Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inarguably Good
Christopher Hitchens had a mind which is sorely missed. Whether you agreed with what he was saying, or were on the other side of the issue, one had to respect and respond to what Hitchens had to say on the subject. "Arguably" is a collection of his essays (107 in all) put into six sections of the book, and which cover a wide variety of subjects. There are certainly a...
Published on 25 Sept. 2012 by Dave_42

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep a dictionary on hand
This is a collection of essays and reviews by Christopher Hitchens, a most interesting (and sometimes hugely entertaining) character. He is sadly no longer with us. I found myself avidly reading some of this stuff, but also skipping huge swathes of it. I used to think my knowledge and use of the English language to be fairly acceptable, but the more I read Hitchens, the...
Published on 22 May 2012 by L Beck


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars essays, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
George Brand - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
An excellent collection of his wide ranging essays. Though you may not accept the very personal views they do not fail to be thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably - Chris Hitchens, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
Arguably

One of the miracles of an ebook is that a large book - 800 pages can be carried around in a ipad or smartphone without realising any form of inconvenience. And what a book to have with you to dip into at anytime you have a spare moment. Thought provoking, passionate and with a literal style that makes your brain fizz with ideas and thoughts hours after you have put the book down. I can't rate this book highly enough, pure brilliance!
I would like to see this book as a compulsory read for every 6th form student in the UK. What a sad loss that the author Christopher Hitchens is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting epitaph., 14 Mar. 2013
By 
M. Harper "Opsimath" (England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Hardcover)
This selection from the writings of the much-missed Christopher Hitchens is a good place for anyone not familiar with his work to start. His devotees might find a degree of duplication but there is probably enough that is unfamiliar to make acquiring this collection worth-while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Hardcover)
A large book of essays by the Hitch one can't put down.
Christopher Hitchens essays here probably make this the book of the year, and it is
Intelligent prose. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Hardcover)
If you know any of the late Christopher Hitchens writing you will love this collection. Extremely informative, wildly confrontational at times but a genuine masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
Love or hate of despise...you couldn't ignore Mr Hitchens, and it seems we should have listened a lot more than we did...gone but still bring proved right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, polymath, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
First off it's an absolutely colossal book. Never mind the width feel the quality, as he himself might have said having discovered his mother's ancestry, well this is taxi material. I'd almost bought it when it was still hardback (sic) and it would have been fantastic value, but for £1.99 for the paperback (sic) version you simply can't go wrong. Being a series of reviews and articles it would appeal as a lavatory book, except you'd be late for work most mornings, and if you had visitors, you'd not see them half the evening. As for the quality, "Hitchens is Great".

On a Kindle note my one bugbear with previous books has been typos, so far at 63% I've found 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unarguably Good, 11 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
Thought provoking, entertaining, challenging, amusing - and beautifully written. This is an excellent introduction to the late Christopher Hitchens writings. Read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Potpourri, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arguably (Kindle Edition)
The book is mostly a collection of his journalism of the last twenty years - covering historic and literary subjects from around the time of the American Revolution to the present day.
I find his erudition and literary style to be breathtaking. As his beloved Wodehouse might say 'not a bore', to put it mildly. His analysis of today's problems between nations and faiths is incisive, and by putting them in their historic context highly instructive. I consider his best prose to be comparable to the popular writings of Bertand Russell. I think Christopher would deny that were he still with us, but might allow himself a slight frisson of well-deserved pride. His sad recent passing is a great loss. I'm not sure that he would appreciate my using the word potpourri in the heading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 16 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Arguably (Hardcover)
Quite simply,Outstanding. If I could own only one book, this would be it,Christopher's Ferocious intellect ouses from every page.I personally guarantee to everyone who buys this book It will change the way you view Religion, politics,current affairs e.t.c. R.I.P Christopher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arguably
Arguably by Christopher Hitchens (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2011)
Used & New from: £2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews