Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read
This is a great book and I can't recommend it strongly enough. Loved everthing about it; great plot, great characters, great dialogue, brilliant evocation of seemier side to Glasgow, beautiful obsevation and none of the self consciously "fine writing" that spoils so many new British novels, nice and meaty and real. Nice use of quotations too and I really enjoyed all the...
Published on 7 Aug. 2002

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric
An atmospheric thriller, based upon an auctioneer's discovery of violent pornographic photographs during a house clearance, with homosexuality, brooding sexual tension and an ever-present sense of imminent menace thrown in for good measure.

Louise Welsh has a light touch in her writing, lending a subtlety to the dark and troubling scenes she creates;...
Published on 11 Sept. 2006 by G. L. Haggett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars an exceptionally well written first novel, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Kindle Edition)
I deliberately returned to the beginning and bought her first novel, after reading the Speccie Review of her latest Oeuvre. So glad I did. Such fun and gaiety are seldom present in a first novel, leading into an ever darker search of the mind and needs of oneself.
Onward to the next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average read..., 1 July 2004
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Hardcover)
Throughout, the author shows her ability to use language in a lyrical, sophisticated manner but I'm afraid this is spoilt too often by the more clumsy aspects of her writing style. I agree with the reviewer from Cambridge-Welsh has a habit of telling the reader facts blatantly, without any subtlety and this gets tiresome. I felt as if my intelligence was being insulted. The outcome of the book is also rather disappointing-I would debate the genre of 'crime novel' here. Crime is present but this book will not satisfy those who like a bit of mystery or suspense and these are aspects which you would hope to find within a crime novel, especially one that has won awards. If you like whodunnits, this isn't for you. However, despite all that, I must note that this is a debut novel and I would expect Welsh to improve with future works. Some parts of this book showed her writing talents better than others-she needs to find a medium between her romantic, over-the-top and her blatant, simple styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Right Good Read, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Kindle Edition)
This was an intriguing, thought provoking read. Welsh relates a seedier side of life as the norm; maybe it is. I didn't give it 5 stars because it wasn't a compulsive read but it was very enjoyable with lots of colourful characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars distinctive, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Kindle Edition)
Unusual protagonist, gay, dishonest and a bit creepy set in an almost unbelievable unsuccessful Glasgow auctioneers. The interesting plot is well explained and intriguing though solved at a bit of a gallop. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good start, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Kindle Edition)
Love writing style. Difficult subject matter - images stayed with me for days! Thought opening chapters were brilliant but in middle I lost interest. But still finished it. Will try more by author as enjoy her writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cutting Room, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
Borrowed this book from the library and I adored it. I had to have it for my collection. Fantabulous book and I've re-read it twice so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent with a few niggles, 14 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
This book gripped me from the beginning and I couldn't put it down despite the sluggish writing in the middle. I liked Rilke as the main protagonist and his desire to find out the reality behind what he finds at a house clearance is engrossing.

However, as other reviewers have pointed out, there is a bit of exposition that could have either been a bit more cleverly disguised or not included at all - for the latter, the part where two characters are shown to be siblings through them both talking about 'mum'; this did not need a third character saying 'yes, they are brother and sister'. That was just redundant.

I did struggle a bit with the middle where Rilke's actions didn't have anything to do with moving the plot forward, however my desire to know what happened kept me going, although I skimmed some of his meanderings. Also he meets with a bit of a mad bloke and has an extended scene with him - what was that about?

Part of the ending confused me when there was a revelation about a character I did not remember and still am not quite sure where they had been mentioned earlier.

So, yes, quite a few niggles!However the story, the main character and the writing itself kept me interested and I felt this was a quality read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the cutting room, 29 May 2010
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book as I live in Glasgow where the story was set and I could relate to the places mentioned in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars overrated - a disappointment, 27 April 2004
By 
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I continue to be appalled that this book has won three prizes for its author. It may be considered a good debut, compared to others which are truly abysmal, but is amateurishly written to a point where I found myself laughing every five pages at another clunker of a line - whether it be forced, unnatural dialogue or painfully unsubtle exposition. Actually,when it comes to conveying facts to the reader through dialogue, the author sets a new low (among my reading) for having characters say things which are totally inappropriate just to have the reader know something which the writer is too unsophisticated to express by any other means. "I have a masters in fine art..." a sister tells her brother - because the author wants to tell us, the reader, this - failing to realise that brothers tend to already know such things about their sisters and that such exchanges are therefore.... I can't go on. I've lost all energy,just thinking about this thing. Buy an Elmore Leonard instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars UNBELIEVABLE THAT THIS WON THREE LITERARY AWARDS, 17 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I found this book on the way back from the doctors a few years ago and late last year, with nothing left to read, I thought I'd give it a go. The first chapter hooked me in. After that, though, I became increasingly bored with it. Welsh can write prose, I'll give her that, but the elevated status that she enjoys ('In Louise Welsh crime fiction has one of its few really literary writers.' Really?) on the back of no less than three literary awards is nothing short of unbelievable. The plot in this novel is thin. Perhaps this was why Welsh deviated from it so often, with whole chapters absolutely nothing to do with it and concerned with nothing more than gay porn. I feel Welsh got away with this because she's a woman writing about a gay man. If the book had been written by a man about a heterosexual man and had had so many lurid sex scenes, it wouldn't have got into print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cutting Room
The Cutting Room by Louise Welsh (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews