Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great book
Great Book.....glad to have it once again...classic songs to play and sing to this is a timeless song book to own.
Published 17 months ago by Gaelle S. Hammond

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin
If you want to play and sing S&G like the records, you need to listen to them.
This will get you in the right key and help you work out the chord sequences, but if you are looking for transcriptions of Simon's fantastic guitar work or having problems perfecting those gentle harmonies, there's not much here for you.
Easy Guitar books have their...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by Behan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 15 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to play and sing S&G like the records, you need to listen to them.
This will get you in the right key and help you work out the chord sequences, but if you are looking for transcriptions of Simon's fantastic guitar work or having problems perfecting those gentle harmonies, there's not much here for you.
Easy Guitar books have their place: I played "I am a rock" straight off the page and greatly enjoyed myself. "Sound of Silence" is well enough transcribed that you could get it sounding pretty good, but the arrangement for "Emily..." doesn't really satisfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (Piano/Vocal) (Paperback)
Great Book.....glad to have it once again...classic songs to play and sing to this is a timeless song book to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (Piano/Vocal), 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (Piano/Vocal) (Paperback)
This piano book is very good, and has lots of great songs inside the book.
Great for those who play the piano, and want to play Simon & Garfunkel music on the piano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Returned for Refund, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good choice of classic songs and I was not deterred by the 3 star reviews mentioning the easy - ie. not fully complete - transcribing.
However I have had to return the book since it had been badly printed with poor choice of fonts. Tab numbers (which all look slightly smudged) for adjacent notes (to be played at the same time) overlap making the numbers v. difficult to read. 3 notes together looks like a big squiggle - had to squint to try and guess the tab numbers.

Also not sure about some of the capo positions. Plus unnecessary & peculiar symbol used for repeat. Some of the fonts/layout also change in the titles suggesting a cut&paste job. I can't (and have no ambition to) read music notes and book is useless if I can't make out the tab numbers hence return and 1 star review. Maybe unlucky that I got a badly printed copy but no way of knowing without further hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simon and Garfunkel's songbook, 20 Jun 2012
By 
D. Hamilton "Culture" (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (Piano/Vocal) (Paperback)
Excellent for those who want to play and/or sing their early hits and includes guitar chords. I am trying to adapt the songs for keyboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Badly planned, 7 Jun 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "BuddieHollie" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book is badly planned I bought it for Scarbourgh Fair, 59th Street Bridge song etc and on Scarbourgh Fair there was some parts missing notes wise and I had to work these out by ear. Also on 59th Street Bridge song the intro is missing so again you have to work out some parts by ear. You do get the intro parts on all the others and you get tablature as well, all the music is in the original keys but you have to use a capo on some keys to get the original (as Paul Simon used a capo) but its stated in the book which fret you place it. A backin track CD would have been a nice addition item and would have given more value for money otherwise its ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest hits, 16 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (Piano/Vocal) (Paperback)
One of the many books of S&G's hits and, while nothing special, it is a very useful text for anyone interested in learning their songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, 26 July 2012
This review is from: Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (Piano/Vocal) (Paperback)
Word of warning - buy your music books from a shop instead unless you're already familiar with the contents of the book. This book contains extremely compromised versions of S&G's greatest hits which I cannot enjoy playing after listening to the true recordings for so long. Most of the compositions are lazy and don't capture the character of the songs at all. I should point out that I bought this book for piano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (Piano/Vocal)
Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (Piano/Vocal) by Art Garfunkel (Paperback - 1 Jun 1996)
8.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews