Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!
Permission to rock is really fun. I like the upbeat style of writing and the author really seems to be celebrating the band's flamboyance and Justin's outrageous remarks.
He talks about all the early gigs, which is great because I must shamefully admit I only discovered them in April last year.
I love all the photos. It's a great collection of pics and there are...
Published on 11 Feb. 2004 by loopylouwilliams

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!
Do not waste your money on this book - it's nothing more than regurgitated old quotes and reviews and provides no new information of any kind. All Dick Porter has provided are the prepositions that string the thing together. Poor.
Published on 6 Feb. 2004 by Mr. Robert Shaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 11 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The "Darkness": Permission to Rock (Paperback)
Permission to rock is really fun. I like the upbeat style of writing and the author really seems to be celebrating the band's flamboyance and Justin's outrageous remarks.
He talks about all the early gigs, which is great because I must shamefully admit I only discovered them in April last year.
I love all the photos. It's a great collection of pics and there are loads that I've never seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Darkness rocks, 27 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The "Darkness": Permission to Rock (Paperback)
This book rocks like the Darkness! In fact it's a great read - a bit like the Darkness' rollercoaster ride to the top. The pictures are great and there's loads from before they were famous - with Justin looking gorgeous! Rock on....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spandex - no greater stretchy material!, 17 Dec. 2003
By 
Mr DM Russell (Richmond, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The "Darkness": Permission to Rock (Paperback)
"A band that goes for it, wears tight trousers and little or nothing on the top, that's what I demand." - Justin Hawkins, lead singer - The Darkness
From humble beginnings in a converted Lowestoft outside-toilet to a platinum-selling number one album, Dick Porter charts the ultimate success story of 2003. Realising the band's intentions from the very start to simply put the fun back into rock 'n' roll, Porter joyously presents the highs and lows of four 'men's men' struggling to make themselves heard.
Packed with everything you could ever want to know about the meteoric rise of British music's saviours, Permission to Rock is as wildly entertaining as it's subject. If only it too was encased in spandex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 6 Feb. 2004
By 
Mr. Robert Shaw "hungoverdrawn" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Darkness": Permission to Rock (Paperback)
Do not waste your money on this book - it's nothing more than regurgitated old quotes and reviews and provides no new information of any kind. All Dick Porter has provided are the prepositions that string the thing together. Poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Wait!, 18 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The "Darkness": Permission to Rock (Paperback)
I'm really looking forward to this book, written by the author of RAPCORE which was a great book.
Roll on December!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Darkness": Permission to Rock
The "Darkness": Permission to Rock by Dick Porter (Paperback - 1 Dec. 2003)
£9.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews