Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
This book is a mix of meditation's, personal reflections and a view of hope both personal hope and hope for the human race. Written in a post 9/11 world this book looks at the cross as a historical reality and a message to each and every generation. Radcliffe as Prior of the Dominican's has spent most of the last 10 years traveling the world interacting with members of...
Published on 21 Mar. 2008 by Steven R. McEvoy

versus
8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a great book
Father Tim is a lovely man, a deep thinker, a mostly fine writer (not without his stylistic tics) and someone from whom there's always much to learn. The great bulk of this book is no exception.

What a pity that, right at the end of the book, he gets the aetiology of 9/11 completely, tragically, round his neck. While it's not the point of the book, he made...
Published on 28 July 2007 by Harry Callahan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Mar. 2008
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seven Last Words (Paperback)
This book is a mix of meditation's, personal reflections and a view of hope both personal hope and hope for the human race. Written in a post 9/11 world this book looks at the cross as a historical reality and a message to each and every generation. Radcliffe as Prior of the Dominican's has spent most of the last 10 years traveling the world interacting with members of his community around the world and other Christians during his travels brings a unique perspective to these meditations.

Each meditation is accompanied by an image of a cross from Radcliffe's collection. Each has a story about where he received it and how it ties into the meditation.

This book begins with a section titled `In the Beginning was the Word' on the word in creation, and the word in the life of the church. How words can hurt or heal. How words or lack there of our silences can bring both life and death.

Next he focuses on the 7 last phrases from Jesus on the cross. `Forgive them, for they know not what they do.' Luke 23:34. Then his words spoken to the good thief `Today you will be with me in Paradise.' Luke 23:43. Then the words spoken giving Mary as mother, `Women, Behold your son ... Behold your mother.' John 19:26-27. Next is his cry of abandonment `My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?' Mark15:34. Then `I thirst.' John 19:28 and then `It is finished' John 19:30. Finally he cries to God again, `Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.' Luke 23:46.

Radcliffe focuses on the order of the cried from the cross, the first, fourth, and seventh are to God, and in between he speaks to us.

The afterword focuses on the silence, the silence of the grave, the silence of the disciples lost before the resurrection. Then a section on our words. He speaks about violence, and the Christian response to violence, specifically in regards to three different situations: 1. The conquest of the Americas; 2. The Holocaust and 3. 11 September 2001 and how as Christians meditating on the cross we should change our views.

If you search the `seven last words' is a search on Amazon.ca produces 59 books with the title or key words `Seven Last Words' and Amazon.com has 629 books. So why would a reader want to pick up this one. But why with all of that would you buy this book. Because it touches deep in the history of our generation, and our response to the evil in the world.

(First Published in Imprint 2007-03-16 as 'Last Word for Lent'.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seven words, 28 April 2010
By 
MC (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seven Last Words (Paperback)
Particularly useful in Lent, a very accessible series of meditations around the last words of Jesus. Timothy Radcliffe always writes with great clarity and warmth, and this book would be helpful to any Christian. His work also has depth and authority.
The illustrations and the notes on them added an extra dimension to this lovely little aid to prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lenten Read, 1 Feb. 2010
By 
Cdr M. G. Hawke (Oban, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Last Words (Paperback)
A delightful small book with lots to contemplate, as there always is with Fr. Timothy's writings. I recommend this as another Lent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Inspiring, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Last Words (Paperback)
This book is based on the last seven words of Jesus on the cross and sets these words against real life historical events. There are some very moving stories and it most very thought provoking. For the money one we spend week by week if we just take a small amount of this and buy this book I think you will find it worth it. Read the story about the boy in the Nazi concentration camp. Shockingly sad but set against Christ’s words gives hope even in the darkest moments of our humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive - also for the non believer, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Last Words (Paperback)
A slim, rich volume from a spiritual man who lives his faith and walks the walk with humour and insight. Faith-building = edifying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book I pass on to others, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Last Words (Paperback)
Timothy Radcliffe's books are always excellent. This meditation on the death of Christ is the best one for Christians to prepare for Easter. He writes in his usual human, warm, prayerful way which uplifts the spirit.
I highly recommend this book, and would encourage every Christian, young and older, to read and reflect on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
ANNA ZIMAND (DERBY, DERBYSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Last Words (Paperback)
Inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a great book, 28 July 2007
This review is from: Seven Last Words (Paperback)
Father Tim is a lovely man, a deep thinker, a mostly fine writer (not without his stylistic tics) and someone from whom there's always much to learn. The great bulk of this book is no exception.

What a pity that, right at the end of the book, he gets the aetiology of 9/11 completely, tragically, round his neck. While it's not the point of the book, he made the decision to refer to that outrage and his skew-whiff analysis of it, especially coming as it does just before the end of the book, is so wrong-headed that it can't help overshadowing the rest of what he set down.

Practically impossible to rate the book overall as a result. Two stars would have been too miserly overall, but the removal of two stars scarcely seems enough for such a disfiguring drawback. What a pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Last Words
Seven Last Words by Timothy Radcliffe (Paperback - 12 Jan. 2004)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews