Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful
This is a very helpful book that is based on the principles of Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy which is a branch of CBT.
It is well written, everything is clearly explained and there is very little fluff. It is a quick and easy read and that is down to the clarity of the writing as well as the short length of the book.

The ten steps are:...
Published on 11 Feb. 2011 by The Emperor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars He really is windy...
...and uses a lot of excess wordage. However, he has some good ideas. Worth looking at. Read in partnership with Depression, the curse of the strong', perhaps.
Published 9 months ago by Jill Hubbard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, 11 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
This is a very helpful book that is based on the principles of Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy which is a branch of CBT.
It is well written, everything is clearly explained and there is very little fluff. It is a quick and easy read and that is down to the clarity of the writing as well as the short length of the book.

The ten steps are:

Step 1: Assume Personal Responsibility
Step 2: Adopt a Non-demanding flexible philosophy
Step 3: Accept Reality
Step 4: Develop High Frustration Tolerance
Step 5: Develop a healthy Attitude Towards Yourself
Step 6: Allow Yourself to Experience healthy Negative Emotions
Step 7: Think Critically, Think Creatively
Step 8: Develop Vitally Absorbing Interests
Step 9: Improve Relationships
Step 10: Personal Change: Develop a realistic Outlook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, easy to read, no nonsense book, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
David Stewart (Glasgow, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
This book was recommended to by a therapist who practises in Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy. This book is a great introduction to CBT and general Cognitive Therapy, it is practical and very useful.

It's a light read, but full of information. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great principles for a happier life!, 22 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
I do recommend this book to all of my clients and to date, no one has ever disliked it! It's a great book, full of the fabulous principles of REBT. Go buy it and practice! See how you will change your view of life events and become healthier and happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars step it up, 15 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
used along with my therapy this puts a lot of complex ideas into simple language, i would recommend it - its a book you can dip in and out of as you need a bit of support. highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic Steps, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
I found this book a grounded, down-to-earth approach to living a psychologically healthy life.
It is not of the 'you can achieve anything' genre, but a realistic approach to living that asks us to have less demands on life. Despite the positive in the title, there is a chapter on Negative Emotions; to accept they will happen and gives examples of healthy disappointment/ sadness.
I like the chapter on Thinking Critically and Creatively, in which the author asks us to adopt a scientific approach to health therapies or other issues, rather weaker was the creative suggestions, but he does give pointers to other books/ authors, such as Edward De Bono and Roger Von Oech.
A book to keep and refer to, methinks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that helped me change my life, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
I was originally leant this book several years ago by my CBT therapist at that time. I have to say that it was a book that helped me to change my life (along with a few other things). It helped bring me through and out the other side of severe social anxiety. Very easy to read and understand, written in sufficiently layman's terms. Plenty of food for thought. I bought the book again on Amazon and leant it to someone but unfortunately never got it back! Hope it helped her as much as it helped me! Highly recommended. (Plus Windy is the coolest name!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Help for dealing with issues, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
Bought the book on the back of recommendation - can be a bit 'wordy' and you may need to read passages more than once to get the full meaning, however it is very helpful and I know will become very worn from use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars He really is windy..., 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
...and uses a lot of excess wordage. However, he has some good ideas. Worth looking at. Read in partnership with Depression, the curse of the strong', perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable reading, 2 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
After the first three chapters I nearly put this book in the bin it was so depressing. But I stuck with and I suppose it served a purpose in the end. From page to page I ping-ponged between stuff that really rang a chord with me and encouraged/comforted me, to stuff that was downright drivell! The problem is, the author describes (very acurately) situations, circumstances and thought patterns that for the majority of people are probably very reasonable, common, and understandable, and then pours scorn and criticism on them leaving you to wonder, well just how the hell am I supposed to act - like a robot! I found it all abit naive and simplistic. If you buy this book, use it as a starting point to get you thinking and work things out for yourself. But don't assume because the author has the letters DR infront of his name that must make him always right. Its only his own views and opinions in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) (Paperback)
This book is very clear, very persuasive. I cannot think you could read this book and not find something that is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems)
Ten Steps to Positive Living (Overcoming common problems) by Windy Dryden (Paperback - 28 July 1994)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews