Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Complete Further Maths A-Level Textbook
OCR Further Maths A-level is almost completely covered in so far as the pure Maths is concerned, although there is nothing on planesexpressed as either vector or cartesian equations. Which is needed in the Module of Pure Maths 6 of said examining body. However, Complex numbers, Differential equations and matrix Algebra is well covered and clear.
Published on 24 Jun. 1999

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite a heavy focus on techniques rather than concepts
I am retired and pursuing maths out of interest, not for exams. I cannot comment on the suitability of this book for current A Level syllabuses, though my impression is that on at least some topics it takes one well into university-level maths. It covers a lot of ground, including matrices and linear algebra, further calculus, conics, advanced curve-sketching, and an...
Published on 21 Feb. 2013 by M. F. Cayley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Complete Further Maths A-Level Textbook, 24 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
OCR Further Maths A-level is almost completely covered in so far as the pure Maths is concerned, although there is nothing on planesexpressed as either vector or cartesian equations. Which is needed in the Module of Pure Maths 6 of said examining body. However, Complex numbers, Differential equations and matrix Algebra is well covered and clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite a heavy focus on techniques rather than concepts, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
I am retired and pursuing maths out of interest, not for exams. I cannot comment on the suitability of this book for current A Level syllabuses, though my impression is that on at least some topics it takes one well into university-level maths. It covers a lot of ground, including matrices and linear algebra, further calculus, conics, advanced curve-sketching, and an introduction to group theory. The pace is in places fairly breakneck, and one has to concentrate hard. There is a plethora of exercises - far more than anyone could reasonably be expected to complete - with answers at the back, but not the workings for the answers. Compared with the authors' core A Level maths book, this is much less suited for someone like me not studying for exams. This is because much of the book is taken up with quite complicated computational techniques rather than with concepts. Another defect is that it often just refers back to the Core Course book rather than giving a sufficient recap of what that book said on the particular aspect of maths. So the book is not free-standing: unless you have studied the authors' (excellent) book on the Core Course, you are likely to have some difficulty in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No longer appropriate for current syllabuses, 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
Although this is an excellent text, it has the wrong emphasis for current 'A' level Further Maths syllabuses. For example, despite a large section on matrices there is nothing on 3x3 matrices of standard transformations, not enough advanced calculus and a big section on groups that is rarely covered at 'A' level. It is a good book for those who are intending to study Maths beyond school level and want to look at the subject in more depth, but you will need other texts as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
Studying Further Maths A level on the edexcel board. This book is MUCH better than the edexcel text books. Far tougher examples and practice questions than the edexcel books. Challenges you better and in my opinion will leave you better prepared for Further Maths A level exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, useful textbook, 7 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
This is a very good book if you are studying Further Mathematics at A Level. It covers all the major topics covered by the main exam board. It gives good clear explanations as well as plenty of exercises for practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ther's a good reason it's still in print, 13 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
This book is excelent - I'm so glad it's still avalable. It's basically the whole of further pure maths in one book which makes looking something up easy. It's not organised into specific moduels, which can make chosing question for revision difficult, rather ti's arranged into topics - very often I've learnt something from this book that wouldn't have been covered in the pecific moduel books simply because it's in the next moduel.

I'm still using it as a undergraduate! The only other maths book I use is Mathematical Techniques: An Introduction for the Engineering, Physical, and Mathematical Sciences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FP Maths, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
This may be an old textbook bit it was certainly among the best ones in its day. There are good explanations, with plenty of examples, set out clearly. The diagrams are clear and plenty of exercises. I am brushing up on polar coodinates at present. The treatment in many of the new modular textbooks is superficial and things are not set out logically enough for my liking. Bostock and Chandler is so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for NSW, Australia, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
I read excellent reviews about this book and bought this book for my daughter so that she can do additional practice for Mathematics extension 1 course in HSC. Another reason I bought this book was that I thought that the UK A level maths curriculum is harder than the Australian HSC curriculum. I found that this book is basic and is probably suitable for Mathematics general level. The book is good but the prescribed texts in the schools in NSW are far better. In summary stay away from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
I've only read the first chapter but so far the books great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Further Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
Fast delivery, quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Further Pure Mathematics
Further Pure Mathematics by C P Rourke (Paperback - 1 Oct. 1982)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews