Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and comprehensive
I'd wanted a book on goth culture for a while, and after some deliberation I decided on this one. I suppose what finally decided me was the section on absinthe, which is a favourite subject of mine, but after reading the rest of the book I was glad that I had chosen it, as it was all well written and interesting.

Goth is an extremely wide and expansive subject,...
Published on 21 May 2006 by Miss H. L. Matthews

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars *Yawn*
Dull and uninteresting. Reads like a fanzine and contains very little depth. Treats the subject of 'goth' the same way as 90% of it's adherents- a shallow 'pop culture' phenomenon.

Gavin Baddeley's 'Goth Chic' is a superior read in all ways; He puts his work into a historical context and above all else, can write well, with humour and an intellectual depth 'The...
Published on 8 April 2009 by Sin 5


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and comprehensive, 21 May 2006
By 
Miss H. L. Matthews (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Goth Bible: A Compendium for the Darkly Inclined (Paperback)
I'd wanted a book on goth culture for a while, and after some deliberation I decided on this one. I suppose what finally decided me was the section on absinthe, which is a favourite subject of mine, but after reading the rest of the book I was glad that I had chosen it, as it was all well written and interesting.

Goth is an extremely wide and expansive subject, so writing a 'bible' on it is a very hard task to set yourself, but Kilpatrick has lived up to it admirably. This book does not merely concentrate on goth culture today, or just gothic fashion and music (although there are great sections on these subjects), but gives a comprehensive study of gothic through the ages, including how today's 'goths' are connected to the original 'Goths'. Other areas studied are gothic architecture, art, writing, and even a section on famous graveyards.

While the goths interviewed may not represent every sort of person who is involved in the culture, they do help to illustrate how very varied goth is, showing people from many different countries, backgrounds and tastes coming together under the same mantle. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the gothic culture, or who is goth themselves, just as long as you remember that no book can ever represent the entirety of the culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goth explained, 5 July 2009
By 
V. King "Nessie" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Goth Bible: A Compendium for the Darkly Inclined (Paperback)
This is a brilliant little book exploring the world of Goth. Easy to read, yet backed up with professionally gathered facts and opinions from a survey of real Goths, it is a book that debunks many of the myths and mythos of Gothicism.

I would recommend this to any parent of a Goth teen, or a teen who wants to go Goth or indeed any student who is exploring contemporary social history, art or textiles, or indeed if you are just curious about all things Goth. It makes a very good stand alone read.

Very readable in clear sections, this is a book I would recommend wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars *Yawn*, 8 April 2009
This review is from: The Goth Bible: A Compendium for the Darkly Inclined (Paperback)
Dull and uninteresting. Reads like a fanzine and contains very little depth. Treats the subject of 'goth' the same way as 90% of it's adherents- a shallow 'pop culture' phenomenon.

Gavin Baddeley's 'Goth Chic' is a superior read in all ways; He puts his work into a historical context and above all else, can write well, with humour and an intellectual depth 'The Goth Bible' completely lacks.

Bible indeed.

Save your pennies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book, but not quite a bible, 19 April 2006
This review is from: The Goth Bible: A Compendium for the Darkly Inclined (Paperback)
While it is clear that the author spent a lot of time and dedication in creating this book, it does not quite live up to the title.

One would expect it to follow on from Mick Mercer but it does not really do this. The section for instance on absinthe, seems a little unnecessary...yes the drink is linked to Poe and Baudelaire, but it is not really an integral part of immersing yourself in goth culture.

Also, the scope of people interviewed perhaps does not accurately represent the scene (which admittedly is hard to do) in its entirity.

This is not a bad book, but if you're looking for a book more about the scene then head for Mick Mercer's '21st century goth' which although a little out of date, is a veritable treasure trove of websites related to clothes, music, make up, gigs and so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this book, 15 April 2007
This review is from: The Goth Bible: A Compendium for the Darkly Inclined (Paperback)
it's my favourite book on gothic culture that i have red so far. a good thing for the misinformed and those parents of young goths who are ready to call in a priest .it has in-depth looks at all things associated with gothic culture, although some goths may find that certain subject areas are not necessary, i think that covering these areas is only necessary for the outside world to see how far a part or not a part of gothic culture these things are..such as the aformention drinking of absinthe. gothic culture is wide and varried and is not a cult with set out rules..you must like this music dress this way and drink this drink or your not a proper goth, and i think nancy kilpatrick has shown this in her book. gothic culture is such a wide subject to cover with such varying subgeneras and different views on what being goth is about. i personally think she has highlighted a lot of stereo typical views and shown that they are completely false ideals. as well as including history and proper cultural information. topped off with a small helping of urls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!!!!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goth Bible: A Compendium for the Darkly Inclined (Paperback)
An absolute must have for any goth. Definitely worth the money and a great resource.
Would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Goth Bible: A Compendium for the Darkly Inclined
The Goth Bible: A Compendium for the Darkly Inclined by Nancy Kilpatrick (Paperback - 27 May 2005)
Used & New from: £1.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews