Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read
This is a great book and I can't recommend it strongly enough. Loved everthing about it; great plot, great characters, great dialogue, brilliant evocation of seemier side to Glasgow, beautiful obsevation and none of the self consciously "fine writing" that spoils so many new British novels, nice and meaty and real. Nice use of quotations too and I really enjoyed all the...
Published on 7 Aug 2002

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric
An atmospheric thriller, based upon an auctioneer's discovery of violent pornographic photographs during a house clearance, with homosexuality, brooding sexual tension and an ever-present sense of imminent menace thrown in for good measure.

Louise Welsh has a light touch in her writing, lending a subtlety to the dark and troubling scenes she creates;...
Published on 11 Sep 2006 by G. L. Haggett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing!, 7 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I normally love books set in contemporary Scotland, big fan of Irvine Welsh, James Kelman etc. So was expecting good things after several people recommended this book to me. While it was an easy and quick read, I couldn't help but feeling cheated at the end. I felt the majority of the carachterisation was flat, one-dimensional and stereotypical. The ending was slightly unsatisfactory after the build-up before hand. Most of all, however, is that as a Glaswegian, I couldn't help but cringe every couple of pages at Welsh's waxing lyrical about the city ,obviously almost all her knowledge of the city is centred around the "bohemian" west-end with so many patronising, smug and quite frankly irritating little in-references and nods to places she obviously knows, whereas the rest of the city ie the so-called seedy underbelly of Glasgow is only touched upon in the vaguest sense. Either she has made it up completely or has no idea what she is talking about! Like some of her other work, it seems laboured at points in an attempt to shock or catch the reader off guard, with many scenes unnessecary or innapropriate to the plot. Whereas Irvine Welsh has a natural flair for the vernacular and frame of mind of the subjects of his novels (and an obvious understanding of where they're from! Research is always good, Louise!), the contrast between the 'straight' style of the narrative and the laboured attempts at Scottish slang when some carachters interact seems laboured and sits uneasily,as if she is obviously thinking more of a market outside of Scotland than the emotive heart of the story and its players. Like i said, not a bad book by any means, very readable but equally disappointing. Her latest, the Bullet Trick is better by far, but I would suggest it still suffers from many of the same failings aforementioned here, although not to the same extent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A disturbing and compelling first novel, 29 Feb 2004
By 
A Common Reader "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
Its a rare thing to discover a first novel of this quality. I am tempted to compare Louise Welsh with Dickens, Peter Ackroyd, PD James, and all the other "greats" of fiction. The book is about an auctioneer called Rilke who is asked to clear a deceased person's house and finds some shocking contents. He begins an obsessive quest to solve a fifty year old crime and in the process uncovers many unsavoury facts. Be warned, the book is very explicit and is not for the faint-hearted, but will greatly reward the broad-minded reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A shocking review, 28 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I must have read a different book from the majority of other reviewers, after a promising start I found this book tiresome and predictable. A sloppy, Scottish version of "8mm" springs to mind. The way the author kept slipping into frenetic scottish a la Irvine Welsh was also irritating. All in all there is nothing new here. Considering the subject matter, it was tame and stale and her attempts to shock are, frankly, shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, 9 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
An auctioneer is called to a house clearing to be told by the old lady that there are items in the attic which are 'sensitive' and need to be handled by him alone. Upon finding some seedy material he becomes engrossed in its contents which leads him into the world of pornography, snuff films etc. Being a homosexual himself, we cross paths with his dalliances with youger men met in the park, seen at a window which are a little unbelievable. I flew through this book and found it totally engrossing, however I did find that I could skip past several pages as they were meaningless to the story and she did drone on a little about the descriptions of things, being over descriptive which lost its appeal. I was a little disappointed at the ending and when he rushed to ann maries house and the person was named, I didnt know who it was? and had to spend a minute thinking as he took up all the book in one way and a line in another way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars UNBELIEVABLE THAT THIS WON THREE LITERARY AWARDS, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I found this book on the way back from the doctors a few years ago and late last year, with nothing left to read, I thought I'd give it a go. The first chapter hooked me in. After that, though, I became increasingly bored with it. Welsh can write prose, I'll give her that, but the elevated status that she enjoys ('In Louise Welsh crime fiction has one of its few really literary writers.' Really?) on the back of no less than three literary awards is nothing short of unbelievable. The plot in this novel is thin. Perhaps this was why Welsh deviated from it so often, with whole chapters absolutely nothing to do with it and concerned with nothing more than gay porn. I feel Welsh got away with this because she's a woman writing about a gay man. If the book had been written by a man about a heterosexual man and had had so many lurid sex scenes, it wouldn't have got into print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rare very good read, 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I thought The Cutting Room was a real page turner. I was gripped from page one. I just could not put The Cutting Room book down. Lousie Welsh has very skilfully written this novel. I hope many other readers enjoy reading The Cutting Room as I have. I am now certainly a fan of Lousie's writing.I will buy more novels by Louise Welsh in the future. The Cutting Room I would say is well worth buying. I highly recommend readers this novel by louise Welsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Read Nasty Hero, 13 Dec 2002
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
This an excellent story beautifully written in an easy to read style. The characters leap out of the book and it is a real page turner. But the book was spoilt for me by one of Rilke's sexual escapades described in harsh detail. I just thought it was not necessary for the plot. I suppose if a book is about a gay auctioneer searching for information about a collector of pornographic photographs one should be prepared for anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cutting room, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
The book arrived swiftly and in good condition. Interesting story but not as explicit as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incoherent, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
This reads like a collage of bits attempted and abandoned, with no natural movenment from scene to scene. Even within scenes there are flaws of continuity that just should not have made it into production. The characters are like peripheral images of cliches of the genre, but this is by mistake rather than design and is part of the incoherence. Generally impossible to become immersed in the book as you keep noticing a contrivance or a failed attempt.
I am astonished that it has won prizes, although nowadays I shouldn't be, particularly when they are awarded by the Guardian. Pah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cutting Room
The Cutting Room by Louise Welsh (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews