Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace for authenticity.
Without a doubt this book is the business!
This book brings back great memories - from the Flamingo to Tottenham Royal ( and yes - it was an Otis Redding special on RSG ). It's full of detail. Stripped down scooters, Raoul Shoes ( they had a branch in Stoke Newington High Road as well as Wardour Street ) R & B and Soul,posing, Clacton. The author really knows...
Published on 23 May 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so ...
I was hoping for lots of pictures and I wasnt disapionted. But ... the quality of the pictures are not okay: black and white pictures in bleak news paper quality. Not okay in my opinion.
Others might be happy, since there are loads of them and the quality of the the papperback book is okay.
I you want good quality pictures of the Mod culture there are better...
Published on 6 May 2013 by Valentino


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace for authenticity., 23 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
Without a doubt this book is the business!
This book brings back great memories - from the Flamingo to Tottenham Royal ( and yes - it was an Otis Redding special on RSG ). It's full of detail. Stripped down scooters, Raoul Shoes ( they had a branch in Stoke Newington High Road as well as Wardour Street ) R & B and Soul,posing, Clacton. The author really knows his stuff.
Those were the days - it really was a great period. The clubs, the clothes, the sounds, the general style and attitude. This is the most authentic book on the subject that I've seen. Great pix too -it's like looking at yesterday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 25 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
This is the ultimate book on Mods. The photos are fantastic and very authentic. No dodgy pictures of models on scooters, just real mods. The text tells the story of being a mod in 60's London, the clothes, pills, clubs and scooters. It is written by someone who was a face on the mod scence, and it gives a great insight into the life. I have just ordered my second copy of this as my original book fell apart after years of flicking through the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i was there and this book is as close as it gets, 2 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
if you want to get a feel for what the mod movement was all about. this book and it's photos capture the mood and the sounds we listened to better than anything i've seen. so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mod's Bible, 24 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
The culture of modernism in the early 60's. The clothes, the music, the lifestyle, the scooters.A bible for Mods with excellent pictures of kids and scooters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pic book capturing a moment in time wonderfully, 25 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
->
Although there are several pages of text in this book, it is from the photographs that the most information from the Mod era can be taken. Excellent shots of the Who out on the floor are mixed with adverts, newspaper clippings and even some dance steps(!)
Coming from Townsends publishing company it's not surprising the quality of the photographs. It's the kind of book you can pick up, put down, pick up and put down, pick up again and again. Everytime you flick through it you'll notice something else.
If you're interested in mid-sixties Modernists in any way then you've already had this book on your shelf for over a decade. If not, why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mod's Bible in a short course!, 30 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
Richard Barnes? not a Mod by self admission! He was there, he saw, he was affected by it and he enjoyed it: and he managed to write the most accurate and relevant perspective of the 1963 - 64 Mod so far. Essential reading for anyone even remoteley interested in Pop culture and a archive of sixties Mods in full bloom, before the sceptics, the revisionists and everyone else tried to grab the slim lapels of Mod and turn it into something to their own particular advantage. Perhaps it takes someone a few steps removed from Mod to observe and paint a picture of what the whole phenomenon actually is about? Essential reading. essential viewing. Read at least once a year. View at least once a month!

The Sharper Word: A Mod Reader

This is a Modern Life: The 1980s London Mod Scene (Mod Chronicles)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULTIMATE TRIBUTE TO THE ULTIMATE CULT., 19 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
I FIRST READ THIS EXTRAORDINARY BOOK 10 YEARS AGO AND IT IS STILL AS FRESH NOW AS IT WAS THEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book written by pete townsends flat mate, 16 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
I originally bought this book around 1979 when i was a second generation mod.Its well written and the information is second to none.Be warned this books pages will drop out as my first copy did its best to buy 2 copies then when they do fall out the brillant photos inside frame up well for the walls.If you are studying about mods in the sixties this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Nov. 2007
By 
L. Cavalcanti (Rome , Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
I bought this book for an university work and found the photos incredible and more than that , the text, although less than 10 pages , was very exciting and gave a good idea of the feeling of the movement . Fantastic !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so ..., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods! (Paperback)
I was hoping for lots of pictures and I wasnt disapionted. But ... the quality of the pictures are not okay: black and white pictures in bleak news paper quality. Not okay in my opinion.
Others might be happy, since there are loads of them and the quality of the the papperback book is okay.
I you want good quality pictures of the Mod culture there are better books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mods!
Mods! by Richard Barnes (Paperback - 28 Feb. 2009)
Used & New from: £6.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews