Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Book of class 47's.
This book is quite simply stunning.

I always like to read a good railway book that is written by people who know what they are talking about. Time and time again I'll purchase a book that is written by the select few of railway authors who churn out lightwight books. That, in all honesty are just repeating/copying others work. With this book, this is not the...
Published on 24 Sep 2012 by Basil Brush

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Condition not good
The book is a present for my husband and his choice - so nothing wrong with the content. The failing is the physical condition and quality of the book and cover. I was very disappointed to find it wasn't shrink-wrapped and the paper outer cover is creased and has a 2cm tear along the book edge. As it's a present there wasn't time to send back.
Published on 15 Dec 2012 by ME


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Book of class 47's., 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
This book is quite simply stunning.

I always like to read a good railway book that is written by people who know what they are talking about. Time and time again I'll purchase a book that is written by the select few of railway authors who churn out lightwight books. That, in all honesty are just repeating/copying others work. With this book, this is not the case. This book is a real gem.

You only have to read the first few pages to find years of research has gone into the publication of this book. I would stick my neck out and call this book the definative history of Class 47 locomotives.

I will warn you now - when you buy this book you will struggle to put it down. It makes easy reading without starting to appear boring. And to me, it is great to read a book you are actually learning something. All too often I'll purchase a book, and think this has been copied from some other publication.

I applaud writers who get out there and do their research. This is clearly the case with this book.

If you like your Class 47 locomotives - you will find this book all you have been looking for. It ties in well with their 50th year of service in 2012.

For me I would give it 10/10. It sounds better than 5/5 using Amazons voting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class 47 50 years of Locomotive History, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
A fascinating look at the way BR went about obtaining a modern locomotive in the late 50`s early 60`s. The book, an important contribution to the history of locomotive development, will be welcomed by the serious student of railway history. It charts the life of this useful and ubiquitous locomotive from its conception and through its working life to its eventual retirement. As I write this a few can still be found doing hard work in revenue earning service. A few can also be found in preservation along side their more glamourous predecessors - the steam engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class 47 book., 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
This is THE book to buy for anyone with an avid interest in this unsung hero class of british diesel locomotive.
They have always been a firm favourite of mine and i thoroughly recommend buying this book.
As ever AMAZON delivered ahead of stated schedule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
THis is an excellent book with loads of good, well researched history about the early years of this class of loco. Loses its way a little in the modern era I think. Lots of good, historical photos make up for the slightly poor choice & quality of some of the more modern pictures which could have been a little more comprehensive. However, overall, a very worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50 years locomotive history class 47, 26 Oct 2012
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
A very interesting and informative book that covers the history of the class 47. The pictures are very well presented, both colour and black and white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'Class 47' Enthusiasts - MUST HAVE!, 2 Oct 2012
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
Myself being a 'serious' Class 47 enthusiast can truthfully say that I have not owned such a heavily detailed 'compendium of information' about the class up until today when the copy of this book arrived.
I agree with Basil Brush in that I honestly cannot put the book down as it is full of such 'New' information about my beloved Brush. I am lucky enough to own the majority of all the books going about the class but like I said to my wife 'now I have this new book it renders some of them obsolete!' Forget your average train book with pretty pictures in, ok this has some damn impressive black and white and also colour photographs of the class but this book is 90% written history and I mean definitive history - a lot of info which is not readily available for the average joe. This is a book to cherish along with my other Class 47 book collection but don't miss out on this fantastic book!
I can't get over how well researched and documented this book is - well done all concerned....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a treet, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
This book was a ideal present for a person who loves trains and the history of special engines especially class 47s.delivered in great condition and enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Railman, 3 Mar 2014
By 
cairns (Haddington) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
Ian Allan at it's best. The three authors have not just gone through the motions to produce this, their enthusiasm comes through, it is a well presented book, intricately researched. There are plenty of photo's, both black & white and colour, plus various tables, performance reviews and the full history of each loco, which is given at the rear. The Class 47 was not the success that it could have been due to various problems throughout it's history, and this back story is perhaps the most interesting. When BR were looking for a new class of loco, there were several candidates. These included BRCW's "Lion" and Brush's "Falcon" amongst others. Sadly both these prototypes evaded preservation. Lion in particular seemed to be at least as good a candidate as the soon to be Class 47. Various manufacturers and engine producers were in the picture, NBL, who had a bad reputation were not considered, and went under due to no new work, BRCW losing out led to them abandoning loco building, a great pity seeing what they had produced earlier. Engine and loco manufacturer English Electric lost out as it's engine was unproven,( much like the engine in the Class 48!) and Mirrlees was also trying to sell a new engine but without success. In view of what happened with their engines in Brush 2's it is perhaps as well. This leads me to wondering why the latter loco class was entirely re-engined after crankcase failures, but it's big brother( Brush 4), wasn't, even though there were very similar problems? The huge costs involved in maintaining these loco's should have perhaps have led to them being given new engines, or even have being replaced by a new build earlier than they were. All in all a great book about a loco that really deserved the acronym " rats" rather than the type 2's, as it certainly covered more areas throughout it's time. Will appeal to anyone interested in railways, I would even go as far as to say " a must have ". Well worth the cost and plenty of interesting reading. Certainly alongside the book " The Grids " as far as detail is involved, and very much the two examples to follow in regard to diesel loco's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars detailed duff history, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
clearly well researched work; readable with appropriate photographs. yt yt ytty yt yt yt yt tyyt hy ybb vg svy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A life with locomotives, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book well written, and very informative. There are plenty of good quality pictures many of which are original Brush Traction material. Very few errors.
From a personal point of view there are many photographs of locomotives I have worked on during their time as Inter-City workhorses
The good thing is the profits from the sales are going towards the repair of the Cl47 Preservation Project's 47771
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History
Class 47: 50 Years of Locomotive History by Simon Lilley (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
£26.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews