Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant
I thought this book was really excellent. It is hugely enjoyable and brilliantly written - engrossing, funny and extremely wise and shrewd about its subject and its characters.

The narrative has been well summarized here and elsewhere: briefly, Billy Lynn and his fellow soldiers of Bravo squad were filmed in a heroic firefight in Iraq and the Bush...
Published on 27 Jan. 2013 by Sid Nuncius

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea but nothing really happens
Before I write a review, I must confess that although this looked like a novel I might enjoy, it probably isn't a book/subject I would ever easily idenitfy with. Others have, and will.

Billy is the central characters is one of the 'Bravos'; a team of soldiers returned from the Iraq war, having distinguished themselves to the point of becoming celebrities. Back...
Published 5 months ago by Frances Stott


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the American psyche, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book a bit opaque when I started reading, but it was worth persevering. Eloquent, original and credible - and, for a foreigner such as myself, a fascinating insight into the American psyche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A belter, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk (Hardcover)
A cracker of a novel,my pick of the year so far.The film rights will go for zillions and if it's cast properly,will be a smash.Great dialogue and characters you warm to.Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read some average books lately but this one is great and has reignited my belief in quality writing, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read some average books lately but this one is great and has reignited my belief in quality writing.a simple premise but magnificently executed. Highly recommemded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected, 11 Nov. 2014
I came across this book as it was recommended following reading another title. Disappointing read. For me it was disjointed with characters without much depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read. Gives you a different perspective on a soldier's life experiences. Bought it after it was reviewed on Radio 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Billy is a fine creation., 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found this increasingly compelling and a fascinating insight into the American psyche. Billy is a fine creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anti war, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So well written and haven't read anything quite so powerful in a long time.A very wise 19 year old dude
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A damning indictment of the politics of war, 5 July 2012
This review is from: Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk (Hardcover)
Ben Fountain has written a great story and a a great indictment of the politics of the Iraq war (well great if it agree with your view of it - I imagine it doesn't make the neo-cons so happy!).

It shows just how screwball some peoples' priorities can be - look at the way professional sportsmen are treated compared to the poorly paid soldiers who put their lives on the line to defend their country's ideals.

I absolutely loved this book - it is full of a lot if insight. Some of this insight is laid out for you and some you have to work a little harder to dig up and I'm sure I've missed a lot - maybe I'll find it on the re-read which I will be starting soon. And don't be put off by the comparisons to Catch 22 - I tried to read Catch 22 for the first time after reading Billy Lynn but didn't like it so gave up. You don't have to like Catch 22 to love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars America examining itself again., 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good, humorous, yet serious anti war anti-capitalist book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fruitcake of a novel, 22 July 2012
This review is from: Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk (Hardcover)
The premise of this book is so interesting - set over the course of one day, in fact one football match, it looks at America, patriotism, war, heroes, pagentry, Hollywood... it is like a fruitcake, dense, rich and satisfying. I read it in one sitting, but will definitely read it again. I confidently expect to find it rewards re-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk
Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain (Hardcover - 5 July 2012)
Used & New from: £1.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews