Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To sell is human; to serve your customers, divine
If I could give "To sell is human" another title, it would be, "Why you're in Sales now; and what you can do about it".

Chapters 1-3, under the Part heading "Rebirth of a Salesman", contrast the traditional concept of Sales with Pink's fresh, almost all-encompassing re-labelling of selling as any activity that involves persuading, convincing, or influencing...
Published 16 months ago by Peter Roy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars meh, it's ok, not sure I see the point and I'm in sales
It's ok. Filled with a load of examples. Initial thoughts on the book: meh. Read something else. There is loads out there. :) his book Drive is better.
Published 9 months ago by ponnamp


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To sell is human; to serve your customers, divine, 6 Mar 2013
If I could give "To sell is human" another title, it would be, "Why you're in Sales now; and what you can do about it".

Chapters 1-3, under the Part heading "Rebirth of a Salesman", contrast the traditional concept of Sales with Pink's fresh, almost all-encompassing re-labelling of selling as any activity that involves persuading, convincing, or influencing others. In a series of light hearted but also, at times, poignant vignettes, Pink follows the last of the Fuller Brush salesman on his door to door journey of San Francisco; and this is really a swan song for a type of sales that has already died. (As a side note to the author, I would have loved to have seen a similar treatment of network selling which, despite its undoubted popularity in certain quarters, is tainted by the same awkward, embarrassing, and outdated mindset as traditional sales.)

Chapter 2 offers a dissection of the distinct trends in society towards entrepreneurship and the rise in education and health care, which extends and complements some of the themes found in his earlier books such as, 'A Whole New Mind', 'Drive', and 'Free Agent Nation'. I do love Pink's ability to spot and clarify in simple terms these medium-to-long term trends within society as they happen; almost like a historian writing in real time.

Chapters 4-7 under the Part heading "How to Be" focus on the new ABC of selling (Attunement, Bouyancy, and Clarity) and offer pertinent and practical discussions, but I am not sure whether they could be classed as a 'surprising truth' which is the promise of the title page. Anybody with a background in Neuro Linguistic Programming (NLP) will instantly recognise attunement as 'rapport' which has been part of the core literature for many, many years. The "Mirror, Mirror" and "Watch. Wait. Wane.", for example, are what would commonly be called "Matching and Mirroring" and the "Pull up a chair" example from Amazon is really just a single example of "perceptual positions" which, again, is long standing within the core body of NLP literature and harnessed widely within sales training. Finally, "bouyancy" and the associated techniques described are, to me, again, really a restatement of NLP "reframing". This does not detract from the power of the techniques, or the advice that Pink offers you as the reader, but I did not feel that they necessarily needed to be relabelled.

Chapters 7-9 under the Part heading "What to Do" intrigued me most, and has challenged me to rethink the way that I interact with my own clients (I am freelance project manager, so the concept of different 'pitches' (e.g. one-word pitch, question pitch, rhyming pitch, subject-line pitch, Twitter pitch, and Pixar pitch) is genuinely arresting, and something that I have applied with immediate results in my working life. I also think that pecha-kucha should be enforced as mandatory across all organisations!

My wife and I have one bookshelf at home, and we have one shelf each on that bookshelf; the idea being that it forces us to evaluate every book that we read to decide whether it is either a fiction book that we would want to read again, or a factual book that we would want to refer back to in the future. So, will I keep a space on my bookshelf for, "To sell is human"? The answer is, 'Probably not.' However, I will be taking a lot of notes before I pass it on to a friend; and that reflects the fact that "To sell is human" is a book about the here and now; and it is something that you need to read and act upon, rather than something to be left languishing on a bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pink continues to pitch and deliver, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daniel H Pink's To Sell is Human traces how the world of marketing has changed with a consequence that the stereotypical image of a secondhand car salesman is a long way from best practice today. There has been a fundamental shift in power: in the past Salesman had knowledge of the product and of pricing creating a power imbalance between salesman and customer (hence caveat emptor); however, with the rise of the Internet and social media, consumers now have knowledge and the power to bite back if they are bitten (hence caveat venditor).
Central to Pink's thesis is the argument that to a greater or lesser extent we all employ marketing techniques as part of our daily work (selling ideas to others, exhorting others to do things that we want them to do, etc.) hence his assertion that we are all to some extent in marketing.
Pitching
This is quite a practical book and one of the strongest examples of this is the section on "pitching" to others. Here Pink outlines six different ways to pitch. These would make an excellent brainstorming session for school marketing departments - How would sum up your school using the following six techniques?
The one-word pitch: e.g. Mastercard's "Priceless"
The question pitch: e.g. Ronald Regan's "Are you better off now than you were four years ago?" in the 1976 US Election campaign.
The rhyming pitch: e.g. "If it doesn't fit, you must acquit" from O.J. Simpson's lawyer at his trial.
The subject line pitch: A phrase that can fit into an email subject line (tip: utility and curiosity are the key to success here)
The Twitter pitch: Using 140 or fewer characters.
The Pixar Pitch: Employing the winning formula used by Pixar movies (Once upon a time . . . . Every day, . . . . One day, . . . . Because of that . . . Because of that . . . . Until finally, . . . . )
Pink provides an excellent summary of his book in the form of what he terms a "Pixar Pitch":
"Once upon a time only some people were in sales. Every day, they sold stuff, we did stuff and everyone was happy. One day everything changed: All of us ended up in sales - and sales changed from a world of caveat emptor to caveat venditor. Because of that, we had to learn the new ABCs - attunement, buoyancy and clarity. Because of that, we had to learn some new skills - to pitch, to improvise, and to serve. Until finally, we realised that selling isn't some grim accommodation to a brutal marketplace culture. It's part of who we are - and therefore something we can do better by being more human." p.172-3
Pink ends his book on a rather moral note arguing that selling needs to provide a service: he asks two questions, which all would do well to heed.
If the person you're selling to agrees to buy, will his or her life improve?
When your interaction is over, will the world be a better place than when you began?
Overview
This sits firmly in the accessible business/psychology genre much loved by our colleagues across the pond. Pink writes well and this is an easy read with lots of good practical take-aways in the form of exercises at the end of the key chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I made me think and revise how I think, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Dr. David James "David James" (Henley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daniel Pink`s wonderful hands-on book is full of wisdom and anecdotes that have the added value of being backed by research from some of the top academics in their fields. His work is eye opening an refreshing, this tricks and tips he provides work, they really do. Read this. and the world will be a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like in 'Drive' - right on the basic message but less than ideal in execution, 16 Sep 2013
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my second Daniel H. Pink book (the first one being Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us) and while the topic - influencing, convincing and in essence (non-sales) selling (whether a product, idea or oneself) - is different, much in the way of how the book is written, is not. This means you get a compendium of research on various facets of the topic, with some easy to remember acronyms (the author's own contribution) thrown in. It may also be a good way to learn about the topic if you are hopelessly harried and cannot devote more than a short flight's worth of time to it, although this works less well for this book than for 'Drive' in my opinion.

The basic premise - namely that everyone is selling something some of the time, be it ideas, concepts, oneself or more conventionally actual products - is of course sound and in the meantime very well known. The author also does not go on a trailblazing mission of applying cutting edge research to the topic; it is more a collage of what has been done in the field in previous decades and while most of it is absolutely correct, it is also relatively well known to people who follow management literature.

The author also continues with an ample use of acronyms, which are supposed to help people remember the concepts and tries to apply the lessons of chapter sections immediately through a more or less corny finishing statement most of the time. The risk of course being that he may turn off a part of the readership with the approach, and have another part remember the wrong meanings of the acronyms - the ABC a reader may recall some time afterwards may well be the unwanted 'always be closing', rather than the 'atunement, buoyancy & clarity' the author preaches.

My other criticism is that too many concepts are introduced in too short a book, leading to many of them being dealt with in a fairly superficial manner - research often gets a sentence or a paragraph, which does not do it justice, nor will it allow an unseasoned practitioner to form a balanced opinion on what is likely to help in their own situation.

As it is the book provides you with lots of ideas on how to sell more successfully but because of its brevity requires follow-up reading to be truly useful. While knowing some more innovative pitch methods to complement your standard elevator pitch, changing the attitude to how you see the roles of vendor or purchaser in different information environments, or the advice to engage in improvisational theater are all correct, you will need separate sources to teach you more on each one of those. In essence more a directory of what is out there (with fairly useful sources in the back), than a solid executive summary on how to apply (even a fraction of) it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an empathy salesperson this book is right up my street.
Whoever you are and what ever you do, this book will help.
Easy to read and take on-board the ideas into actionable points when you get back from you holiday etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Persuade, Divine, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Mark "Trainer, Facilitator and Coach" (Neath, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It may only be February but this is probably the best business book of 2013. If your work involves selling ideas to or moving others, and as explained here most job now do, this books offers ways to get much better at persuasion.

If you liked Drive or A Whole New Mind you will enjoy this audiobook too. It's better as an audiobook because it's read by Daniel Pink himself, an engaging an entertaining speaker, and you get all the added emphasis and meaning he intended. The Fuller Brush mans interaction with Beth is an amusing interlude really brought to life in the audiobook. Daniel Pink puts forward the new ABC of selling everything from product to ideas to motivation. The ideas of Attunement, Buoyancy and Clarity are then explained with a sound evidence base and links to the latest research for each. The research is brought to life with practical examples in the real world away from the lab.

For me the most useful part of this book is the 'Sample Case' or activities given to practice and increase effectiveness in each of the 3 key behaviours. Which is where I will end my review because I'm off to sharpen my improvisation skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Paperback)
Great book, simple strategies and ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I listened to this a few times in my car and found that it was very informative, well researched, written and with lots of suggested other reading material and websites recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Informative, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daniel does a great job of positioning the whole sales motion in a positive, exciting and at times amusing way. It makes for a fun read that can easily be translated into useful activity at the front line of the sales effort. I thoroughly recommend it to all sales people - and according to Daniel, that's all of us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soft Seller, 16 May 2014
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Paperback)
Pink is great writer, and is extremely convincing, which is not that surprising, really, considering the subject matter. This was an impulse buy, but I was charmed by his writing and convinced by the central argument - that we are all in the business of selling. There are plenty of practical tips on how to get people around to your way of thinking, but it is gentle persuasion rather than a hard sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews