is a candidate for a flat in the Beano themselves!

The antics and mad cap schemes have to be read to be believed Gilbert Shelton was a genius.
No one with half- no make that any neurons in their brain would ever copy them nor make them their role model-- rant over.

Heck it was funny.

Now the great thing is that you can get all the vast number of comics in one place and relive your mispent(?) youth.

And have a brilliant laugh and smile as you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freak Brothers Omnibus, 8 Jun 2009
By 
A. Palmer "apal" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
Reproduction or printing is a little poor in places, with smudged captions and lost detail. Otherwise good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Freak Brothers Omnibus, 26 July 2009
By 
J. R. Gordon "Riff" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
As it says on the cover, every freak brothers story rolled into one bumper package. A must have for all freak brothers fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perverted, subverted, but not alerted: tragi-comic loss of USA, 28 Nov 2010
By 
Rerevisionist (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
More than 600 pages, about a third of them in colour. The whole enterprise is a bit like a printed version of Frank Zappa, including the early struggles with equipment, and uneasy relation with officaldom. The book's end flaps (helpful as bookmarks) reveal material about Gilbert Shelton, who is shown in a photo aged, I assume, about 70. His career - the account includes a few obligatory hippie-esque misprints - includes the printing/publication aspect, people like R Crumb, and prosecutions, which had a long-term damaging effect including in England. The whole Furry Freaks thing was a group effort - contributors in addition to Shelton's storyboarding were Dave Sheridan (died 1982) who overlapped with the strangely-haired Paul Mavrides (joined 1978). But many others are credited with text and storylines.

Judging by a couple of drawings, Shelton worked at a sloping drawing board, the scale not being very far off 1:1, seated on a swivel high chair, with an angle variable lamp and lots of tins of beer. His caricatures are very skilful, not in the Gerald Scarfe style of extreme stretchings and deformations, but a realistic style which could be a living person (apart from noses). Thus the Colonel Cornbelt character looks extremely arrogant; and the woman librarian outraged by a 'f*ck books' enquiry is tweedily terrifying. All the druggie types look horrible, typically with long bent noses covered in pock marks, and sprase unkempt hair, and eyes pointing in different directions.

Shelton may have been trained as an architectural draughtsman; this is a guess of mine, based on several drawings of non-existent buildings, with loving detail suggesting many hours taking caffeine pills at his drawing-board. There are also what look like technical drawings; and mentions of Victorian houses - it's amazing how a long-lived widow gave her name worldwide. Shelton clearly has an interest in formal art - van Gogh, Leonardo, absurd modern art and absurd art gallery people, all put in appearances. He also has an interest in typefaces - everyone knows about 'fonts' now, but it's obvious Shelton studied and used them carefully, including marijuana-leaf lettering and computer-style mock metallic letters with reflections.

The comic cartoons (single page, and multiple pages, and a few strips at the bottom, usually of Fat Freddy's cat) make up the artist's life work. They're dated from about 1970 to about 2000 - the latest I found was 2006. (Some have the date in tiny lettering; there's a slight suggestion they are slightly in sequence). With about forty years to choose from, we can see some social changes: suggestions of the 'Whole Earth Catalog' - Phineas in particular comes up with strange inventions; contraceptive pills; water beds; poppers - amyl nitrite as used widely by 'gays', though Shelton doesn't have much on this aspect of 'social history'; permaculture (the proposed Rip Off Press building is topped by an eco-garden); head shops; Ritalin (for schoolchildren) makes an entrance. Microwave ovens; 'Linda Lovejuice'; a mythical cartoon-drawing computer dated from early home PCs; right through to video cameras, hot air ballooning, and even an IKEA catalogue.

Erich Fromm (I think) said in effect that Mickey Mouse cartoons always have the same plot - a little person outsmarts a big person. There's something of this in Shelton. The three heroes have a Peter Pan quality. Phineas Freakears (black curly hair), Fat Freddy Freekowtski (yellowish hair combined with moustache), and Freewheeling Franklin (Texan hat) - each with easily-identificable nose - are obviously meant as varied stock figures, as in US TV.

The plots hinge somewhat on drugs - sometimes referred to by trade name, in my view a worrying sign. There are lots of puns on grass. Even heroin is in there. It's disappointing that the subject couldn't have been handled differently; but there it is. Not just drugs - unemployment lines, rent arrears, unpaid utility bills loom large enough as plot pivots. Women are mostly sex objects, or just objects - though depressingly this may just reflect real life. There's a bit on politics - politicians happy to pass laws for money, provided they're exempt. A Kissinger character complete wirh defective English and matching morality appears. Mostly it's evasionist - posters on draft dodging, for example.

There's a surprising lack of affection or interest in the USA. This is shown as urban, mostly traffic-choked and rundown. Plus the country, shown as remote and full of hicks. And also roads - the Freak Bros cars, and vehicles, are one of the stars of these comics - unlikely old vehicles, and newer ones which break down all the time. The officials and police are all of the Governor Richpigge type. Most of the Freak Bros major adventures are set overseas: in Mexico, Colombia, Holland, Arab countries.

Throughout this rather hefty volume there is, at least for my taste, a saturating feeling of sadness, for an entire generation of Americans deliberately misinformed and undereducated, subverted and diverted, but not alerted, as their birthright was secretly eroded by aliens. It's a tragi-comic work, the life's work of people who possibly weren't even aware of the subtext of their work. Read it, laugh, be amused at the marginal detail, and note the signs of decay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every Freak Brothers you could possibly want, 8 Oct 2009
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
Yep, this thing has all of them. My only complaints are that some of the comic strips are quite tricky to read because the page format is different from the original (or it could be that I'm 20yrs older and my eye sight ain't want it used to be) and it weighs a bit, not healthy for reaing in bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package (Paperback)
takes me back to the days. later stuff a bit thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freak Brothers Omnibus, The: Every Freak Brothers Story Rolled into One Bumper Package
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews