Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT CLASSIC,
"Where's dat blue satin dress she left here in? Where all dat money her husband took and died and left here? What dat ole forty year ole `oman doing wid her hair swingin' down her back lak some young gal?"
I know nothing of Zora Neale Hurston except that she wrote a great classic in Their Eyes Were Watching God sometime in the nineteen thirties.
The books makes...
Published on 29 Mar 2005 by Heather Negahdar

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great story but hard to follow
I am currently reading this book at a university and I find it is one of the hardest books that I ever read. The story however is great and it shows how wemen have historically been abused, and seen as housewifes all along. Zora Neal really captures the feeling of the 30's-60's. I would recommend this book to a person if they have a lot of time on their hands.
Published on 5 Nov 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT CLASSIC,, 29 Mar 2005
By 
Heather Negahdar ""Haze"" (Bridgetown, Barbados) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Paperback)
"Where's dat blue satin dress she left here in? Where all dat money her husband took and died and left here? What dat ole forty year ole `oman doing wid her hair swingin' down her back lak some young gal?"
I know nothing of Zora Neale Hurston except that she wrote a great classic in Their Eyes Were Watching God sometime in the nineteen thirties.
The books makes its focal point around Janie Crawford, the envy of all other black sisters because of her light skin and her below the waist long hair. A strong and independent Afro-American woman, Janie knows what she wants out of life and leaves her town of Eatonville searching for it; finding herself at the altar on three occasions.
Forced more or less into the first marriage with Logan which did not last longer than a snowball in hell, Janie does her best to be a good wife, but at this stage she is still young and does not understand what is required of her in this unity which is on the verge of breaking down. As this happens, she quickly hooks up with the sweet talking Joe Starks, a man whom she looks up to and who will become the mayor of the small county where they live. Life with Joe Starks is different to the marriage with Logan as all the folks look up to Starks who is responsible, thoroughly arrogant, stubborn and forces his opinions and standards on Janie, like it or not.
But a reprieve comes in Janie Crawford's life after the death of the Mayor, which finds her grown into maturity and with a better comprehension of the world around her, and a better understanding of her desires and how she may acquire this love which has eluded her all these years. From her past experiences Janie reaches out for marriage the third time over with a man twelve years her junior, and this is when she will taste love at its sweetest for the first time, and be acquainted with pain, racial prejudice and great loss. For lovers of classical books, this book comes highly recommended!!!
SUGAR-CANE 28/03/05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like this book better every time I read it., 30 Oct 1998
By A Customer
I teach "Their Eyes" to high school juniors and seniors every semester. Usually, we read it aloud in class to get the full effect of the dialect. What fun! They really get into the story. They argue about whether Janie was a spoiled brat (because she wouldn't help Logan) and wonder why she didn't get rabies from Tea Cake (because he bit her as he died). But mostly they just love the whole love story. On a recent essay, one student wrote, "Janie always kept her door wide open. What she didn't like in her life, she let blow right through. And what she liked, she kept." You gotta love that kind of response as a teacher. It's a wonderful, thought provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My eyes have been opened., 15 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Paperback)
This book is one of the few that left me with a 'wow' feeling after I finished it. It is hard to describe just how amazing this book is, so I suggest that you read it to find out!

The racism is shocking at times, yet it invites us into the 'porch culture' that is so commonly associated with Black America. The protagonist is Jane, the product of rape by a white school teacher. Her mother runs away, leaving her in the care of her grandmother, who tries to shield her from the strong racism (Janie doesn't even realise she is black until she is 6!) and, wanting the best for her, arranges a marriage when Janie is just 16. Janie struggles but eventually takes her to a man worthy of her love. It is a beautiful tale, full of sadness, yet these downtrodden characters show admirable determination to survive and make the best of life. It is well worth reading, and easy to see how this book provided inspiration for authors such as Toni Morrison!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding story, 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Paperback)
Their Eyes Were Watching God was one of the best books that I've ever read. The book answered a lot of questions about life. We are faced with several conflicts in humanity with choices having to be made between Love, Good, Evil, Hope or reality, and Truth. It is a story about Janie, a young black woman, who tries to find herself through her grandmother's footsteps and eventually confronts herself to become the person she knows is of her own good. Taken along the memory lane in a small southern black town, "Their Eyes were Watching God" is a beautiful portrayal of the conflicts confronting Janie, not only about herself but also about how her society perceives her. Through an amazing creativity in characters, plot development, excellent narrative, lessons and dialogues and an easy ride through time, Zora successful made the reader to understand and appreciate black culture. This absolutely credible story is a highly recommended book to anyone with a taste for classic stories.Also recommended: USURPER AND OTHER STORIES,TRIPLE AGENT DOUBLE CROSS, THE GREAT GATSBY, UNCLE TOM'S CABIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Book, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Hurston tells the story of Janie, a poor black girl whose grandmother, born into slavery, bequeaths her granddaughter the indispensible freedom of marrying a free, moneyed black man before her death, determined that Janie won't suffer as she and her mother did.

Janie, not in the slightest bit grateful for this, suffers differently, wishing to marry for love and find the man who makes her feel free inside. The story chronicles her life through her various loves and is a fascinatingly rich story of a woman's fight to find a personal freedom and sense of self which no amount of money, laws or social standing can bring.

I had never read Hurston before but am a huge fan of Toni Morrison's writing and in reading Hurston it is easy to see the debt that Morrison owes her. Hurston has a fine ear for colloquialisms and the real life of black people in the nineteen thirties. She tells it as it is, and the book is all the richer, more powerful and moving for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sho does read well!, 4 July 2009
This review is from: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Paperback)
Reading Their Eyes Were Watching God takes us back to simpler times, though not necessarily easier ones. Being a Southerner myself, I find it easy to read the dialect of the characters; non-Southerners might struggle. One can easily see how Alice Walker delighted in Zora Hurston's playful use of words, and how it led her to become Hurston's literary daughter. Front porch life on the village store of Eatonville, Florida, is laugh-out-loud wonderful as rocking chair denizens play the dozens. Janey's life, however, goes from good to bad under the thumb of her Lord Mayor husband until she catches the eye of Tea Cake. There is much to love about Hurston's books, especially this one, and I would recommend it for anyone wanting a historic taste of black Southern life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite classic and a must have..., 11 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Paperback)
I hadn't even heard of Zora Neal Hurston until a few weeks ago, till I was given the book as a gift, and then watched the movie (starring Halle Berry and produced by Oprah Winfrey). This is a book for every woman who has ever felt there has to be more. Much more. The story is about Janie, a free sprit if ever there was one, her spirit almost becomes a central character and carries her forth and helps her break free from the shackles of unworthy men. Essentially, a love story, but Janie's free spirit and love of life is the real story. Alice Walker describes this as "There is no book more important to me than this one" I agree, I feel it, I love it, I recommend it, read it, watch it, whatever, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was great!, 19 Mar 2000
By A Customer
I think that the language at times was hard to follow, but after getting use to the language the book was poetic and life impacting. I think that any one who do not understand the message of this book is a shallow person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rhythmic & lyrical masterpiece of Afro-American writing, 26 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Paperback)
In writing Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Hurston gave women their birthright to dream of love and happiness and to seek to fulfill those dreams. Toni Morrisson and Alice Walker are amongst the eminent writers who have praised her work. It is direct and accessible yet at the same time poetic and lyrical in its narrative and although it was written in the thirties is still resonant and fresh today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rhythmic and beautiful tale, 13 Jan 2004
This review is from: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Paperback)
Janie Starck is a woman with dreams - big dreams, romantic dreams. But her grandmother knows those dreams will only get her into trouble, for "De nigger woman id de mule ah de world".
Married at sixteen, Janie soon finds that wedded bliss is just as lonely and confining as her former life, and the world is to hold more mystery - and more men - before she decides that husbands are just things to "drop dreams over". When she finally meets the man of her dreams, the man who will truly liberate her, he tellingly offers her not diamonds but a packet of flowering seeds.
First published in 1937, Zora Neale Hurston's masterpeice is a rhythmic and beautiful tale of an unconventional woman's quest for self-fulfilment.
The Gardner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Their Eyes Were Watching God
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston (Paperback - 4 Feb 1986)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews