Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well researched
This is a biography of the life of drug king Pablo Escobar. The writer has clearly got some inside story as to his life as it is very detailed (probably too detailed regarding his early life which does drag on far too long). However, if you stick with it, it does give a fantastic insight into Pablo's early years, what formed him and Columbia's recent history...
Published on 11 Mar 2007 by J. Mellor

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Show me the proof!
Dull but I think that this was it was so poorly researched; few footnotes or appendices. I understand if people's identities have to remain secret, but throughout the book I had no idea whether what the writer was saying was truth or speculation. No 'fact' appeared to be attributable except to the author himself - I do like a little confirmation of the veracity of an...
Published 1 month ago by The 3 Hares


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Killing Pablo, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book for my husband for his kindle. He said its fantastic. Highly recommended if you are into criminal history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good information but writing style not great, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In information terms, this book is great and gives a real insight into Pablo's rapid rise and fall within Colombian society. Lots of dates and events are collated through various interviews and research which I found really interesting, but the writing style and literal typing of the book left room for improvement; sometimes it just doesn't read well and there are quite a few missing full stops throughout the book.
For anyone wishing to inform themselves of how Pablo Escobar was killed, this is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb account of the life, crimes and death of Pablo Escobar and his dogged, conflicted pursuers. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Story, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to believe what I was reading - this guy had more power than the elected president of the country.

Well written and researched but a bit too much political detail in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Visiting Colombia? This is a must read!, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Indepth insight into the downfall of a drug lord who brought misery to millions but is still revered by many in his homeland (one Colombian man told me: 'Pablo cared about us - he helped us. The Government didn't'). Well written and pacey, it doesn't glorify the man - or his heinous crimes - in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Pablo: the Hunt for the Richest, Most Powerful Criminal in History (Paperback)
Excellent story, a must but for any factual book lover!! Had me hooked from 1st page to last and hope my next read is justlike this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killing Pablo, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really interesting read. I found parts of this book almost incredible. I highly recommend it. The research was amazing and was a page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant story, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Joseph (fife, scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Pablo: the Hunt for the Richest, Most Powerful Criminal in History (Paperback)
this was a facinating and informative book . read it in two days could not put it down as well as detailing the life of a master criminal it was also very informative on the social and political life of columbia and the war on drugs
overall a well writin book by mark bowden and will read more books by this author in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's really interesting this book, a true real life. Nowadays, I remember those sad days, violence and the terror that this man caused. Now far away from my country I just wanted read something and this book attracted my attencion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Guys kinda book, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say that I didn't enjoy this book as much as I had hoped. This book is written from the prespective of the police and investigators, rather than being a story about Pablo's shenanigans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killing Pablo: the Hunt for the Richest, Most Powerful Criminal in History
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews