Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it again and again - and still love it!
"Robert says nothing". But what was he thinking?

The Provincial Lady fascinates me: her way of life, her comments about the social standards predominating before the last war. It could all be rather boring but somehow the way she talks isn't. And I catch something different everytime I re-read the book or listen to the audio cassettes.

There were...
Published on 14 July 2007 by P. Golding

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Excellent book but don't buy this version/edition as it is full of typos. It's clearly never been proof-read.
Published 3 months ago by M B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars the good old days, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Provincial Lady (Paperback)
It is many years since I last read this book, and recall thoroughly enjoying it, so decided to read it again. To my surprise, I enjoyed it even more second time around - on contemplation I think this was because with the passage of time and experience of life you are able to appreciate this wonderful 'diary' even more, and it does hark back to a former way of life which is alien to the younger generation - a real touch of nostalgia! The gentle humour and observations are wonderful, and I am delighted to re-aquaint myself with this book. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Provincial Lady (Paperback)
thoroughly enjoyed the whole book, some periods more than others. a book one does n't need to read to the exclusion of other books but can pick up and enjoy another humorous chapter whilst having another book on the go. evoked many memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EM Delafield is an amazing writer. Wonderful!, 4 Sep 2014
All EM Delafield's books are fantastic. Superbly intuitive about people their feelings and relationships. All her books are wonderful I think, - Heel of Achilles and Faster Faster and Now now one will know are all unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four books in one surprise!, 15 Aug 2010
By 
Jenny Brand (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Diary of a Provincial Lady (Paperback)
received this book second hand in perfect condition, and was delighted to find that it also contained three sequels to the original book - this had not been advertised when buying, so was a welcome bonus. I had originally discovered this author through buying a cassette in a car boot sale of Imelda Staunton reading Diary of a Provincial Lady as the Woman's Hour serial. The book gives an eye opening insight into middle class life of the 1930s, which comes over as life in a different world, and yet we can recognise in the personalities of the characters many of the people around us today. Diary of a Provincial Lady is very entertaining because of its observational, mildly sarcastic and self-deprecating humour. Looking forward to reading the three sequels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 14 Jun 2000
This book is so funny, it's British humour at its best. You can really relate to her and her life. Just read the book and you'll understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diary of a Provincial Lady, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am only part way through this but enjoying the humour --recommend the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Book., 18 Oct 2014
By 
Mrs. Angela READ "Maturegrad" (Devizes, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delightful book. I shall re-read this many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars intelligently written, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diary of a Provincial Lady (Paperback)
Lovely chatty, intelligently written book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 24 Feb 2009
By 
Bought this book for my Mum and she was delighted with it. She thought I'd bought it new it was in such good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am really enjoying her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diary of a Provincial Lady
The Diary of a Provincial Lady by E.M. Delafield (Paperback - 15 Nov 1984)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews