Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkest places of the soul...
The first two novels in the Douglas Brodie series were very good noir thrillers - fast-paced, explosive and full of black humour. This one is very different and takes the Brodie series to another and much darker level.

Brodie is asked to investigate a spate of burglaries in Glasgow's post-war Jewish community. But when the burglar is found murdered it gradually...
Published 23 months ago by FictionFan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric post war drama
Good on describing post war Glasgow and the personal traumas of the hero. Story line not as strong as previous books by this author in my view.
Published 23 months ago by Paul Unsworth


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkest places of the soul..., 3 Jan 2013
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first two novels in the Douglas Brodie series were very good noir thrillers - fast-paced, explosive and full of black humour. This one is very different and takes the Brodie series to another and much darker level.

Brodie is asked to investigate a spate of burglaries in Glasgow's post-war Jewish community. But when the burglar is found murdered it gradually becomes clear that there is a connection that leads back to the horrors of the concentration camps - horrors that Brodie has been trying to forget since his role as interrogator of war criminals after the war.

Ferris handles this dark and difficult subject with a great deal of sensitivity and humanity. The details he gives of some of the dreadful acts that were carried out in the camps are kept to the minimum necessary for the development of the story - Ferris carefully avoids the use of gratuitous detail. Instead he concentrates on how these events are still affecting his characters, including a very moving portrayal of what we would now call post-traumatic stress disorder. As I read, I couldn't help but think of the men of my father's generation, the ones who came back - a generation who mainly bottled up their feelings about their war experiences, who talked of the camaraderie of war but not the horrors, and I felt that in some way Ferris was giving these men a voice that the stiff-upper-lip culture of the time had perhaps denied them.

But although the subject matter means that this book is much darker than the previous ones, this is also a first-rate, tightly plotted thriller - well-paced, plenty of action and still with room for occasional flashes of humour. Brodie's relationship with Sam is developed further and Danny McRae, hero of Ferris' other series, plays a part in this one too. In a previous review, I compared Gordon Ferris to Ian Rankin. This book leads me to compare him to Reginald Hill, an author who could give his readers intelligently light entertainment in one book then take them to the darkest places of the human soul in the next. I've thoroughly enjoyed all of the Brodie books but this one also moved me deeply - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth The Wait, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The black humour is great, loved Douglas and Dannie together. The dark days after the War, and the Glasgow environment were perfectly depicted.
I was waiting for this book to come out, and I loved it.
I have now read all of Gordon Ferris books, and I have recommended them to all my family and friends, read them in sequence and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow and dark deeds in post war Glasgow, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: Pilgrim Soul (Douglas Brodie 3) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I haven't yet read The Hanging Shed but I considered Bitter Water a great read, and this one, though very different, impressed me just as much.
I read this book on one of the coldest days of the present 'spring' so it was not very hard to appreciate the cold that dominates this novel.
1947. Worst winter of the century. Snow piled in ever-deepening drifts in Glasgow, in Britain, in Hamburg. As a child I well remember that winter!
Brodie is still working for his newspaper, still doing a bit of detective work on the side. Jewish friends employ him to investigate a series of robberies and very soon the story is knee deep in violence and murder.
However, this time the violence spreads beyond Glasgow, to the concentration camps of WW2 and to the post war trials. Brodie was involved in the interrogation of Nazi officials as a Major in the army at the end of the war, and through his lawyer girlfriend and people very high up in the police and intelligence he is persuaded to return to the army on a limited contract and go to Hamburg to give evidence but also to ask questions about possible escape routes for leading Nazis still being used post war.
Brodie, beginning to realise and cope with the extent to which he has been traumatised by his war experiences; Samantha, lawyer, and his landlady and lover; Danny McRae, an old friend who's war has deeply affected him as well; the Glasgow Jewish community and its reactions to the struggle for the state of Israel; the cops, good and bad; the hunters and the hunted; post war Glasgow itself, all make this a complex and deeply satisfying read. The twist at the end came as a surprise.
I'm very much looking forward to the next Brodie book, and to catching up with Danny McRae, and wondering where the series will go from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brodie, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a really thrilling book. as previous Brodie books,
I like the twist in the story and the closeness to truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping page-turner, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gordon Ferris books are set in post-war Glasgow and they have a gritty realism that I love. The main character is a former soldier who has turned reporter/ detective and who is struggling to comprehend the things he witnessed in the second world war. Ferris' books are real page-turners & I would thoroughly recommend to all. I would think this is particularly suited to readers who may be familiar with Glasgow and those who may remember Britian in the late 1940's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Yet again another story full of twists and turns right to the end. Brodie never stops so neither can you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 15 Mar 2013
By 
D. Cryle (warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with the other books in this series, this book is full of twists and turns and a fantastic ending, can't wait for the next book in 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each Douglas Brodie is so different!, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous!!! I really loved the twists and turns in the plot. The Douglas Brodie series is superb. I have enjoyed 1 and 2 andc can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better., 11 Mar 2013
Just keeps getting better.
A most enjoyable series of books with a unique storyline. Would recommend these to anyone who likes wartime related thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent plot and story line, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This novel of Glasgow post war is an excellent read. Fast, furious and with a very surprising ending. This book will appeal particularly to those interested in the post war years. I hope there are more stories in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pilgrim Soul (Douglas Brodie 3)
Pilgrim Soul (Douglas Brodie 3) by Gordon Ferris (Hardcover - 1 April 2013)
£14.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews