Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Modern Mrs Beeton
Fabulous book! Brilliant presentation and incredibly informative. It reminded me of Mrs Beeton's book in the way that it explain's why certain steps of the recipe's are important, the science behind the recipe. Not only does Lily give some fantastic recipe's and flavour idea's but she also gives the reader the knowledge and confidence to stray from the recipe and make the...
Published on 11 April 2013 by Miss Kitt

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh...
This recipe book looks lovely, but I'm disappointed in the recipes. There is not a lot I really want to make, and too many pages of 'variations' for toppings, icing...
The 2 cakes I have made out of it so far have been pretty underwhelming. I don't know why but this just isn't doing it for me.
Published 7 months ago by Claire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'Sweet Tooth' certainly is a sugar lover's dream book. The recipes are not only easy to follow and delicious, but offer a range of unique flavours that you often see combined on cookery shows such as Masterchef, but often not combined with everyday kitchens.

For instance, recipes include flavours such as Lavender and Toasted Almond or Passion fruit and Toasted Almond Tea Cakes, Vanilla Pomegranate Layer Cake, Beetroot Cake, Apple and Rosemary Olive Oil Cake, Chocolate Avocado Cake, Pear, Parsnip, and Ginger Cake.

In addition you can learn skills such as creating sugar shards, candied oranges and limes, crystallising flowers, making honeycombs, and various ice creams including Mango & mint, Coffee & Pecan, and Absinthe & mint chocolate chip.

All in all this books is crammed full of uniquely flavoured cakes and desserts that are sure to surprise any dinner guest and delight the entire family. A fantastic book for new flavour combinations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gosh, what delicious recipes and mouthwatering pictures!, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
As an avid cookbook reader and user, I cannot recommend this book more highly. It simply is utterly divine.

The recipes are easy to follow - and work! - and taste amazing. And if you are not sure, the mouthwatering pictures give you a real sense of what you can achieve.

My personal favourites are the jewel cakes, and the honeycomb. Great ideas for gifts and presents to make, but I would go one further and give this beautiful book as a gift itself.

Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GORGEOUS AND DELIGHTFUL BOOK, 27 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
This book was recommended by a friend and wow it is a fabulous bakery book , easy recipes , new ways to bake the perfect victoria cake a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely pictures and pretty book., 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
Bought as a present, my mum was made up with it. This recipe book is full of quirky and interesting recipes, lovely pictures and pretty book...we all found a recipe we wanted to try straight away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my mum and she raved about it so much so i went out and got one for my self. It has some great recipes I use the pastry recipes all the time now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful gift for the baker in your life, 10 Oct. 2012
By 
Simon Tavener - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The quality of baking books does seem to be on the rise and whilst this is not quite as beautiful as the Laduree books, it is a really top piece of design and presentation. The recipes are not too shabby either.

The thing that impressed me most about the book was the real personality of the text. I got a real sense of the personal style and passion of Lily and her baking life - and that makes the experience richer.

There are plenty of good recipes to inspire you to reach for the scales and pans - everything is clearly laid out and lavishly illustrated. There are some very useful hints and tips as well as good background to Lily and her work.

Certainly a book that will be on many wishlists for this Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to like this book so much, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Annie (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
I bought this because I made some hot cross buns from a Lily Vanilli recipe in Waitrose magazine. The recipe was imaginative, easy to follow and the results were absolutely outstanding. On this alone I bought this book.

But it's really not grabbed me. For one, there aren't many things I really feel like I want to make (and a recipe book has to make you go "oooh I want to try those") and the recipes I have tried have produced just okay results. Nothing special.

I really wanted this book to work. I've seen LV in action and she seems lovely. I'm a huge cake/biscuit fan. So not sure what went wrong.

My advice is to have a good look at this book in a book shop first. It might work for you. I hope it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
A different collection of sweet recipes, lovely photos. I haven't baked anything yet, but have enjoyed reading it! Planning some baking very soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best cookbook of 2012 - serious contender, 3 Oct. 2012
By 
Apollo 11 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
One of the most fantastic books I've come across this year, cooking or otherwise. Crammed with ideas, it's beautifully designed, and written with real passion. This is one of those cookbooks I'm pleased I've discovered, and know is going to stay with me for a lifetime. It is also fantastic value (more than worth the money, honestly, given the amount of content). And being such a well designed book, is one I'm already itching to buy as a present for someone else.

The best cookbooks don't just tantalise - or flatter with fancy design - they're informative, too; they set a balance between education and (let's be honest) entertainment. They'll not only make you want to cook, but they'll also show you how (and why) to achieve things, invariably letting you in on one of those "that's how it's done" tricks your mother or grandmother would have passed down once upon a time: Things like whipping meringues, or how to achieve & why butter should be room temperature, etc. So, hats off to Sweet Tooth, because this is seriously informative.

Broken down into sections, Sweet Tooth covers: Cake, Pastry, Biscuits & Tea Cakes, Meringue, Chocolate, Sugar, Ices, Basic Recipes. The beginning of each, introduces and explains the reasoning behind key techniques (baking with whipped eggs, how to melt chocolate or use a piping horn). Plus, with something like, say, Vanilla Sponge, the initial recipe is followed by a quick Seven Ways With... sub-section, so you can begin to elaborate on basic recipes yourself.

Sweet Tooth is hands-down the most beautifully designed books of the year; a pleasure from the first moment you pick it up. Smart as a cupcake and twice as colourful. Yet, open it up and it's wedged with content, way more than the vast majority of cookbooks. (Jamie set the bar on contemporary cookbooks, but there is a lot of photographs in his by way of padding. Sweet Tooth, however, takes that tone and feel but engages it to deliver more information.) There are excellent recipes, from basic (chocolate cookies or crumbles) to brilliantly out of this world. The latter are only occasional - so it's not one of those books that is great to look at but utterly useless for everyday use. But spread through the book, they help turn Sweet Tooth into a compendium of the baking world, as curated by the clearly very passionate Lily Vanilli.

Must say: if you're a chap (like me), don't be put off by this, thinking it's a book for women. It's not. Yes, it's got that contemporary cupcake meets burlesque aesthetic going on, but, honestly, this is cooking gold.

Cannot recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
The best baking book out there! Great descriptions at the beginning about the basic, amazing recipes and beautiful decoration ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery
£7.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews