Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Applied Mathematics
The book, as the title implies, is concerned with applying mathematic principles to physical practical problems. The book has many worked examples and exercise questions at the end of each chapter. This book is recommended for any person interested in this subject whether a student or like me someone with an interest.
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good back up book
Very good book, ideal back up book.
Published 3 months ago by Paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Applied Mathematics, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Ashford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
The book, as the title implies, is concerned with applying mathematic principles to physical practical problems. The book has many worked examples and exercise questions at the end of each chapter. This book is recommended for any person interested in this subject whether a student or like me someone with an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good Applied Mathematics book, 17 Nov 2014
By 
TrickyHarry (Southern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
This is a very good Applied Mathematics book. The two authors are brilliant writers of Maths book.

They are able to write for the students who is a self learner, sufficiently concise and able to state the require key information to assist the student.

I first got this book when I was doing A-Levels and I have bought another copy for my son who is doing a revision course at UNI.

The book has not changed much but is still good.

The authors have gotten wise to the chop and change bug, they have dozens of books on the same topic with slight variations from each other - which are basically the same book - I am sure that this is publisher lead to cover different student markets.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book., 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
A very informative book, full of detailed examples and a variety of exercises. I would recommend this book to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite good!, 17 Mar 2009
This review is from: Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
I recently gave this book a 2-star review, but I now feel that was unfair. Having read the preface I realise that the Miscellaneous Exercises at the end of each chapter are for those looking for a challenge and Scholarship Paper candidates. The book gives adequate 'easy' exercises for those of normal ability range, although an introductory text may be helpful for some chapters, particularly the one of Centres of Mass. Certainly helpful for first year undergraduates studying classical mechanics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best A-Level Maths book, 20 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
I would recommend this Applied Mathematics book over any others. Loads of questions that would help prepare you for exam type questions, and a very good reference book if you continue to do Mathematics at university
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i recommend this book for all engineering students it has most ..., 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
i only passed my exams by using this book. i recommend this book for all engineering students it has most of the things that you need to know for some subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Standard good text book, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
This is a standard good text book for anyone interested in Applied Maths.... the old school ""not dumbed down" version. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How times have changed, 12 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm dumbfounded that anyone is recommending this as a first year degree book. We used it in the 6th form for our A-levels back in 1982. An absolute cracker of a book. Good explanations and regular exercises.

If it is now a year 1 degree book, that says more about the quality of modern degrees - pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good back up book, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Very good book, ideal back up book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1
Applied Mathematics, Vol. 1: v. 1 by F S Chandler (Paperback - 1 Sep 1975)
£31.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews