Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£31.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2007
I have owned this book for many years now and it has served me well throughout A-Level mathematics and beyond. Contrary to other reviews listed here, it is well worth buying and provides a great introduction to the fundamentals of 'advanced' mathematics. It is clearly set out with each chapter being self-contained. Therefore the student can select the order in which to work through the topics. There are numerous exercises at the end of each chapter, which will test even the most able of students. Explanation can be a little thin in some parts, but with careful study all examples can be followed without too much effort.

I still use this book today as a quick reference and would thoroughly recommend it to any students of mathematics.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
As has been noted, this book dates from an era (mid 70s to early 80s) when A Level Maths was a more uncompromising preposition than it is today. It is an excellent book, but most of today's students will struggle with it. It doesn't hold your hand or teach the basics, they are assumed. I recently saw it (along with sister book "Further Pure Mathematics") as one of a few books recommended by Cambridge University at this level. Needless to say that some of the topics are no longer examined, but if you are looking for a rigorous book, that with ability and persistence will give you an excellent grounding, this is it. A bonus is the 1970s A Level questions..compare with today's questions!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
A sound resource for maths A Level.
Everything explained very well... Gets you used to understanding and writing properly with identities rather than equals all over the place... Gets you used to understanding proper mathematical terms...
An old book with a preface from 1981, but old doesn't mean bad! It's a book that, if you enjoy maths, you'll pick-up to have a read just because you want to find out something new in a concise manner.
Great book! I'd recommend it to anyone studying A Level and anybody looking to jump into higher level mathematics!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
Since purchasing this book I have begun, where I left off, prior to losing my original book in transit to my new house, in completing the exercises after each section, in full, and showing the workings of each mathematical problem. I am not trying to outdo the authors, but after one or two examples, each problem sets the students mind working, where am I going wrong, or how did he arrive at this answer, (preview on answers at the end of the book),and I feel, as a mature student, at the end of the day, it would be more practical to show all workings and answers to every exercise problem, with comments, than wander around in the dark thinking, "How did he do that, and where am I going wrong?"

The book itself is a treasure, and an absolute must for the teacher or engineer to be!!

Victor Burgess
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
I had this book when I sat A level maths in the mid 80's. I had no teacher for almost a year, and a various stream of supply teachers who knew less than we did for the remainder of the course. This book was priceless. Comprehensive and clearly written, it is very easy to follow and the examples for explanation were excellent. While it does assume a sound level of basic knowledge, I would have to assume that most students embarking on A-level maths, would have that anyway! So for those of you who have, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
This book was published in the early 1980s, and much of the text is taken from their earlier books (Pure Mathematics 1 and 2) published in the mid-1970s, so the book is much less accessible than many contemporary books available. It is a very good book in terms of standards and scope, but assumes a sound prior knowledge of mathematics which most people will not have today coming from a GCSE or IGCSE background.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2008
This book does covers the A level syllabus. It is very thorough and if competed and understood will cover the first year of most degree courses. Even though not explained in the book the subject matter has practical uses and is used in Science, Engineering and Finance, so it is well worth the effort in doing the work in the book.
This book also has some weaknesses that you need to be aware of when using it. Much of the content has to be tackled in the order of chapters in the book. This is because the techniques used in earlier chapters are not identified or cross-referenced so you have to know them from earlier in the book. It is not possible to dip in and out of the book. The exceptions being the chapters on permutations and combinations and vectors, which can be taken in isolation. The index is poor and many of the terms and not explained i.e. real number, integer, and order of equation. The book needs a glossary. The examples in the book do not explain what is going on i.e. diving by a common factor or by 2 or rearranging an equation. If you find mathematics difficult then you will have to spend hours figuring out what is going on for yourself. The best way to read this book is to start at the beginning. Read and make notes very slowing i.e. one page per hour or less. Do every example, missing nothing out and go to the end of the book. This will take about a year and a half to do. It is necessary to also have a good teacher with this book to explain what is going on. I would recommend that you buy anther 2 books i.e. Pure Mathematics: A First course and A Second Course 3rd Edition series: Longman, authors: John K Backhouse / Peter P Houldsworth / Bay E Cooper / Peter Horril. Pure mathematics was the forerunner to this book and retains a personal approach. This series is aimed at self taught students and has answers to all the questions. The books might not be available on Amazon.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
This is an excellent text covering 'basic' pure maths and is eminently suitable for those who want to sharpen their maths skills without having to pay for a formal course of study. If being used as preparation for AS or A level Maths exams it could usefully be supplemented by the Collins Student Support Materials series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2000
This bok is recommended reading for Maths courses at (in particular) Warwick University. It is (accoriding to information recieved) prefered to the new version, Core Maths for A-Level. However, it is not required reading
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
this is pretty much 'pure mathematics' vol 1 by the same authors. i just wanted to mention, if you are not actually studying for the exam, this book is perfectly usable. otherwise it's best to stick with books matched to the current A level syllabus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.