Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James dean, The mutant king
This book got me intrested from the moment i picked it up, the book contains many photos from his short life. It also contains a number of accounts from those who new him or met him, they give accounts of mood swings,loves,depression. I enjoyed most about this book is that it doesnt just focus on his three films but it focuses also his childhood, his first acting jobs,...
Published on 14 Jun 2003

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars if you like indiana you'le love this
The fact that i am totaly in love with james dean made me buy this book. i looked so forward to christmas to receive it, however, i was v. dissapointed. the first few chapters(from when he was born to going to california at 18) were basically a travel brochure for Indiana in the states. very little facts about jimmy adorne the book that actually say what he got up to, his...
Published on 11 Jan 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James dean, The mutant king, 14 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This book got me intrested from the moment i picked it up, the book contains many photos from his short life. It also contains a number of accounts from those who new him or met him, they give accounts of mood swings,loves,depression. I enjoyed most about this book is that it doesnt just focus on his three films but it focuses also his childhood, his first acting jobs, broadway and his death in 1955. It also looks at the iconc status that he got after his death i suppose this is what happens when one makes it in Hollywood and then dies at such a young age(james dean was aged 24 when he died)he lived fast and died young. The Rebel that remains a icon today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written, 7 Dec 2003
Wow... This book has it all. All James Dean fans should read this book. It is not just a simple biography, giving a mere timeline of his life and quotes from people who knew him - it goes much, much deeper than that. Of course, it delivers the time line of events - from the day he was born to the final hours of his life and it also goes into what he left behind. There's poetry, philosiphies, stories, etc in this book, all helping us to further understand who or what Dean was. The author is clearly as fascinated about his subject as any fan, so readers can expect absolutely no offence when reading this book, unfortunately not the case with some others. The photograph collection in this is excellent, I could not stop flicking through the pages. Teachers, his family and home back in Indiana, his pets, girlfriends, friends and Dean himself are all there. The Dean collection features photos I've never seen, such as ones when he was a baby, nine years old and quite a few of the Dennis Stock ones. Dalton has also corresponded with a huge range of people, all revealing aspects of Dean's public and private life. This book is quite hard to read and absorb at times as it goes so deep and mystifying, but I do truly believe there won't be another book as unique as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best book written about james dean, 7 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: James Dean: The Mutant King (Paperback)
This boook gives you a brilliant insight on james dean,it is well researched and really interesting.It is however very lenghthy so you do get your moneys worth. all in all a damn good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars if you like indiana you'le love this, 11 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: James Dean: The Mutant King (Paperback)
The fact that i am totaly in love with james dean made me buy this book. i looked so forward to christmas to receive it, however, i was v. dissapointed. the first few chapters(from when he was born to going to california at 18) were basically a travel brochure for Indiana in the states. very little facts about jimmy adorne the book that actually say what he got up to, his sexuality at a young age was not even mentioned. if you want to know more about indiana (i now know that the car, the ice-cream cone and the aeroplane were all invented there but to read the first few chapters you wouldnt know the book was about jimmy at all. it takes a LOT of getting in to and when you do its nearly over. If you are a James Dean fan (like myself)i would recomend it just to find out what his fellow Indianans said about him but as an insite into Jimmys life....See for yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too far from Eden, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Mutant King (Paperback)
As a fan of James Dean, I was hoping to be regaled with countless colourful anecdotes charting his meteoric rise to stardom, from his rustic childhood days to those wired nights in mid-century New York, all brought to life in full, riveting detail. Instead, I spent most of my time trying to decipher Dalton's unwieldy prose and reminding myself that this was a Jimmy Dean biography. Rather than opt for the traditional narrative approach, Dalton has elected to take many (frustrating) tangents into the aura surrounding Jimmy and the socio-cultural repercussions of the myth he largely invented himself. As the title somewhat suggests, this book might very well have been submitted as Dalton's university dissertation, and is so abstract in parts I very nearly shelved it altogether. The fatal flaw, as I see it, is that Dalton has failed to satisfactorily evoke the essence of Dean. It was his visceral presence, after all, which lit up the screen. Sadly it is missing from these pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 15 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This book was very informative, and i loved james dean's films. He is an icon in his own right. It would have been great to see him go on and do more films. The author did a great job in presenting dean, and i would strongly suggest this book to any more dean fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter tosh, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As tedious and up its own arse as I suspect James Dean was. Serves me right for reading utter tosh in the first place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Dean: The Mutant King
James Dean: The Mutant King by David Dalton (Paperback - 24 Aug 1989)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews