Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


262 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb expose of a deeply hypocritical woman
During her lifetime, Mother Teresa was as close to canonization as it was possible to get without actually being dead. The front cover of Time magazine called her a "Living Saint". A cult of holiness surrounded her and in the eyes of the media and many politicians she could do no wrong. She was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize and awarded numerous honors in the countries...
Published on 12 July 2008 by dvimus

versus
36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Agnes Position
Hitchens' exposition of Agnes Bojaxhiu (Mother Teresa) as an anti-abortion religious fundamentalist will not surprise anyone who has a passing interest in the machinations of the Catholic Church. Moreover, the accusation that Bojaxhiu cavorted with seedy businessmen, vicious dictators, and unsavoury politicians in pursuit of celebrity and donations does not constitute an...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by John Dexter


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying bio that did not get under the skin, 25 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Missionary Position: Mother Teresa in Theory and Practice (Paperback)
I guess the subtitle says it all: Mother Teresa in Theory and Practice. There's a good chap Belgo Geordie-write an essay in 105 pages and don't forget-beginning, middle and end with all the pros and cons clearly outlined-sorry should be Prof Hitchens telling dirty behind the ears Belgo Geordie to read his 105 page book essay on the catatonic nun. Now I have had the opportunity in my 58 years to engage with a fair number of nuns and Mother Teresa makes for an interesting discussion which this book does not nail. A fair number have muttered she was a disgrace to the cloth and wimple and others wished they could have persecuted their orders in the manner the former Ms Bojaxhui tormented hers. Mr Hitchens attempts to put a good case for the prosecution that this was no saint but a very manipulative and conservative, fame seeking harridan who did little for the poor but to extend their mortal suffering. I was convinced the prosecution had sufficient evidence and the defence was weak I was left thinking the prosecution was sidetracked by the likes of Malcolm Muggeridge. Follow the "dirty" money straight to the Vatican coffers and there lay the case still buried in a mire of sanctimony. Saint? No but what a great and mesmerising publicity seeking hound and con artist. Saint Teresa patron of banks, hedge funding and politicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mother Teresa The Missonary Position, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs Fix it (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
Felt the author could have written in more depth.I was left feeling a lot more could have been written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 235 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Now I Understand, 22 July 1999
By A Customer
In olden days (the 1980's) I was a typical liberal because I cared for human rights and the plight of humanity, but had more words than deeds and always thought of humanity as cattle, to be cared for in this life alone. After an unexpected (and unsought) conversion to Jesus Christ, after which I genuinely became concerned about people not as as species or a collective "humanity" but as individuals, I heard a co-worker of mine -- and a friend who never appreciated my newfound worldview -- say in one mention of Mother Theresa that she wondered what Mother Theresa's angle was (meaning her agenda). I never understood what she meant, and thought she was just trying to get my goat. I've been moving into a world beyond "angles" and "agendas" and "ulterior motives". Oh, because of Original Sin, once an affront of my intelligence but now the foundation of my view of myself, my friends, and greater humanity, none of us are ever perfect, but nevertheless that can not be construed that everyone has a hidden agenda. Nor can the concerns of Mother Theresa in her ministry be compared with the sort of altogether natural concerns of the life we commonly mistake for reality. Fact is, however, I only know Mother Theresa from reports of her life. I never met her, never spoke with her. But I understand that no matter how selflessly one lives, or what good one does, if one goes about it in a way other people do not approve of, or espouse an appreciation for all human life, even the unborn, one is put in a jar and labelled. Perhaps the person who died in the same week as Mother Theresa, Princess Diana, is more loved and venerated by worldly and/or liberal types because she went about it the "right" way -- hobnobbing with rock superstars and condemning land mines and living in a palace, rather than going and living out in Calcutta and living with lepers. Mother Theresa is currently being judged in a higher court than we have on earth and whatever she did inappropriately is being considered by the Ultimate Tribunal. I was reminded, in this book, of similar bilious attacks on Pope Pius XII, a saintly man if ever there was one. The twentieth century has seen two extreme evils: fascism and socialism/communism. In Italy, where fascism ruled in part of the century, if one wasn't a fascist one was a communist -- one extreme to another. Despite the Vatican's part as an underground railroad for some of the Jewish people, Pius has been condemned to the lowest circles of Hell by the world these days because he never offered a documented condemnnation of Nazi Germany, which killed 6 million Jews and 6 million assorted others of his own people -- but he also never condemned the USSR, which by the time Pius ascended to the Holy See has butchered and tortured a hundred times that many of its own people. But would worldly liberal types (and Hitchens is an unabashed "liberal") countenance a papal condemnation of the socialist USSR? The play "The Deputy" was a fabric of lies; but this book seems not so much "lies" as a careful perversion of the truth. And it's easy to condemn Mother Theresa from an American easy chair, especially if one sees everything in the world through the warped spectacles of "politics". It's not easy for some people to swallow, but everything in the world is not reductable to the common denominator of politics. If Mother Theresa did all she did because she thought good works would save her own soul (a heresy) I would think far less of her than to think of her taking money for her order, her ministry, and the people she served from sources that men like Hitchens disapprove of. The only reason that I give the book two stars is because it is good to be iconoclastic, so long as you don't do it just to smash icons. All things must be weighed, and anyone reading this book should read something to balance it. Mother Theresa, so far as I can tell, was a hero. She burned her life out for Christ, serving the lowest of the low, people Mr. Hitchens would not deign to have at his table. I understand what my co-worker meant by Mother Theresa's "angle" -- here's a whole book devoted to it. But the "angle" is more in the perception of those who believe no one can do a good deed without expecting something in return. And there are those who believe all religion and work done in the name of a religious figure is a sham. I was one, until Christ found me. If someone is simply going to exterminate religious belief, or anything else that demeans individual freedom to lead toward socialist collectivizing, and thinks that one way to accomplish that goal is to destroy the memories of people who served others, this is a good place to start. And for anyone who earnestly wants to serve Christ and others disinterestedly, it's good to read this book, and see what people are going to say about you anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's easy to throw mud., 27 Oct 2012
Hitchens as ever warps the truth by ignoring the majority of cases, the thousands who have been helped and given support to concentrate on a few minor incidents that he distorts to supports his point. He criticizes her for the money she took and ended up in a bank account as if she was personally responsible when it was probably the work of someone else and she wasn't aware but that idea isn't considered. While he charges a fortune for small badly researched books and probably doesn't give a penny to charity, but he obviously isn't interested about the much larger amounts of money given to people who might have starved and died otherwise. He criticizes the almost God like status she had, yet he himself has a similar status among atheists just look at reviews of his books and he isn't exactly a saint and hasn't helped a single sick person his entire life. In fact it would be pretty easy to write a critical book about Hitchens how he was arrogant selfish and was only interested in making millions from books. How his main aim in life was not to help the sick but to prove his supreme intelligence and superiority and to set himself on a godlike pedestal so he could look down on the rest of the inferior beings who were religious and thus inferior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 298 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bigotry, 18 April 1999
By A Customer
I worked in one of the MC's hospices in seminary. They took in those no one else does and do work that no one else will. I bet the author has never changed an AID's patients diaper. I also bet the other critics haven't done it either. When I see them taking over Mother Teresa's good work then they have the right to be critical. I never saw such hard working and dedicated women as those nuns. Certainly the Indian people have expressed their love for Mother Teresa during her funeral. These critics are typical liberals who hate the church for opposing their anti-child and anti-family policies. I guess my main question to them would be how many children have you saved?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 239 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who's the hypocrite?, 20 Feb 2010
I would ask who is the hypocrite here? Just how much has Hitchens ever done for suffering humanity except put on angry face and expostulate about the wrongs he sees in everyone else? I know missionaries all over the world who are doing tremendous and sacrificial work to people who are suffering. No doubt Hitchens would want to lump them all together under one label. Oh it's fine to criticise - it's actually doing something about it that makes a difference. I just wish Hitchens would get on and nurse some AIDS patients before he starts whining about others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 244 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All men are bad, according to Mr. Hutchins, 10 Nov 1998
By A Customer
Mr. Hutchins assumes that he is doing us a great service by pointing out the "hypocrisy" of Mother Teresa. The organization had flaws (as all do), therefore it is to be bashed and maligned.
The net effect of "exposes" like this is to discourage anyone from attempting to do anything good.
We mock charity and are shocked to find a lack of charity in our midst...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 388 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read it and venture into the darkness., 13 July 1999
By A Customer
There are those, minions of darkness, for whom light of any kind, or size, or amount is deemed a dire threat. Hence they are driven to extinguish it whenever and wherever they find it lest even its merest luminescence expose and destroy them. In their witless frenzy no weapon is off limits. Thus even a diminutive nun living a Spartan life helping the poor, the sick and terminal is deluged with the sludge of spurious recrimination for being a shill and the tool of propagandists. It will ever be so with lights that shine in the darkness. Mother Theresa stands in a long line of living lights among whom are Martin Luther King, Mahatma Gandhi, and Jesus Christ. The sad truth is that their last state will be worse than their first because with each light they extinguish they bring themselves ever closer to that which they fear most. I give it no stars since light is any form is inimical to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 240 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 7 Dec 2007
By 
There are lots of flaws with this book which others have picked up and argued over. I'd like to add that it's dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What an arrogrant and ungoldly person this C.hitchens, 11 Sep 2013
Christopher Hitchens should get a life instead of making contradictions to the churches and all the good people working for God. seems like He got nothing to do apart criticizing with arrogance about the bible, about Jesus, about God, about Mother Teresa, about the pope. He thinks highly of himself. I bet he never touched a leprosy hand or look after an aid patient! instead of seeing the good in people he only sees the bad! more to me his own image is reflected on others and he thinks others are like him.
Horrible reviews!!! not well documented!
I do not recommend the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Missionary Position: Mother Teresa in Theory and Practice
The Missionary Position: Mother Teresa in Theory and Practice by Christopher Hitchens (Paperback - 5 Dec 2013)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews