Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to declare but his genius!, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Stephen Lloyd (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Imagine a dinner party taking place where the guest list includes Oscar Wilde, Joe Orton, Victoria Wood, Kenneth Williams and Alan Bennett. Standing in the corner, paying rapt attention, is a solitary figure scribbling notes and recording the finer observations and conversations of the gathering.

Reading this collection of interviews one could reasonably assume that the solitary figure was Steven Patrick Morrissey once the front person of the world's greatest band and arguably still the worlds greatest lyricist.

No one gives better interview than Morrissey as this collection clearly attests. These pages are drenched with the influence of the dinner party guests: The flowery, poetic and slightly anachronistic influence of Wilde's language. The witty, often poignantly accurate character observations of Wood and Bennett. And, most significantly, the camp `knowing' humour of Orton and Williams.

Like many lines from his songs, some of Morrissey's responses to questions or his observations on life are genuinely laugh out loud funny. I furrow my brow and shake my head crossly at the fact that this man was once considered by many to be `the ambassador of doom' during his reign in the 80's and early 90's. The truth is that Morrissey showed comedic genius in almost everything he did. Oh how his contemporaries must have wept with envy whenever they came across a Morrissey interview in the music press.

Read this book and agree with me wholeheartedly or, to paraphrase the master, risk being spanked with a wet plimsoll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Dean-esque., 17 Jan 2008
'Morrissey: The Essential Interviews' is an impeccable and timely collection, amassed from two decades of dalliances with the music press that have ranged from the invigorating to the excruciating. In every one of these pieces the Mozfather maintains his acerbic wit, celibate cool, and truly admirable way with an arch one-liner. He comes on like the Manchester-born lovechild of Oscar Wilde and Dorothy Parker with a James Dean quiff and a bedroom-bound penchant for sixties girl groups. The book functions as both decadent time capsule and unrepentant must-have text for any self-confessed Morrissey obsessive. (There are one or two of us out there, so I'm told.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 April 2009
If you know anything about Morrissey then you know what to expect from this book: a collection entertaining interviews, full of witty observations, and a glimpse of one of the most interesting and influential artists in Rock music.

These interviews also provide a window to his work over the years, from The Smiths in the early 80's to his most recent albums - passing through life in Manchester, London L.A. and Rome. I did laugh out loud at some points - there is no doubt, you're gonna miss him when he's gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Collection, 9 Oct 2008
This is an amazing book. The collection of articles, dating from The Smiths entering onto the music stage, through to the beak-up of the band, the early solo career, the move to Los Angeles and finally ending with Morrissey's life in Rome, is really authoritative, providing an excellant retrospective on Morrissey's views.

I only have two qualms; I wish this had been released in hardback, an altogether more durable form. Secondly, whilst there is some lovely photos in the book, I just wish that there were more, but that's just me being greedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for Smiths/Morrissey fan, interesting all the same for those who aren't, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Alex (Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrissey in Conversation: The Essential Interviews (Paperback)
For anybody interested in reading the interviews and thoughts of a very intriguing and unique music icon, this book is brilliant. Whether you love him or hate him, these Morrissey interviews, as all of his interviews will, be sure to provoke a reaction. Buy this book for an insight into the mind of a very interesting character!

And if you love the Smiths or Morrissey, it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift for my dad, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrissey in Conversation: The Essential Interviews (Paperback)
My dad absolutely LOVED this book, can't seem to put it down. A must have for all Morrissey fans!

Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nature is a language cant you read?, 17 Nov 2012
This review is from: Morrissey in Conversation: The Essential Interviews (Paperback)
Wonderful read. Morrisseys wit and humour shines through page by page, he manages to give just enough away in interviews while remaining an enigma. Essential for any Moz fan. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morrissey in Conversation: The Essential Interviews
Morrissey in Conversation: The Essential Interviews by Paul A. Woods (Paperback - April 2010)
12.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews