Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inarguably Good
Christopher Hitchens had a mind which is sorely missed. Whether you agreed with what he was saying, or were on the other side of the issue, one had to respect and respond to what Hitchens had to say on the subject. "Arguably" is a collection of his essays (107 in all) put into six sections of the book, and which cover a wide variety of subjects. There are certainly a...
Published 23 months ago by Dave_42

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep a dictionary on hand
This is a collection of essays and reviews by Christopher Hitchens, a most interesting (and sometimes hugely entertaining) character. He is sadly no longer with us. I found myself avidly reading some of this stuff, but also skipping huge swathes of it. I used to think my knowledge and use of the English language to be fairly acceptable, but the more I read Hitchens, the...
Published on 22 May 2012 by Lionel Beck


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars essays, 24 Dec 2012
By 
George Brand - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
An excellent collection of his wide ranging essays. Though you may not accept the very personal views they do not fail to be thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Paperback)
Hitchens is hugely well-informed, tremendously eloquent, and argues devastating well. He is liberal (without a trace of wishy-washyness), and radical (without seeming extremist). Reading him feels authentic - considering his massive breadth of reading, he writes a good deal from experience.

In one particularly characteristic essay, he condemns the jihadist atrocities in postwar Iraq - urging us to recognise fundamentalist terrorism clearly for what it is, and not to interpret it as a somehow understandable response to the decision to oust Saddam. (His support of that decision is well known, and is reiterated here. Also, he asks, why is supposedly so difficult to believe that Saddam's WMD were hidden/sold/otherwise transferred ?)

Elsewhere in the volume he targets other established anti-liberal forces : The Ten Commandments (one-by-one); the wearing of burkas; capital punishment of psychiatrically disturbed children in the US. Reciprocally, one moving piece captures the hope felt in Afghanistan after the Taliban's 2004 defeat.

Also victim to the laser of his `arguing' falls anti-science quasi-spiritual mumbo-jumbo, in this case its unfortunate proponent being Prince Charles.

There are lighter, entertaining pieces too: slightly mischievous reflections on gender differences in sense of humour; and on the inexorably global adoption of the English vernacular f*** off.

I feel that he can occasionally overstrain an argument, and that he is sometimes over-critical, but I can forgive him both tendencies, in view of this wealth of frequently perceptive, often courageous, and sometimes quite brilliant observational writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably - Chris Hitchens, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
Arguably

One of the miracles of an ebook is that a large book - 800 pages can be carried around in a ipad or smartphone without realising any form of inconvenience. And what a book to have with you to dip into at anytime you have a spare moment. Thought provoking, passionate and with a literal style that makes your brain fizz with ideas and thoughts hours after you have put the book down. I can't rate this book highly enough, pure brilliance!
I would like to see this book as a compulsory read for every 6th form student in the UK. What a sad loss that the author Christopher Hitchens is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best, 30 Jan 2012
By 
'Hitch', as he was affectionately known to those who knew him, was a master of the polemical essay. In this comprehensive collection he writes about everything from George Orwell (his hero) to The War on Terror, to (more controversially) 'Why women aren't funny' (this essay is tongue in cheek). What makes the stuff so enjoyable to read is not just Hitch's intellectual honesty but his humour. He was, and remains in these pages, a man of real wit.

Serious questions are also asked in these pages:

Why, for example, did so many on the left (the same left that fought fascism in the 30s and 40s) oppose so utterly the dismantling of Saddam Hussein's regime? While Sunni, Shia and Kurdish civilians were being bombed and tortured by, among others, Saddam's own sadistic son, what possible reason could the well-fed, well-educated protesters of 2003 London have to oppose the end of Saddam?

In the same breath, why does the liberal left often act as apologist for the actions of the 9/11 hijackers when in fact the attacks were an orchestrated slap in the face to the civilization the left fought for and hopes to preserve?

In the same vein, why is monotheist religion (an iron-age mode of thinking) often let off the hook when it comes to matters of forced marriage, cruel forms of circumcision, and social condemnation? (Hitch refers to religion as a 'celestial North Korea' where 'the Almighty can convict you of thought crime').

Atheism aside, Hitch argues his points on religion well and for those who disagree, there is still a lot of food for thought.

On a lighter note, Hitch writes about those he has an affinity with including, at last, Vladimir Nabokov. For Hitch, Nabokov is a tough nut to crack (the essay 'Hurricane Lolita' will explain why) but, as he acknowledges, he has finally done it.

There are many other essays which will make you think, or laugh, or want to read Hitch's favourites for yourself, or enrage you (if you disagree on the bigger stuff) but it's so well written you'll struggle not to respect the man.

Hitch makes reading and thinking worthwhile. He makes it fun too.

He will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
Love or hate of despise...you couldn't ignore Mr Hitchens, and it seems we should have listened a lot more than we did...gone but still bring proved right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read it in less the 2 weeks, 1 July 2012
This review is from: Arguably (Hardcover)
Entertaining, witty, informative, polemic, contrarian, honest and brilliant. In short the usual standard for Christopher Hitchens. I am a slow reader, but I read all 750 pages in less than two weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book..., 12 Jun 2012
By 
Dejan Obrenovic "Vojsek" (Tuzla, Bosnia & Herzegovina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Hardcover)
It's just one of the book you need to have. Hitchens changed my world long ago and this book confirms his greatness... again. God bless his soul... Oh wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, polymath, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
First off it's an absolutely colossal book. Never mind the width feel the quality, as he himself might have said having discovered his mother's ancestry, well this is taxi material. I'd almost bought it when it was still hardback (sic) and it would have been fantastic value, but for 1.99 for the paperback (sic) version you simply can't go wrong. Being a series of reviews and articles it would appeal as a lavatory book, except you'd be late for work most mornings, and if you had visitors, you'd not see them half the evening. As for the quality, "Hitchens is Great".

On a Kindle note my one bugbear with previous books has been typos, so far at 63% I've found 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unarguably Good, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
Thought provoking, entertaining, challenging, amusing - and beautifully written. This is an excellent introduction to the late Christopher Hitchens writings. Read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Potpourri, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
The book is mostly a collection of his journalism of the last twenty years - covering historic and literary subjects from around the time of the American Revolution to the present day.
I find his erudition and literary style to be breathtaking. As his beloved Wodehouse might say 'not a bore', to put it mildly. His analysis of today's problems between nations and faiths is incisive, and by putting them in their historic context highly instructive. I consider his best prose to be comparable to the popular writings of Bertand Russell. I think Christopher would deny that were he still with us, but might allow himself a slight frisson of well-deserved pride. His sad recent passing is a great loss. I'm not sure that he would appreciate my using the word potpourri in the heading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arguably
Arguably by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2011)
Used & New from: 10.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews