Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
50
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 May 2004
When the little mouse picks a red, ripe strawberry, he is suddenly panic-stricken, certain that a big hungry bear will smell it and come after him. The strawberry has to be hidden … but where?
When nothing works, the story ends by inviting the reader to help the little mouse hide the strawberry in one place it’ll never be found! Can you guess where?
Charming illustrations and a plot with a wonderfully witty twist … that shows how sharing something with someone else is always the nicest thing to do!
A perfect combination of words & pictures
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
I bought this book to read to the Italian kids that I teach. I've used it with a 5 and 7 yr old and they both really enjoyed the book and constantly request to read it or have it read to them. Would definitely recommend it. Very simple storyline and well-illsutrated - will go down a treat!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2009
In print for over 25 years, this fun little interactive story leaves the reader to decide who should eat the mouth-watering fruit of the title. This version is also a robust and colourful board-book edition, making it perfect for children from 2 years upwards - their sticky fingerprints can be wiped off you see! Good competitive price on here too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
The children in my class love this story with fab illustrations which keeps them talking for endless sessions about who the narrator is and how the mouse could disguise the strawberry

Fab, fab, fab xxx
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I ordered this book for my 2 year old as it was a childhood favourite of mine. It didn't disappoint.
The story alludes to "The Big Hungry Bear" who never actually appears, it is the clever tone of the writing and the expressive illustrations which get you to buy into the story.
In some ways it's quite a dark tale, but at the moment as my daughter is still so young she just likes the pictures and doesn't fully understand the implications of the story.
I remember loving this story up until the age of about 10yrs so I hope it will grow in popularity with my daughter as she grows up. A great buy for any age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
This book is morally reprehensible.

It tells the story of a mouse who finds, and works to obtain, a red, ripe strawberry. The narrator of the book then intimidates the mouse, insisting that a "big hungry bear" will come and take the strawberry from the mouse. The narrator persists in stressing that the mouse cannot hide, protect, or disguise the strawberry - the bear will find it, and take it.

The narrator's solution to this problem is for the mouse to give over half of the strawberry to the narrator.

The lesson may have been intended as "sharing is great, kids!" but it's actually presented as "give me half your strawberry or my mate the big hungry bear will come and take all of it". Which is where my objection lies.

The drawings are lovely, but the "moral" is dubious at best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Such a lovely story...made me laugh. The children in my class loved it, they talked passionately about the character and wrote enthusiastically about the story..they are 4 and 5 years old. Decided to by a copy for my daughter too. Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
I bought this book for my daughter many years ago after hearing it at her nursery school and was delighted to see that I could still purchase it for my nephew. It is such a lovely story written from the view point of the narrator. He loves it as much as she did and it has become a firm favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
Wonderful book. My 5 year old son loves it - he got me to read it 3 times to him last night! Beautiful illustrations and just a great buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Problem was, I bought this thinking it would have a great storyline
(i judged a book by its cover)
But it was way too babyish for my son. Saying that, I dont think a smaller child would appreciate it either
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.