Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " Rockers! Kings of the Road "- Excellent!
Rockers! Kings of the Road
The allegedly most shop-lifted book in London bookshops! " Rockers! ... Kings of the Road " is part socio-historical documentary, part style-bible, part-arthouse coffee table book; it has given birth to new generations of Rockers the World over.
By far the most complete and accurate book on the subject filled with fantastic photographs...
Published on 8 Mar 2005 by You must be joking

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rockers
looked at it ,put it down ,looked at it again ,gave it away to another rocker, shame, needed more research into rockers and who they are and are now .
Published 7 months ago by Colin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " Rockers! Kings of the Road "- Excellent!, 8 Mar 2005
By 
You must be joking (london, london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
Rockers! Kings of the Road
The allegedly most shop-lifted book in London bookshops! " Rockers! ... Kings of the Road " is part socio-historical documentary, part style-bible, part-arthouse coffee table book; it has given birth to new generations of Rockers the World over.
By far the most complete and accurate book on the subject filled with fantastic photographs and archive graphics.
Written by a totally committed and highly informed expert on the subject, this is not the usual biker exploitation / pulp fiction shallow or condescending cr*p you normally find written by some bozo of a journalist that has never gotten his fingernails dirty or kick started a four-stroke once in his life. It is as close to a Bible as the Rocker / biker world will get.
Researched at length and detail, Johnny met and spoke many of the original characters, trawled the picture libraries for all the best period photos and found many kept by original rockers from the 60s. It is warm, respectful and pretty damned accurate.
Quite frankly, it is so good that no one ever bothered to try and write another and although it was writtenin the 80s, it still sells all around the world today. Timeless.
Rock on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockers, 13 Oct 2008
By 
Raymond Foster (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
As a South Londoner I went up to The Ace Cafe back in the 60s. This book is an excellent one that tells the story of that particular era in an unpretentious way. Great photographs are there to illustrate our way of life back then.
I would recommend this book to everyone - doesn't matter if they are not interested in bikes but want to know more about that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When tea was a tanner., 6 Jan 2010
By 
George S. Smith "realbadtaste" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
This is one of my top shelf books, that is one that is not 'lent out'.

It's difficult to explain to subsequent generations how exactly the times were. Certainly the 'Rocker' years for me were exciting and eventful. Many friends were lost to the open road and it's dangers. But what camaraderie, what tales to tell as you get older, but who wants to listen to an old Man?

Of course with any culture urban myths creep in to become fact. The Record on the Juke-Box at Johnsons, down to Death Hill and back before it stopped now seem unrealistic (Google maps make it 4.6m each way, 9 miles in 2 1/2 minutes?) but certainly the engine on the kitchen table was a must for us in terraced houses, the Saturday ride to all the South London dealers (oh, Pride and Clarke's eh?)and of course a 'fag on' while riding was OK, after all it couldn't blow into your Helmet, you didn't have one!

Top book, top photographs and now a real bargain (look to secondhand if need be?) You may just recognise someone in the book.

The Japanese Rockers (more there than here now?) must be scanning the pages with their magnifying glasses for detail.

Conclusion? Over 40? Buy it. Under 40? Carry on with your Play Station, risk free mundanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
I ordered this book for my Dad for Father's Day as he is an old rocker himself. He absolutely loves it. Great book for anyone to read with loads of fab photos. An especially great book for old rockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Rockers!, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
This is a classic book that has been around for ever. It's chock full of great period photographs and really well written with lots of historical and social commentary around the rocker era. A must if you like Rocker culture or are interested in classic Brit bikes etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A textbook for those who weren't there., 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
I approached this book with an open mind as, after all, in 2012, we are now some 55 years from the commencement and heyday of the Rocker era. Could any author properly put into words how and why things happened without being tempted into that despicable Political Correctness that has invaded our lives in the last 15 years, damning all forms of freedom and enjoyment? Would it be a lot of mid-atlantic languaged drivel with hyped up falsehoods included to sensationalise the content? Or ... would it really explore the socio-economic times and circumstances that really prevailed?
Thankfully it proved to be the latter. I really enjoyed the book as it went, slowly and carefully, through the birth, growth and change of the "Rocker" movement. It included all forms of influence that caused and/or guided this mid20th century phenomenon into being. Personally, I felt that the effect of music had a strong link, but I felt the author overconcentrated on Elvis and the US influence. The Gene Vincent/Guitar/Rock & Roll (UKtype) bands had more daily input, esp where a juke box was available.
I was there, the poorer people didn't have radios, i-pods, etc., to listen to music at will. A request to Uncle Mac on Saturday morning's Children's Hour, (BBC Light programme), was the best you could do. The listening booths in record shops were all full of girls, and the music was ballads.....
Very few could afford a car, even a bicycle, and most worked on 'bus routes to, or close to their employment. So the purchase of a motorcycle, even an old one, on H.P. gave us teenagers a freedom unimagined pre WWII.
With the improved performance available on better petrol, and sports versions of old models, (just like today - road bikes emulated race bikes to get the best sales), the world saw the birth of the Rocker. The establishment were horrified and tried to eradicate it, but it survived and prospered. What reduced it was age, life experiences, (the old Marriage, Mortgage & 2.4 kids), and the increasingly bizarre directions that youth groups went. Drugs had, and have, no part in a Rocker's life, crime crept in, but in my experience, Motorcycle thieves were known and universally detested. To compare the Punk Rocker with their wierd anti-social ways, and anti-motorcycle stance, is incorrect. They just took the 'leather' as an icon. Likewise, the new 'biker' either on his plastic rocket in colour matched Power Ranger suits, or on his pseudo Harley with bald head, goatee and tattoos, are no direct link, they may be offshoots, but are a product of their times.
No, the real Rocker still exists, not all of them in their 70's!

...and NO ... I never saw or heard of "Record Racing" either!

This book is the best explanation I've read so far, If only there had been a few more photos ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rockers ,by Johnny Stuart., 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
Exellent book, and very well written,it tells it the way it really was.Takes me back to the 60,s when we used to go cafe racing ,and sit by the jukebox .(ive got one of my own now as the cafe,s dont have them anymore)I am pushing 70 now but i can still getmy leg over a good old british b.s.a.,triumph,etc Thats about all i do get my leg over nowadays l.o,l anyway , thanks to Amazon for the exellent service and johnny for an exellent book .Kind regards Alan (ex rocker and long time teddy boy) 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKERS !, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
Fantastic book (A4 size, glossy cover, paperback)
My dad was a rocker in the 1960's in Brighton and was there during the fight between the mods and rockers on Brighton pier. I've brought him this book for christmas I'm sure he's going to love it. There are some fantastic photos and it's filled with great information about the time ! A great buy and also great service received within 2 days of ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockers! Kings of the Road, 7 Nov 2009
By 
Steve "MrTeddy" (Maidenhead, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
What a wonderfully evocative, insightfull read. I was swept away on a roller coaster ride of memories that made it hard to put this book down. Each page is crammed with quality writing together with tremendoulsy nostalgic black and white pictures (some full page) of an era sadly passed but truly brought to life by the author Jonny Stewart.

I can remember walking along the Margate beach front in 1964 as a 9 year old watching the Mods and Rockers mixing it up. I was fascinated as well as a little frightened. Now I see it as a seminal part of history which the author has captured perfectly and presented in a no holds bard format.

I am now a 55 year old Harey rider with a passion for the 60's motorcycling culture and a regular Ace Cafe visitor. If I had the money, I'd also have a line of Bonneville's, Tritons and Vincent's outside my house. But as this is rather impractical, Jonny Stuart's 'Rockers!' allows me to dip in and out of the period at a fraction of the cost and with almost just as much exitement.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kings of the Road, 22 Mar 2008
By 
A. R. Smith "ewok" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers! Kings of the Road (Paperback)
I have to agree with most of the other review here. A brilliant in depth account of the lifestyle, with only one other book approaching the depth of repoting contained with it's pages. The other book is The Ace Cafe, Then & Now. Between those two books you will see the whole Biker/Greaser lifestyle of the 60's. I know I was there, though not in North London,but South of the river. When I read this book I was taken back to the days of Brylcream and Castrol R, Burn ups and Fry ups. In short a fascinating slice of sub culture history, it doesn't get any realer than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockers! Kings of the Road
Rockers! Kings of the Road by Johnny Stuart (Paperback - 28 Feb 2009)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews