Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly I understand all my doctor friends
A very light, quick read as the book is made up of short 2 page sections (i.e. assembled from his Guardian column). The author is very witty and dry and gives fascinating insights into the joys and terror of being a newly qualified doctor. A very enjoyable, entertaining read with occasional thoughtful, incisive comments on the state of modern medicine. Every inconsiderate...
Published on 21 Jan 2004 by D. Edwards

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important reading for doctors in training
As a medical teacher I was keen to add my thoughts having

just read this book. Like other reviewers I found aspects of this book

negative, missing out a lot of the positive

points out about being a junior doctor.

Having said that there are some parts of the book which were very valuable.

Suicide among doctors is a...
Published on 20 Feb 2007 by Clement Rodgers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly I understand all my doctor friends, 21 Jan 2004
By 
D. Edwards (Dumfries) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very light, quick read as the book is made up of short 2 page sections (i.e. assembled from his Guardian column). The author is very witty and dry and gives fascinating insights into the joys and terror of being a newly qualified doctor. A very enjoyable, entertaining read with occasional thoughtful, incisive comments on the state of modern medicine. Every inconsiderate member of the public who's ever been rude to a doctor (doctor bashing is the vogue here at the moment) should read this book and reflect on what they are in danger of losing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is really like this....., 1 Jun 2007
Although it may be unpalatable to many, this is exactly what it was ( ?is) like to be junior doctor...I know i was one.

I'm now a consultant and things haven't changed much (other than for the worse)

Read it if you want to get a true perspective as opposed to the nonsense in Holby City, Casualty etc

Whilst you're at it take a look at the Cardiac Arrest series from the 90's now on DVD -- probaly the best hospital TV series ever made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 12 Dec 2005
By 
Clara (London England) - See all my reviews
This is the only book that tells it like it is about being a junior doctor in the UK. It's funny and dark. A must-read for all doctors and would-be doctors out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important reading for doctors in training, 20 Feb 2007
As a medical teacher I was keen to add my thoughts having

just read this book. Like other reviewers I found aspects of this book

negative, missing out a lot of the positive

points out about being a junior doctor.

Having said that there are some parts of the book which were very valuable.

Suicide among doctors is a real issue and it is vital all

doctors, particularly junior doctors, read the section on

pages 80-82; "Suicide is Painless". He writes; "So if

you're a doctor and you think it it's all over and your

whole world has gone irretrievably pear-shaped, I say

this: Bail out. Don't kill yourself. Leave your job. .....

Reclaim your life: have it over again. You're young.

You'll make new friends."

If you have issues relating to views on health service

managers, then read page 118.

And finally, a useful

quotation; "Accident and Emergency is the random anecdote

generator of the NHS, the strange attractor to which all

ridiculousness will gravitate." (Page 68)

The book is well worth a read, particularly for doctors in training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you gotta read this, 31 July 2004
If you were a junior doctor in the 80's or 90's, you must buy this book before it goes out of print. Why? Because it is a brilliant, funny, cutting and above all honest (because it was written contemporaneously) account of what it was like. It will let you remember.
Further, it is a historical document any planners of the NHS in the 21st century (and believe me the NHS is going to change beyond recognition) must read. It is a snapshot of the life of doctors that still cared (or at least didn't just care about financial reward) working in an NHS that was (and is) becoming untenable.
And all patients should read it because it is true. I know, I was there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 13 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Absolutely brilliant book! It gives a honest picture of what it is like to work as a junior doctor in the NHS, I would recommend this for anyone who would like an insight into what a junior doctor goes through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good funny book, 3 Oct 2009
Its a really good book about the life of a junior doctor. the author expresses in the hardships of the junior doctor in a more funny manner. I would recommend this book for all the upcoming doctors as well as medical students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, boring, boring - a real drag, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs C "Chris in Hampshire" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had expected this book to be amusing, humourous, entertaining but sadly it was none of these things, it is one long bore written with a "poor me" attitude.

Yes, I think everyone appreciates the fact that life is hard for a junior doctor and the training is long and hard. But surely anyone wanting to go into the medical profession knows this and they choose to do so because they want to help and care for people.

Well it seems that Dr Foxton does not feel like this. What he writes in his book is non stop NHS bashing, non stop moaning about his job and is totally insulting and disrespectful to the patients he is supposed to be caring for. I think I would rather be treated by the Vet we take our pets to than be treated by Dr Foxton. If what he wrote is his true feelings about his job, the parients and the NHS then the sooner he leaves the profession the better for all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, but tediously cynical, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Alex W (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Foxton's book contains some hugely funny anecdotes, but the majority of his book is tainted with a very left-leaning cynicism about the state of the NHS, and a surly and somewhat spiteful attitude towards nursing staff. It is a thought-provoking book, but it lacks the entertainment value of Max Pemberton's rival tale of life as a junior doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bedside Stories, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedside Stories: Confessions of a Junior Doctor (Paperback)
Hilarious stories about a junior doctors life on the wards. My daughter loves reading this, and often reads out aloud the ones she finds funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bedside Stories: Confessions of a Junior Doctor
Bedside Stories: Confessions of a Junior Doctor by Michael Foxton (Paperback - 1 Jun 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews