Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly a word is wasted
I picked this up in a jumble sale and now use it to teach myself the A level maths I never did at school. I greatly admire the sparse text that says exactly what it means and what you need to know without any flannel, meaning that you can read it and look things up quickly and easily. You also learn what is needed in maths: to focus exactly on what is meant. I disagree...
Published 19 months ago by J. Cotter

versus
2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pure Mathematics 1
Got the wrong book. Very satisfied with the quick response to my phone call though.
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by G. Saunders


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly a word is wasted, 12 May 2013
By 
J. Cotter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
I picked this up in a jumble sale and now use it to teach myself the A level maths I never did at school. I greatly admire the sparse text that says exactly what it means and what you need to know without any flannel, meaning that you can read it and look things up quickly and easily. You also learn what is needed in maths: to focus exactly on what is meant. I disagree with those who say the book is hard. Each step of the reasoning is explained by Bostock and Chandler, unlike some maths authors who believe that students have some kind of moral duty to work out certain essential steps for themselves as if they have nothing else to think about. I wish all textbooks were this complete, concise and clear. I'm now looking for volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good A-Level book, 20 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Very good book for A-Level Pure Mathematics. Loads of good and varied questions to test your knowledge. Highly recommend this book if you want to challenge yourself and get an A grade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure mathematics, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for anyone studying maths at A level, IB or similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-level pure mathematics for some, 30 Aug 2009
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Excellent book (except my grandson who is doing A-levels) says his work is not as hard as some of the work here. Tough!!!
It arrived on time, in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a comprehensive introduction to calculus, 12 Jun 2013
By 
T. Glass (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Great book for a first year undergraduate engineer or mathematician to get to grips with calculus. Old school but very effective!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent aid for self learning, 4 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Buy this book. It is hard, but that's good. Get a foundation of this book, and you can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Very good Book for Mathematics. or If you are studying for CIMA or Advanced Level Mathematics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
I bought it for a birtsday present. The person did buy the part 2 as well. He likes it, but i think is overprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Its ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pure Mathematics 1, 25 Mar 2010
By 
G. Saunders "textbook seeker" (The Valley, Anguilla) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Got the wrong book. Very satisfied with the quick response to my phone call though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1
Pure Mathematics 1: v. 1 by F S Chandler (Paperback - 7 July 1978)
£31.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews