Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and moving book
This book was reccomended to me by one of my university tutors. I couldn't put it down. As a psychiatric nurse i regularly read books about the history of mental illness. This has to one of the best covering the treatment of women. For myself the chapter covering victorian attitudes was the greatest. How, men returning from the trenches of World War 1 suffering from...
Published on 27 Oct 2007 by T. Rose

versus
47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Balanced, informative, induces fury.
Elaine Showalter has exhaustively researched her subject, and her findings vary from the fascinating to the merely statistical. But anyone who has the slighest interest in Feminism, or even social history, would really enjoy this book. Also, for fans of Pat Barker's 'Regeneration' trilogy, the chapter on the treatment of shell shock during the First World War...
Published on 25 Nov 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and moving book, 27 Oct 2007
By 
T. Rose "Ice Queen" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Paperback)
This book was reccomended to me by one of my university tutors. I couldn't put it down. As a psychiatric nurse i regularly read books about the history of mental illness. This has to one of the best covering the treatment of women. For myself the chapter covering victorian attitudes was the greatest. How, men returning from the trenches of World War 1 suffering from shell shock made specialists look more into environmental and biological factors of illness. Brilliant read, a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sad., 20 Aug 2008
By 
Mrs. D. L. Cox (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Paperback)
This is a very enlightening book. Very thorough and yet still readable for people with no prior knowledge of mental health history.
Is very hard to read in areas regarding the way many people have been treated. Hard to believe we have been guilty of such practices- but still a very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative read, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Paperback)
This is a very readable history of women and madness between 1830 and 1980 in England. I read this book in my final year at University studying history, and now a few years later I decided to buy it to read again. Showalters wide array of sources really make you feel as if you're getting your teeth into the subject matter. I would definately recomend this book for anyone interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Balanced, informative, induces fury., 25 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Paperback)
Elaine Showalter has exhaustively researched her subject, and her findings vary from the fascinating to the merely statistical. But anyone who has the slighest interest in Feminism, or even social history, would really enjoy this book. Also, for fans of Pat Barker's 'Regeneration' trilogy, the chapter on the treatment of shell shock during the First World War provides some fascinating background colour: Barker herself obtained much of her factual input from this section. Showalter's style of writing, full of verve and subtle humour really raises this book from the educational to the enjoyable. Try it - you might like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Female Malady, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Paperback)
Excellent - a real eye opener and a MUST read for both men and women of a time gone by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Paperback)
Fab critical read! I used this book loads in my dissertation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Research, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Paperback)
I bought this for research on women and madness in the Victorian period, have not yet read so cannot comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition and on time, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 (Paperback)
Product was just as i expected and on time for me to use for my essay! Very happy with this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980
The Female Malady: Women, Madness and English Culture, 1830-1980 by Elaine Showalter (Paperback - 7 May 1987)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews