Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
12
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2003
This book got me intrested from the moment i picked it up, the book contains many photos from his short life. It also contains a number of accounts from those who new him or met him, they give accounts of mood swings,loves,depression. I enjoyed most about this book is that it doesnt just focus on his three films but it focuses also his childhood, his first acting jobs, broadway and his death in 1955. It also looks at the iconc status that he got after his death i suppose this is what happens when one makes it in Hollywood and then dies at such a young age(james dean was aged 24 when he died)he lived fast and died young. The Rebel that remains a icon today
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2003
Wow... This book has it all. All James Dean fans should read this book. It is not just a simple biography, giving a mere timeline of his life and quotes from people who knew him - it goes much, much deeper than that. Of course, it delivers the time line of events - from the day he was born to the final hours of his life and it also goes into what he left behind. There's poetry, philosiphies, stories, etc in this book, all helping us to further understand who or what Dean was. The author is clearly as fascinated about his subject as any fan, so readers can expect absolutely no offence when reading this book, unfortunately not the case with some others. The photograph collection in this is excellent, I could not stop flicking through the pages. Teachers, his family and home back in Indiana, his pets, girlfriends, friends and Dean himself are all there. The Dean collection features photos I've never seen, such as ones when he was a baby, nine years old and quite a few of the Dennis Stock ones. Dalton has also corresponded with a huge range of people, all revealing aspects of Dean's public and private life. This book is quite hard to read and absorb at times as it goes so deep and mystifying, but I do truly believe there won't be another book as unique as this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
As a fan of James Dean, I was hoping to be regaled with countless colourful anecdotes charting his meteoric rise to stardom, from his rustic childhood days to those wired nights in mid-century New York, all brought to life in full, riveting detail. Instead, I spent most of my time trying to decipher Dalton's unwieldy prose and reminding myself that this was a Jimmy Dean biography. Rather than opt for the traditional narrative approach, Dalton has elected to take many (frustrating) tangents into the aura surrounding Jimmy and the socio-cultural repercussions of the myth he largely invented himself. As the title somewhat suggests, this book might very well have been submitted as Dalton's university dissertation, and is so abstract in parts I very nearly shelved it altogether. The fatal flaw, as I see it, is that Dalton has failed to satisfactorily evoke the essence of Dean. It was his visceral presence, after all, which lit up the screen. Sadly it is missing from these pages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
This boook gives you a brilliant insight on james dean,it is well researched and really interesting.It is however very lenghthy so you do get your moneys worth. all in all a damn good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Somewhat pontificating at first,but non the less a good read,If only for the interest in the Great subject matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
The fact that i am totaly in love with james dean made me buy this book. i looked so forward to christmas to receive it, however, i was v. dissapointed. the first few chapters(from when he was born to going to california at 18) were basically a travel brochure for Indiana in the states. very little facts about jimmy adorne the book that actually say what he got up to, his sexuality at a young age was not even mentioned. if you want to know more about indiana (i now know that the car, the ice-cream cone and the aeroplane were all invented there but to read the first few chapters you wouldnt know the book was about jimmy at all. it takes a LOT of getting in to and when you do its nearly over. If you are a James Dean fan (like myself)i would recomend it just to find out what his fellow Indianans said about him but as an insite into Jimmys life....See for yourselves.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Excellent value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2005
This book was very informative, and i loved james dean's films. He is an icon in his own right. It would have been great to see him go on and do more films. The author did a great job in presenting dean, and i would strongly suggest this book to any more dean fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse