Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was there really a rapist in the Oval Office?
Christoper Hitchens seems to enjoy demolishing the reputations of great public figures and this book is no exception. In a short account, Hitchens makes various attacks on Bill and Hillary Clinton's personal and political characters including, most sensationally, the claim that Bill Clinton may be a rapist.
'No One Left To Lie To' is very well written, and Hitchens...
Published on 25 Jun 2001

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars His bile is worse than his bite
I am a great admirer of Hitchens, the audiobook of “Arguably” was my companion for three months and that of Hitch-22 is as enjoyable as the paper book, but his bile is worse than his enthusiasms about travel, literature, personalities and politics. II didn’t enjoy his book on Mother Theresa which was a hatchet job and I don’t enjoy this. Partly...
Published 5 months ago by barbicandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was there really a rapist in the Oval Office?, 25 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Christoper Hitchens seems to enjoy demolishing the reputations of great public figures and this book is no exception. In a short account, Hitchens makes various attacks on Bill and Hillary Clinton's personal and political characters including, most sensationally, the claim that Bill Clinton may be a rapist.
'No One Left To Lie To' is very well written, and Hitchens draws upon all of his resources to direct a stylish, witty and concise polemic at the Clintons. He does not try to be impartial, merely fair, and he makes no apologies for the constant stream of hate that he has for the Clintons and some of their allies.
As for the allegations themselves, each one is thoroughly investigated - sometimes to the point where he can become a little too pedantic in loooking at what people did and did not say in response to these claims (which can be a problem when you are dealing with politicians. You don't need Christopher Hitchens to point out that politicians rarely answer the questions that they are asked!).
The central problem is that Christopher Hitchens bases many of his key allegations (including the rape allegation) on what people don't say rather than what they do, and on pointing out how different circumstantial evidence points to his conclusion. Very rarely does he actually offer any hard proof for what he claims.
However, his political accusations are well presented and might give those on the Left pause for thought - Hitchens, a former Marxist and staunch defender of the Left shows how Clinton has betrayed his supporters through "triangulation" which effectively means adopting some of the opposition's policies to neutralise their opposition.
Overall, 'No One Left To Lie To' is an absorbing read, and while it doesn't prove Bill Clinton guilty of everything claimed within, it certainly raises many questions you haven't heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now if this is not true...., 21 May 2009
You would sue the life out of someone who wrote this about you. If it is true, you would probably ignore it. This speaks volumes for me.

I always felt the need for a both when ever I saw Clinton and now I know why. The passage on Hilary Clinton's healthcare program is mind blowing, and his analysis of 'triangulation' (Blair seems to have read this playbook) is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, and exposes the monster behind the man., 3 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even before I read this book I never trusted Clinton. There was just something slightly creepy about him, a cold, power hungry, ruthless look in his eyes, the way he spoke, as if he wanted to control everything. A demeanour which suggested an unscrupulous, nasty side to his character. This book just confirmed everything I thought and more. How so many people still trust and like this guy, and go to all his and hilary's speeches, cheer them, and applaud them, is beyond me. From the atrocious execution of a disabled black man, to the constant lying and triangulation, the way in which he used the democrat party to implement very right wing policies,the failure to answer questions properly, the horrible chauvaunistic attitude towards women, viewing them as objects rather than people, to the taking of money for his party from extremely dubious people, this book exposes it all. I think it has been clear for a long time now that the Clintons have no principles whatsoever, and that the only people they really care about are themselves. Hitchens superbly argues that the way in which the left defended him was a big sign of degeneration, he is witty, smart, perceptive, and sticks to the point. The book is short, and I would have liked it to have been longer, but despite its length, its impact is still massive. Buy this and be shown a side to Clinton you've never seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forensic exposition of corruption and vanity, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Other reviewers have said just about everything about this,I would just like to add how readable Hitchens prose is. This really does read like a novel and in the process exposes with great detail how vain, corrupt and even criminal Clinton was.
Hitchens' main thrust is how Clinton and his acolytes maintained power by Triangulation and that theory is well developed and illustrated here. Critics have countered with the "If Clinton was so rigtht wing why did they hate him so much". Hitches also demolishes that as well. Republicans didn't just want their policies enacted (which Clinton invariably did), they nwanyed the power and position themselves and hated Clinton not for being a so-called left-wing Democrat but for robbing them of that power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begging to be sued, 23 Oct 2008
By 
J. D. Aspinall (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why has Hitchens not been sued by the Clintons? This book - just as Hitchens's demolishing of Henry Kissinger - is so breathtakingly defamatory, that any public figure would, surely, issue proceedings.

Kissinger wouldn't sue Hitchens, and neither will the Clintons. Given we live in an image obsessed world, and even minor celebrities sue each other for a pastime, one has to ask:

Why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time for an update?, 31 Mar 2008
Well written and intriguing analysis of the Clintons during their White house and Senate campaign(Mrs.C) years.Makes for very uncomfortable reading when juxtaposed with the media's slavish indulgence of the "clinton foibles".Given that we now have Mrs.Clinton trying to get back into the White House(seems she did not take enough towels and linens away last time),maybe Hitchens should write an update .After all, Billary have been very busy since this book was written in 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars important perspective, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
everything written by this zealot for truth is vitally important and should not be neglected. he was one of the great minds of our time,and many of the others were close friends of his.that said.i should point out that any random essay from "arguably"will probably be found to be more readable and informative.....and on this topic,i can think of frames from steve bell that are in themselves more elucidating and memorable....and pointedly aggressive.nonetheless,it is by christopher hitchens,and thus indispensible. what more might he have done,had he lived?read christopher and his mates;you will not find a duff sentence or an untruthful one.....oh,and don't smoke....you may survive to do some good work yourself..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read, 14 May 2012
By 
O. Dairo (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliantly written tirade on the Clinton brand. Brilliant insights but difficult to appreciate without a good historical awareness of Clinton and his presidency. This is not a historically account .... it is a polemic and a great one at that. Brilliant vocabulary builder and an insightful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars His bile is worse than his bite, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No One Left to Lie to: The Triangulations of William Jefferson Clinton (Hardcover)
I am a great admirer of Hitchens, the audiobook of “Arguably” was my companion for three months and that of Hitch-22 is as enjoyable as the paper book, but his bile is worse than his enthusiasms about travel, literature, personalities and politics. II didn’t enjoy his book on Mother Theresa which was a hatchet job and I don’t enjoy this. Partly because time has weaned the shock of the former President’s contempt for truth, abuse of the constitution and disrespect of women; partly because as an English reader to whom the status of Speaker of the House, the function of caucuses and the nature of confirmation hearings are fairly opaque, the whole thing doesn’t make much sense. The book is full of names that meant nothing to me at the time and less now. Well written as it is, for English readers this is a book for Hitchens completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christopher Hitchens, one of the very finest writers of his generation, has written a quite brilliant and insightful polemic covering the myriad misdemeanors, vices and outright crimes, of a generally admired ex-POTUS.

My only negative is that it's a little short.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No One Left to Lie to: The Triangulations of William Jefferson Clinton
No One Left to Lie to: The Triangulations of William Jefferson Clinton by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews