Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money
I bought this book as a complete begginer. After reading this book I am still a begginer, but not completly.
I found it to be most informative, and written in plain English making it perfect for my purpose.
I can now understand the basics of concepts of electronics and have moved onto the next step and started putting a few things together. The book explains...
Published on 18 Dec 2000 by lea@sminet.co.uk

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good reference
Being a complete beginner in the subject I was hoping for a little more than what was described but I must admit, there is tons of information.

There are a few drawbacks; there are no actual pictures of components, only circuit diagram representations which is good but I had to look up the pictures myself, this is a drawback because there are SO many components...
Published on 9 Jan 2009 by U. Sule


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 18 Dec 2000
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a complete begginer. After reading this book I am still a begginer, but not completly.
I found it to be most informative, and written in plain English making it perfect for my purpose.
I can now understand the basics of concepts of electronics and have moved onto the next step and started putting a few things together. The book explains circuits, circuit boards, resistence, capasitence and much more.
I now enjoy electronics as a hobby and would highly recomment this book as it is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good reference, 9 Jan 2009
By 
U. Sule "RV" - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
Being a complete beginner in the subject I was hoping for a little more than what was described but I must admit, there is tons of information.

There are a few drawbacks; there are no actual pictures of components, only circuit diagram representations which is good but I had to look up the pictures myself, this is a drawback because there are SO many components listed.
Another thing is that there isn't any projects to undertake, though these can be found easily on the net I would have expected a few.

I would recommend it as it provides great information and references to beginners but if your simply looking to get practical look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good startup guide, but not much more, 30 April 2012
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
The book describes how to set up your workspace, what reference material you should have, and what to expect, but doesn't actually get you started in the world of electronics. It is more what you would expect from a "getting started" article in some hobbyist electronics magazine. Still, for < 4 £ it's an excellent value-for-money, as such a magazine would probably cost double that money.

If you want to learn how electronics actually work, this is not the right book, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tiny book, overpriced, 4 May 2014
By 
H. Thomas (Mid-Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
Very basic information, rather out of date, took 15 min to read. Basically, the first chapter of a (small) book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not much info here, 25 April 2014
By 
A Fennessy (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
This describes various components and tools etc. and how to identify them, but very little about what they do, and certainly nothing about putting any example circuits together: you won't find any projects here. A slim volume of not very much. You would be better off with Electronics for Dummies or similar more comprehensive introduction to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
this is a nice book to read well lead out in colour and just what you need to understand your read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to electronics construction., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
An excellent general guide to constructing hobby circuits. Also covers tools and techniques, with lots of helpful information and tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
very useful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain buy, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) (Paperback)
Great buy ideal book for my son."trying to get him interested in my love of electronics it as been very useful" thanks from Alfonzo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP)
Electronic Project Building for Beginners (BP) by R. A. Penfold (Paperback - Jan 1996)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews