Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended
a good book about procrastination without fluff and hype (as oppose as a lot of American books)

This is not a book written for entertainment, but to solve insidious problems that hinders your potential,like procrastination. Highly recommended
Published on 30 Jan 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice and short, but really difficult to read...
This is a short book, so if you are the kind of person who gives up quite easily, it is perfect. I read in a couple of hours. The structure of the book is sound and clear: looking at the different reasons whay people proscratinate, steps to be taken, etc.
My main problem is the language used in the book, not so much the terms used (because they are clear enough), but...
Published on 6 July 2009 by annetortue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 30 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Procrastination (Overcoming common problems series) (Paperback)
a good book about procrastination without fluff and hype (as oppose as a lot of American books)

This is not a book written for entertainment, but to solve insidious problems that hinders your potential,like procrastination. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Useful, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Procrastination (Overcoming common problems series) (Paperback)
A gem of a book, Short, sharp and to the point. It really helped me to understand the reasons why I was procrastinating and how to procrastinate much less.

This book uses the basic principles of Rational Emotive Behaviour therapy, which was developed by Albert Ellis and is closely related to CBT. There is very little fluff in this book but it does contain many extremely helpful techniques and other practical advice.

It identifies common reasons why people procrastinate and also how to overcome these excuses and rationalisations. There are also some helpful time management suggestions.

It does require a little bit of work from the reader but everything is clearly explained and is fairly easy to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good down-to-earth advice for overcoming procrastination., 11 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Overcoming Procrastination (Overcoming common problems series) (Paperback)
Dr Dryden gives good advice on overcoming procrastination. He understands the mix of anxieties behind it and is helpful without being condescending. He makes it clear that its your problem to solve but this is done with sympathy and worthwhile suggestions. A short but down-to-earth book without any pyscho-babble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Miss A. K. Jones "angela" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Procrastination (Overcoming common problems series) (Paperback)
good as long as you don't procrastinate too much then it's difficult to get through book. but I would say it's straight forward and not to long so a great book for procrastinators to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good concepts in right-sized book, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Procrastination (Overcoming common problems series) (Paperback)
Dr. Windy Dryden proves an accomplished therapist in one more of his Overcoming common problems series. Concepts are explained in a clear manner and the fact that the book is just over 100 pages makes it an easy read. Would definitely recommend it to understand procrastination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice and short, but really difficult to read..., 6 July 2009
By 
annetortue (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Overcoming Procrastination (Overcoming common problems series) (Paperback)
This is a short book, so if you are the kind of person who gives up quite easily, it is perfect. I read in a couple of hours. The structure of the book is sound and clear: looking at the different reasons whay people proscratinate, steps to be taken, etc.
My main problem is the language used in the book, not so much the terms used (because they are clear enough), but the structure of the sentences. I found myself re-reading sentences several times to just try and make sense of them. Unfortunately, I found it harder and harder to read as I went along: double negatives and extensive use of subordinate clauses made several paragraph unintelligible. Even though I read it in a few hours, I had to take a break because it was giving me headaches!
I wish someone would edit Dr Dryden work to make it more accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overcoming Procrastination (Overcoming common problems series)
Overcoming Procrastination (Overcoming common problems series) by Dr Windy Dryden (Paperback - 24 Mar 2000)
£6.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews