Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The old ark's a-moverin', moverin' along."
For Maya Angelou, this line from an ancient spiritual epitomizes the civil rights struggle in 1957, a struggle in which she was intimately involved on many levels. Continuing the autobiography she started with I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, she reveals her personal life from 1957 - 1965, drawing the reader into the individual, human costs of segregation and detailing...
Published on 3 July 2006 by Mary Whipple

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of a Woman
I chose this book as it was book four of the six book biography of Maya Angelo. This was not as good as the previous three.
Published 5 months ago by Christiane King


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The old ark's a-moverin', moverin' along.", 3 July 2006
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Heart Of A Woman (Paperback)
For Maya Angelou, this line from an ancient spiritual epitomizes the civil rights struggle in 1957, a struggle in which she was intimately involved on many levels. Continuing the autobiography she started with I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, she reveals her personal life from 1957 - 1965, drawing the reader into the individual, human costs of segregation and detailing her passion and commitment to end it. It is her additional commitment to the welfare of her son, however, and her determination that he will become a man of honesty and principle that unites the several sections of this book and gives it heart.

Angelou had overcome a tormented childhood to become a singer/dancer in the show Porgy and Bess before semi-settling in California. In 1957, Angelou, now twenty-nine and a single mother with a twelve-year-old son, decides to move from California to New York. There she entertains singer Billie Holiday for four days (an unforgettable character sketch), just three months before Holiday's death, and meets Godfrey Cambridge, then a New York taxi driver. With him, she puts on a revue in Harlem to raise money for the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.

Drawn into the orbit of prominent black entertainers and showbiz entrepreneurs during the show, she also meets civil rights leaders, and eventually becomes a regional coordinator for SCLC. Her acceptance as a member of the Harlem Writers Guild leads to the beginning of her writing career. Throughout this period, her son Guy is going to public school, where on one occasion he has problems as the only black child. When they move to a black neighborhood, he runs afoul of a violent black street gang. As Angelou deals with the big civil rights issues, Guy is in the streets dealing with the basic power struggles that underlie and complicate any struggle for justice.

Angelou is candid throughout her narrative, depicting people she meets "warts and all," but she is equally candid about her own actions, her sexual needs, and her impatience with formality and red tape. Her willingness to use her tongue as a rapier gives spice to the narrative and a picture of Angelou as a formidable adversary. When she "marries" Vusumzi Make, a South African Freedom Fighter, and, with her son, moves to Egypt and later to Ghana, she continues her work toward a better life for Africans, while remaining an anchor for her son. In this intimate memoir, Angelou provides insights into the universal civil rights struggle, while, at the same time providing a very human picture of one woman's home life during this tumultuous period of history. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. I'm waiting for the next part to arrive!, 13 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Heart Of A Woman (Paperback)
I've read other autobiographies which have deteriorated by the fourth part. This is not so with Maya Angelou's books. I've read parts one to four now, and at the end of each, I'm left feeling desperate to get the next part to find out what happens next in her life. Maya Angelou seems to have had a lot thrown at her in life, but seems to come out the far side better and stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of a Woman, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Heart Of A Woman (Paperback)
I am reading all 5 of Maya Anglou's books which make up her autobiography. This was one of the five I did not have and as I had raced through the first 3 books I was pleased this one was delivered promptly. This lady has certainly lived life to the full and survived to tell the tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another part of Maya's wonderful life, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Aieshea Wheeler (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heart Of A Woman (Paperback)
Maya Angelou is an inspirational writer. After reading each part of the autobiography i could not wait to see what this wonderful woman had done next. Maya Angelou is an inspiration to us all. and i would definately recommend her autobiography and other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This inspirational book has been very interesting to read, different African settings that were described wonderfully brought a smile to my face. Considering the fact that I'm a Black-British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of a Woman, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book as it was book four of the six book biography of Maya Angelo. This was not as good as the previous three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eventful, thrilling, honest, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shares with us the harsh reality of relationships between husband and wife. Brings to life how it would be to live in another culture. It made me want to get on a plane and see if I could survive somewhere else. My favourite of the series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart Of A Woman (Paperback)
I thought I had bought the complete set and I didn't realise that I hadn't till I wanted to start it. Brilliant books
the service was excellent very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully written story, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A remarkable life and a story beautifully told. This 4th book in Maya Angelou's autobiography takes us on an ever changing journey through historical times and wonderful places. Each book is more assured and better written than the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maya Angelou has been one of my favourite writer and I admire her contribution to the world ..., 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maya Angelou has been one of my favourite writer and I admire her contribution to the world and treasured the legacy she left to world in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heart Of A Woman
The Heart Of A Woman by Dr Maya Angelou (Paperback - 2 Sep 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews