Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beatles Complete Is Incomplete
Despite the title Beatles Complete, there are a number of official (not out-takes - not released after the group broke up - not bootlegs) Beatles songs missing from this otherwise excellent book. Harrison's Something (Abbey Road), & I Me Mine (Let It Be) for starters.

It is however a very useful book for learning most of their songs.
Published on 29 Aug. 2011 by Holmes Christopher

versus
69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst biggest-selling pop transcription ever
Speaking as a member of a Beatles tribute band and having played guitar since the age of eight, I can categorically say that this book is absolutely AWFUL. I am frankly astonished that they are still getting away with marketing it after all these years (it was first published in the 1970s) for the following reasons:
1. It's not 'complete' at all. A...
Published on 1 Dec. 2005 by M. Wurr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst biggest-selling pop transcription ever, 1 Dec. 2005
By 
M. Wurr "Max Wurr" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
Speaking as a member of a Beatles tribute band and having played guitar since the age of eight, I can categorically say that this book is absolutely AWFUL. I am frankly astonished that they are still getting away with marketing it after all these years (it was first published in the 1970s) for the following reasons:
1. It's not 'complete' at all. A number of key classics are missing and none of the tunes the Beatles covered (but didn't write) such as Twist and Shout are included.
2. The lyrics are incorrect in many places.
3. The keys of many tunes are way off the mark
4. The transcriber is clearly not a guitarist (it strikes me as the work of a hamfisted pianist).
5. Many of the melodies and chords are poorly or incorrectly rendered.
In short, do not touch this book with a bargepole. If you want faithful transcriptions of what the Beatles ACTUALLY played (including guitar solos, chord fingerings and so on), it's worth spending the extra money on the Hal Leonard Complete Beatles Scores. The only good thing about the Beatles Complete is the artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For those who don't want to sound like the originals, 6 Mar. 2006
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
No,No,No. Wrong keys wrong instruments, wrong ...well everything. Most of the Beatles music after the initial rush, was not played solely on guitar. Even the early stuff was vocal with instruments well to the back except for the occasional harmonica or ringing guitar. No melody was exclusively played on the solo guitar, so a "play the Beatles on guitar" was a loser from the start. But wait, whereas the Beatles played simple chords, easy to finger on a guitar, this book, moves them from the guitar to the piano, transcribes them to weird keys and then moves them back to hard to finger guitar chords which are in a different key to the records so you can't play along to them. Rubbish, rubbish. If it was so easy for the Beatles, why do books which make it hard for the player, still sell?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy, 7 Nov. 2006
By 
S. van Schagen (Haarlem Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
I must agree with those who have given a bad review. The chords are often symplified and quite often just wrong. Maybe interesting for thos who have just started playing guitar, but then again, there are better ones out there, even for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beatles Complete Is Incomplete, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
Holmes Christopher (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
Despite the title Beatles Complete, there are a number of official (not out-takes - not released after the group broke up - not bootlegs) Beatles songs missing from this otherwise excellent book. Harrison's Something (Abbey Road), & I Me Mine (Let It Be) for starters.

It is however a very useful book for learning most of their songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Damaging book. Do not buy. Buy an alternative book., 11 Dec. 2009
By 
J. Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
I'm astonished that this book is still being sold, apparently uncorrected.
I have to disagree with the person who said it might be OK for a beginner - that's the last person who should try to use it. The chords are so wrong and unnecessarily complicated that when I bought this book, many years ago, I initially gave up on many of the songs, assuming that I was doing something wrong.

I suspect that in some cases things are made more complicated by the person(people) who transcribed the music going by the records and sometimes The Beatles played in one key, then the tape was varispeeded and in the days before pitch-shifting this always made the song sound in a different key.
Even so, many of the transcriptions here don't sound like the records either!

If you are stuck with this worse than useless, potentially damaging, book then go to youtube and, wherever possible, watch the Beatles playing the songs. At least then you will be able to tell what key they are playing in live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
lexo1941 (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
This is, simply, utterly inaccurate. The guitar chords are plain wrong, the lyrics are usually either incomplete or badly transcribed, and the melodies do not tend to reflect what's on the record. It may have some sentimental value for some non-musicians as the earliest and grooviest-looking attempt at a complete Beatle songbook (there are some really bizarre and frankly quite creepy illustrations), but as a guide to how to play Beatle songs, it's useless, and very far from complete. You really are better off with the Hal Leonard transcriptions, although they cost a bomb, weigh a ton and will take up far more room on your bookshelf.

Of course, you're even better off listening hard to the records and learning the songs from them. That's what the Beatles did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mmmm not bad, not great! but not bad., 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
Not bad, very simplified versions of the Beatles tracks, some of the songs in here have most of the memorable bits of the songs missing... A Day In The Life for example... some of the chords used are simplified from the originals so you do loose something when playing from this book (especially if you know and love the Beatles as we do) but all in all its not bad for beginners or just a little 'flip open the book and play' kinda jam...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars very poor-stay clear, 20 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
I cannot say how inaccurate this book is and any beginner buying it will be DAMAGED technically and emotionally trying to work out chords that DO NOT WORK! Some seem to work when a capo is attached but this essential piece of information is omitted. Please do not buy this terrible book and go the Betty Lou website instead where much better chords are used or look at youtube covers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best if you are a pianist, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
Dr. Michael J. Atkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
This book is the opposite end of the scale (mind the pun!) from the Compete Beatles Chord Book. It is an exceptionally useful insight to the Beatles' music for piano!!

This is not a book for a beginner. I take the point of other reviewers about being not having all songs and not being totally accurate for guitar .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bad re-print of the famous Beatles song book, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition (Paperback)
This re-print of the Beatles Complete song book confused me. Why are songs from The Wings in the book?
Paul McCartney wasn't the only Beatles member. Why can't the book be left original?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition
The Beatles Complete: Guitar Edition by Ray Connolly (Paperback - 31 May 1983)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews