Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have been longing for this book, and here it is!
As a GP who likes to think, and prescribe, out of the box, this is a perfect reference book. I have already bought it several times as I keep giving it away to GP colleagues and other friends. They too are enjoying the comfort of knowing that whatever dilemma you face in life, it has been faced before by many others, and luckily by some people who can write about it more...
Published 11 months ago by FuturehealthBrighton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars This product is great!
this review has roughly 20 words which is an excellent number and should satisfy all the review moderators at least one hopes.
Published 7 days ago by ryp_auto_unreviewed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have been longing for this book, and here it is!, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
As a GP who likes to think, and prescribe, out of the box, this is a perfect reference book. I have already bought it several times as I keep giving it away to GP colleagues and other friends. They too are enjoying the comfort of knowing that whatever dilemma you face in life, it has been faced before by many others, and luckily by some people who can write about it more eloquently than you can. Marvellous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for Bibliophiles!, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the ultimate Christmas list book, curl up in a corner with it.... do you have a headache, cold, fever...this book gives you the perfect read for every ailment.

Find old friends and make some new ones inside the covers of this wonderful book.

I think I need a Bibliotherapist in my life :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every avid reader should read this book, and so should non-readers to learn what they're missing, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
Every avid reader should buy this book, and so should non-readers to learn what they're missing.

The idea is to suggest novels to read that might act as a "cure" for an amazingly comprehensive list of emotional, psychological, serious and trivial problems, or, at least take one's mind off them. According to Wikipedia, "bibliotherapy" is a technique known even to the ancient Greeks, and was much used after World War 2 in the treatment of soldiers.
I think it was Frank Muir who said he read a medical dictionary, and found he had every disease "except frontispiece and xenophobia". Well this book lists everything from abandonment to zestlessness - including xenophobia, and recommends a novel remedy for every one! It is written in the most delightful light-hearted and witty style and the way in which each "problem" is defined and analysed by the authors, even before the "cure" is suggested betrays a remarkable understanding and experience of human life.
I haven't read a novel for years, but will definitely begin again as soon as I can get a copy of Caribou Island, 6.47 from Amazon, the cure for DIY, an affliction of mine, for which the entry reads:

"If you are feeling an irresistible urge to build that lean-to, customise your IKEA unit, or sandblast your patio, make sure a copy of Caribou Island is sitting just inside your toolkit, ideally between you and the drill. After you read this, the absolute folly of attempting DIY will become indisputable."

But apart from this, there are, in effect excellent reviews of at least 300 novels, and so even those believing they have no worries at all can use this as an excellent compendium of ideas for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a gift, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
This is a great gift for people who love to read. A fun new way to think about reading too - have been enjoying dipping into it and am getting excited about reading again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Novel Cure, 19 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
This is a really original book which 'prescribes' novels for various ailments, some serious, some trivial. The recommendations are written in a witty and insightful way.

It is perfect for someone like me who loves reading but finds choosing the right book a challenge. Enjoyable for a quick browse and as an ongoing reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
Fabulous....picked this up after a talk by the authors at the School of Life (London), which also offers personalised 'bibliotherapy' consultations to marry your reading preferences and current life experiences to a customised proposed reading list, and have since bought more copies to give as gifts! A wonderful book. Now all I need to do is set about reading some of the proposals (and saving up for a bibliotherapy session of my own!). Definite winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
I bought this book for someone who loves reading, so it is perfect. Product arrived in great condition and was lovely and clean. thankyou!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really 'novel' book, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present but loved it so much that I am going to keep it. Not only is it beautifully presented and laid out but a joy to flick through and expand your literary knowledge. I think we would all like to read different books but don't know what to choose. Well this is the answer. As well as suggestions for every kind of physical and emotional state, there are reading lists for every age, to drown out snoring, to read on a plane, on a train, on the loo, the ten best shocking novels etc. A really brilliant and original book! As Rachel Joyce says above, buy two so you can keep one for yourself and one to give away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a novel book for a novel illness, 26 Oct 2013
By 
ED Farr (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
What a brilliant book. A must for any bookshelf anywhere. Just how do you cure the common cold? Easy, you read a book! This book covers everything with great humour from illnesses to what to do with a "book-a-holic", and how do you read that book which is so tedious you dread picking it up (you don't, quite simply). The authors, Berthoud and Elderkin have done an awful lot of research for this book and it really has paid off.

It is a good read for any individual and would be a good giggle with plenty to offer for conversation for any book club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am in love with this book, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies (Hardcover)
I am in love with this book, and its concept. I firstly bought this for myself as a book lover, but then went on to buy it for my English Literature teacher. We both find this book both ridiculous and fabulous. This is one of those books that I will keep on my desk for years to come. It is definitely worth investing, especially if you fancy a little giggle at some of the ridiculous ailments included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies
The Novel Cure: An A to Z of Literary Remedies by Ella Berthoud (Hardcover - 5 Sep 2013)
12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews