Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wit of a genius on almost every page
This book is a great companion to the second season of An Idiot Abroad. Rather than just write about the things that were in the program, Karl has opted to fill in the gaps and write about things that were not shown, and that was a brilliant decision. We get to see more detail of things that were hinted at in the TV program, transcripts of full conversations, and of...
Published on 7 Oct. 2012 by S. Houghton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soon runs out of steam
If you have seen the second series of "An Idiot Abroad" on TV or DVD, then you have had more enjoyment than you will get out of this book (at least you get the visuals on DVD). Karl has a few funny asides to add to his commentary on the trips, but these quickly run out, and the second half of the book is an effort to get through (it feels like it was for Karl too). Avoid.
Published 20 months ago by Mr. Ross Maynard


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wit of a genius on almost every page, 7 Oct. 2012
By 
S. Houghton (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a great companion to the second season of An Idiot Abroad. Rather than just write about the things that were in the program, Karl has opted to fill in the gaps and write about things that were not shown, and that was a brilliant decision. We get to see more detail of things that were hinted at in the TV program, transcripts of full conversations, and of course the extra bits that weren't shown on TV.

Karl's writing is excellent and very clear. The editor has taken the decision to leave the accented writing style alone, which I applaud, as it is easier to imagine Karl saying it, and is just more true to life - 'My Mum' becomes 'Me Mam' for example.

What really comes through in this book is Karl's absolute genius of making the mundane seem interesting, by looking at it in his own unique way. There is almost a laugh, or an insightful observation on each page. One example is when he writes of his time in the US, and performing the 'Glee' style dance. He says he struggled to keep in time with the other dancers, and was always slightly late with his moves. He didn't see it as a bad thing though, because he said he saw it as if he was performing a catch-up service for those that blink! This kind of thing is why I just adore Karl.

It's also so nice to read his free flowing thoughts directly, with no interruptions.

I recently saw him do a discussion with Michael Palin on the publisher's YouTube page, as they both have travel books out at the same time. I'd so love for them to do something together. It'd be a passing of the torch kind of thing. Karl could quite easily front a travel program without it needing to be a comedy. He'd be great too, because he tells it like it is.

If you love Karl, then you have to buy this book. It's as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Witful, Genius Abroad., 13 May 2014
This review is from: The Further Adventures of An Idiot Abroad (Paperback)
If you're looking for a book to give you a genuine incite into the world of travel then this is not for you. Anybody who has seen the series 'An idiot aboard' will quickly know that the opinions and observations expressed in this book are not those of your average travel buff. They are those of Karl Pilkington, labelled as an idiot, twonk, and miserable git by his close peers but as a genius to many others, including myself.

The book begins with a bucket list of a hundred things to do before you die. Karl picks some of these and travels to partake in them, sometimes to his own prevail, sometimes to failure. Throughout the book, chapters will be based around these bucket list items. The book also depicts the hilarious conversations using transcript between Karl and his various contacts whom he meets on his journeys as well as his comedian/writer friends Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant.

The highlight of the book is Karl's own observations of what he sees, hears, and thinks of the scenarios and challenges he faces. He is certainly unique and witty in what he makes of where he is sent and what challenge he is given to do.

He doesn't always choose to moan at what he is made to undertake contrary to popular belief, but some of his whacky conclusions and opinions do become somewhat tedious and almost contrived, however most of it is believable, funny, and often vouched for by things he says either earlier or later.

Slight criticisms aside, this book had me smirking very often, and at a few points laughing aloud in public, to my embarrassment.

This book comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even if you've seen the TV series, this is still worth a read, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
S. Pope (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Desperate to pick up something to read at WHSmith Cardiff Airport I was relieved to discover Karl Pilkington has a second edition of 'an idiot abroad' out in print.
I paid (through the nose, as this was a WHSmith in an airport..........) for it and worked my way through it while spending two weeks in Egypt.

Even though I've seen the TV series it was still a brilliant read and a further insight into the tasks he carried out.
I don't think he's as much of an idiot as he makes out, he's certainly a decent enough writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soon runs out of steam, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Further Adventures of An Idiot Abroad (Paperback)
If you have seen the second series of "An Idiot Abroad" on TV or DVD, then you have had more enjoyment than you will get out of this book (at least you get the visuals on DVD). Karl has a few funny asides to add to his commentary on the trips, but these quickly run out, and the second half of the book is an effort to get through (it feels like it was for Karl too). Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to expectations, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
Sarah Hayes (Greater Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the first instalment of the Idiot Abroad diary I had high hopes for the sequel. However these were short lived and I was left disappointed and a little annoyed. The front cover dubbs this to be "hilarious", but it barely raised a smile. Towards the end of the book you can also tell that Karl couldn't be bothered anymore, with his rushed descriptions in the way he ticked off another as activity from the bucket list. More challenging funnier on screen, don't waste your money and just watch the TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny read, 11 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Further Adventures of An Idiot Abroad (Paperback)
Loved this. I've listened to quite a few of the Podcasts, and saw bits of the TV programme so knew exactly what to expect. You have to understand who Karl Pilkington is and how he thinks in order to get this book - otherwise it ends up being the ramblings of a mad man! There were quite a few laugh out loud moments (not good for reading on public transport) and the rest of the book gave a gentle smile throughout - you're not really going to learn anything very useful about other cultures from Karl - just his unique take on things. Rather worryingly, I found myself agreeing with what he'd written on more than one occassion!! Highly recommened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars further adventures of an idiot who reads it :), 5 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ha what to say; if your a fan then you probably won't need to guess what this will be like; nor would you need some idiot telling you why you need to buy it. but as i am an idiot i will do anyway :)
As usual you will read a lot of karl Moaning about this and that. though unlike the first book this is less like a diary; to which karl explains in the begining he was too sick to write so he decided to write it all when he was safe from harm and could just get into it. it's a nice hardback. (Though the HMV one has postcards)
I love reading anything by Karl Pilkington he just has this funny way of thinking.
Now i have had this discussion with my sister recently; as she reckons its all fake an act. this whole an idiot abroad. now im on the wave of thinking that don't really mind, if it's genuine then it's really funny but if it is all put on well its still really funny.
Obviously I havent finished it yet. but its one of those books that it doesnt take finishing it to be able to review it.
if you are from another planet or dont watch tv. and dont know what an idiot abroad is. well it pretty much says what it is on the title. Poor Karl Pilkington is sent to different places in the world and tortured (not literally) (think of the films Saw. but instead of Jigsaw its Ricky Gervais and Steven Merchant) the first series premise was the seven wonders of the world. the second one was a bucket list.
which i think gave the series more scope and more ways to give poor Karl a bad time.
The book isn't just a recounting of his travels throughout the second series. we do get his thoughts on other bucket list that he didn't do. and the whole Bungey jump thing at the begining is funny. he does moan a lot about not wanting to jump.
So is this book a laugh out loud Romp through the eys of an idiot?
yes.... but you don't need me to tell you. if you are aware of Karl Pilkington then you know what you will get with this book.
usually im more a crime novel reader the darker the better. or a good book with a powerful story. but since i discovered Karl do admit the funny ones are also good to read.

well if your an idiot you will not buy this book.... (well i will be expecting book sales to shoot up the roof now) :)
Enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the first book, but with new stuff and more detail, 11 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book must be good, as my wife sits in bed each night reading this, laughing away into the small hours like I don't have to get up at 6am.

I do. But I love her. And I'm sure she loves this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Dim-witted and yet practical - Ricky Gervais, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Karl's second diary of his ventures abroad adds to the colour and drama that surrounds both the man and the character that never goes out of character. I don't think this one will be going out of season soon. Probably one for the history archives of classics and now with immortality in print. Funny, Dim-witted and yet practical - Ricky Gervais, Steve Merchant and Karl Pilkington won me over with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never been a book fan really, but after watching the excellent series on An Idiot Abroad, I had to purchase this. Thoroughly enjoyed the way the book was written, and laid out. The hilarious phone conversations with Ricky and Stephen and the pictures of the "bald twonk", bring back funny memories of the tv series. I enjoy reading Karls strange thoughts and ideas, and look forward to the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Further Adventures of An Idiot Abroad
The Further Adventures of An Idiot Abroad by Karl Pilkington (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews