Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have a sweet tooth and this book is Sweet!
When I saw Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth on here I pre-ordered it right away and impatiently waited for it to arrive! And now it's here!!

Lily's approach to baking and decorating are a real inspiration to me.
I like her simple yet classy decorations with the focus more on the cake, tart, etc...
It's just nice to see a baking book free of fondant covered...
Published on 9 Sept. 2012 by LiSa

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh...
This recipe book looks lovely, but I'm disappointed in the recipes. There is not a lot I really want to make, and too many pages of 'variations' for toppings, icing...
The 2 cakes I have made out of it so far have been pretty underwhelming. I don't know why but this just isn't doing it for me.
Published 6 months ago by Claire


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have a sweet tooth and this book is Sweet!, 9 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
When I saw Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth on here I pre-ordered it right away and impatiently waited for it to arrive! And now it's here!!

Lily's approach to baking and decorating are a real inspiration to me.
I like her simple yet classy decorations with the focus more on the cake, tart, etc...
It's just nice to see a baking book free of fondant covered cakes.
(I hate fondant, it's disgusting and the amount of handling in peoples hands make me cringe. I am a self proclaimed germaphobe!)

Even though I knew I was going to love this book before I even got it, nothing could prepare me for the awesomeness of this book! The layout is very modern and she goes into some of the science of baking- which, as she says, will help with your baking because once you understand how things work you can play a bit more. There are plenty of pictures to accompany the recipes. I have a long list of must makes although I could easily make everything in this book!

Here are a few of the recipes I am drooling over:
Bitter Chocolate Orange Cake
Chocolate Avocado Cake
Porter Cake
Passionfruit Ganache Tarts
Spiced Apple Custard Tarts
Biscuit Brownies
Baked Apple Cider Doughnuts
Candy Floss Meringues
Pecan Brittle
Watermelonade
Absinthe and Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

On the front cover Gizzi Erskine (food writer and TV presenter) is quoted as saying 'Lily's cakes and pastries are inspired - they look beautiful and taste extraordinary, Sweet Tooth is the only baking book you will ever need.' and I completely agree with her, especially the second part. If you don't own a single baking book and you're looking for one that has it all, this one could quite possibly be the one for you!!
If you want to see pictures of the book visit my blog [...] I will also be updating as and when I try out some of these amazing looking recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a classic!!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
Great product and true to its description, quick delivery and well packaged - would definatelty recommend this to future buyers.
Book has lovely graphics and makes sophisticated baking feel very "homely" and easy! This book should be on everyone's shelf as a baking classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Modern Mrs Beeton, 11 April 2013
By 
Miss Kitt (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
Fabulous book! Brilliant presentation and incredibly informative. It reminded me of Mrs Beeton's book in the way that it explain's why certain steps of the recipe's are important, the science behind the recipe. Not only does Lily give some fantastic recipe's and flavour idea's but she also gives the reader the knowledge and confidence to stray from the recipe and make the recipe your own, adjust it to suit your own tastes. I really do feel that if you read this book cover to cover you'd know everything you'd ever need to know about baking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and decadent; unusual ingredients and spectacular decoration, 9 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
This is a gorgous tome of a book, from the pastel and gold cover and pink-edged pages to the glorious photography inside. As anyone who's visited Lily's bakery will know, the focus is on outstanding presentation as well as delicious cakes.

The recipes in here do not disappoint,and celebrate unusual ingredients. They are divided into the following sections:

CAKES such as Bitter Chocolate Orange Cake, Beetroot Cake, Flourless Oreo Cake, Chocolate Avocado Cake and Margarita Drizzle Cake
PASTRY, with her gorgeous little Bakewells, Passionfruit Ganache Tarts and Rhubarb Tarts with Chilli and Ginger
BISCUITS AND TEACAKES including Biscuit Brownies, Baked Apple Cider Doughnuts, Hackney Buns and Chelsea Buns
MERINGUE - the bright pink Candy Floss Meringues look divine
CHOCOLATE - Chocolate and Pecan Truffles, Ganache Tarts with Honeycomb and Absinthe Hot Chocolate
SUGAR - Pecan Brittle, Caremelised Popcorn and Watermelonade
ICES - Mango & Mint, Coffee & Pecan and Brownie Chunk.

Decoration is key so Lily also teaches you how to make brightly coloured sugar shards, crystallised flowers, various buttercreams, ganache, coulis, and ways with both fresh and candied fruit, whipped cream and glitter to make your cakes spectacular showpieces that Marie Antoinette would be proud of.

She also includes a lot of practical, science-y but straightforward information about everything from how to know you're doing your pastry right to how to fill a piping bag. It is, in short, a masterclass in decadence and above all deliciousness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most artistically gorgeous cake book ever!, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
This is one of the most beautiful, inspiring and imaginatively presented set of baking recipes in my book collection. It makes for the ultimate gift especially for a young baker as it is thorough yet tantalizingly beautiful. Even turning the magenta edged pages is a pleasurable experience comparable only to indulging in the earthly delight of actually eating one of these beautiful creations perhaps even the Red Velvet Cake. Everyone who adores baking should own this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Tooth, 23 Sept. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don't believe it is possible to ever have too many cookery books. I really enjoy looking through them - whatever their subject matter. This book is no exception. The photographs are luscious and will have you itching to make the cakes pictured. In this book the subject is mainly sweet things as suggested by the title but there are a few savoury items to add a little savour to the sweetness.

The book starts off with some information about how `Lily Vanilli' started in business - selling her cakes on a market stall. She was fortunate enough to be spotted by a food writer and to be written up in The Times and the rest, as they say, is history. There is a useful introduction to the book which covers ingredients and equipment and then the recipes are divided into the following sections:
Cake
Pasty
Biscuits and Tea Cakes
Meringue
Chocolate
Sugar
Ices
Basic Recipes

There is also a short list of suppliers, a glossary and an index.

The recipes are for cakes, large and small and sweets as well as ice cream and chocolates and a few examples of how to decorate cakes if you are not an expert with a piping bag. Many of the recipes are for cakes you might want to make when entertaining but there are plenty of others which could become everyday favourites such as Brownies, Shortbread or Scones. There are recipes for desserts such as Gooseberry and Rhubarb Crumble, Bread and Butter Pudding and Sherry Trifle.

I was particularly struck by the inclusion of what to me are unusual ingredients in some of the cake recipes such as beetroot and parsnip as well as chilli and avocado. These may not appeal to everyone but they're certainly worth trying at least once. If you are interested in baking and desserts and want some ideas for something different then try this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes, divine pictures, great instructions, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Mrs. Lucy King "Story worm" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
This book is not for those new to baking - but having said that the instructions are really clear and specific. As an experienced home baker, who has dozens of books on the subject, this one has gone to the top of my list - everything I have made from it has been absolutely delicious - honestly the best choc chip cookies I have EVER made! All the baking favourites, meringues, sponge cakes and brownies, are here but the recipes all have a fresh take on them which really works (and this is from someone who bakes the same old Delia cakes and brownies again and again because everyone loves them and is usually reluctant to try new things)... If in doubt buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet tooth, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
bought this for my daughter in law for christmas. she's a very keen cook and bakes lovely cakes. she hadn't heard of this book though. my daughter had bought it for some of her friends who are also keen cakebakers and recommended it.
lots of new ideas and easy to make - very good price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book a dentists appointment right now!, 18 Oct. 2012
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Things I like about this book.

- Lovely mint green cover with gold writing and cakestand!

- Girly pink-edged pages.

- Unusual recipes I hadn't seen before (spiced apple custard tarts, quince tart with star anise, pink grapefruit, almond and brown sugar tea cakes).

- Not just baking covered - sweets, ice creams and drinks also included (honeycomb, watermelonade, candy jewels, whisky truffles)

- Good photography with a pic of virtually every recipe.

- Supplier list for slightly harder to source ingredients like spelt flour and edible flowers.

Things I don't like.

- My oven is broken :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a fantastic book. Lily's baking has a unique style, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. Lily's baking has a unique style, which I love. Her recipes are high quality, well written, and the results are full of flavour. They are modern and creative (there's nothing twee or boring in here), but easy to follow and reliable. The book also includes a lot of information about how different baking methods work, and tips to ensure that everything turns out well. As someone with a science background, I really appreciate this kind of information, but you definitely don't need a science background to appreciate it, as it's written in a very accessible way. Another plus is that the food styling and photography are lovely, which contributes to making it a very enjoyable read (it's a terrible let down of a good recipe book when the photography is poor). I use this book all the time, and would wholeheartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lily Vanilli's Sweet Tooth: Recipes and Tips from a Modern Artisan Bakery
£7.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews