Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£29.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2013
I am retired and pursuing maths out of interest, not for exams. I cannot comment on the suitability of this book for current A Level syllabuses, though my impression is that on at least some topics it takes one well into university-level maths. It covers a lot of ground, including matrices and linear algebra, further calculus, conics, advanced curve-sketching, and an introduction to group theory. The pace is in places fairly breakneck, and one has to concentrate hard. There is a plethora of exercises - far more than anyone could reasonably be expected to complete - with answers at the back, but not the workings for the answers. Compared with the authors' core A Level maths book, this is much less suited for someone like me not studying for exams. This is because much of the book is taken up with quite complicated computational techniques rather than with concepts. Another defect is that it often just refers back to the Core Course book rather than giving a sufficient recap of what that book said on the particular aspect of maths. So the book is not free-standing: unless you have studied the authors' (excellent) book on the Core Course, you are likely to have some difficulty in places.
11 comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 1999
OCR Further Maths A-level is almost completely covered in so far as the pure Maths is concerned, although there is nothing on planesexpressed as either vector or cartesian equations. Which is needed in the Module of Pure Maths 6 of said examining body. However, Complex numbers, Differential equations and matrix Algebra is well covered and clear.
0Comment33 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
Although this is an excellent text, it has the wrong emphasis for current 'A' level Further Maths syllabuses. For example, despite a large section on matrices there is nothing on 3x3 matrices of standard transformations, not enough advanced calculus and a big section on groups that is rarely covered at 'A' level. It is a good book for those who are intending to study Maths beyond school level and want to look at the subject in more depth, but you will need other texts as well.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Studying Further Maths A level on the edexcel board. This book is MUCH better than the edexcel text books. Far tougher examples and practice questions than the edexcel books. Challenges you better and in my opinion will leave you better prepared for Further Maths A level exams.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2005
This is a very good book if you are studying Further Mathematics at A Level. It covers all the major topics covered by the main exam board. It gives good clear explanations as well as plenty of exercises for practice.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
First and foremost, do not buy this book thinking it will aid you if you are half heartedly studying further maths!

The book has a very rigorous approach to a lot of the topics in present day further (and additional further) maths courses, including matrix algebra/series/further integration and more topics such as groups. It will often show proof of formulas/concepts. There are a good number of questions to attempt for each topic.

This book is perfect for those who have a passion for studying a high level of maths, and those who think intuitively.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
This book is excelent - I'm so glad it's still avalable. It's basically the whole of further pure maths in one book which makes looking something up easy. It's not organised into specific moduels, which can make chosing question for revision difficult, rather ti's arranged into topics - very often I've learnt something from this book that wouldn't have been covered in the pecific moduel books simply because it's in the next moduel.

I'm still using it as a undergraduate! The only other maths book I use is Mathematical Techniques: An Introduction for the Engineering, Physical, and Mathematical Sciences.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
from the preface =
'further pure mathematics continues the work covered in (mathematics - the core course for a-level) and is intended to complete a full two-year course in pure mathematics at sixth-form level.
this book contains much material already published in our book (pure mathematics II), but large sections have been revised and new topics introduced to cover new syllabus developments at a-level.'
review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
This may be an old textbook bit it was certainly among the best ones in its day. There are good explanations, with plenty of examples, set out clearly. The diagrams are clear and plenty of exercises. I am brushing up on polar coodinates at present. The treatment in many of the new modular textbooks is superficial and things are not set out logically enough for my liking. Bostock and Chandler is so much better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
I read excellent reviews about this book and bought this book for my daughter so that she can do additional practice for Mathematics extension 1 course in HSC. Another reason I bought this book was that I thought that the UK A level maths curriculum is harder than the Australian HSC curriculum. I found that this book is basic and is probably suitable for Mathematics general level. The book is good but the prescribed texts in the schools in NSW are far better. In summary stay away from this book.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.