Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This book is a fanastic journey through colonial Africa by one the first female aviators. It captures the atmosphere of native Africa, at an exciting time in history, when motor cars still turned heads, and the idea of flying was almost ubsurd. It is an insight into the ways of whiteman on the continent and how the flying machine became used as a hunting machine as man...
Published on 15 Dec 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great read of a bygone age
Very well written but left me wanting more. Quite an amazing life.
Published 4 months ago by The BoatBuilder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Great read of a bygone age, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West With The Night (VMC) (Paperback)
Very well written but left me wanting more. Quite an amazing life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talent in Africa, 2 Nov 2014
By 
Padel Mick (Bilbao, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West With The Night (VMC) (Paperback)
In a nutshell, a wonderful book! People, please do read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful flying of long ago, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West With The Night (VMC) (Paperback)
Another brilliant book but that of Mary Lovell tops it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 4 April 2001
By A Customer
l was in the book when l read it ever word about the scenery and what was happening you lived it with the author. l saw Africa as it was and the people who lived there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, and a great woman, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: West With The Night (VMC) (Paperback)
A lost gem, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West With The Night (VMC) (Paperback)
Exactly as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West With The Night (VMC) (Paperback)
This book was recommended by my sister. It is quite old so I was not expecting to find it so easily. Not only was the book instantly available at a really good price but it was delivered v. quickly and is in fine condition. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars West with the Night, 10 July 2011
This review is from: West With The Night (VMC) (Paperback)
A thoroughly delightful book to read. High standard of english usage and a truly remarkable story of one woman's life in East Africa. Beryl Markham was taken to East Africa at the age of 4 by her father and succeeded in not only becoming a top class horse trainer but also a pilot. She flew vast distances in Africa and round the world and has written a first class story of her life and exploits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book of all time, 12 May 2011
By 
Merry Baskin (Cirencester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West With The Night (VMC) (Paperback)
I cannot recommend this book too highly. I put it into my book club and they all raved about it, and it remains our favourite book in a club that meets monthly and has done for 6 years. The other reviewers have said it all, so I have nothing to add except read this wonderful book by this amazing intrepid pioneering woman. And if you want to know more about her, which I think you will, follow it up with he biography, Straight on till Morning. (shouldn't that be 'til?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A child's view of Africa and a young woman's dream, 18 Aug 2010
By 
J. P. Stubbs (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West with the Night (Paperback)
The book was well written and really brought Africa [Kenya] to life. Her hunting with the natives is most interesting. Beryl's description of her visit to my family's farm and her experience with their free roaming Pet Lion was very good and showed a way of life sadly now gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

West With The Night (VMC)
West With The Night (VMC) by Beryl Markham (Paperback - 17 Sep 1984)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews