Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read
This is a great book and I can't recommend it strongly enough. Loved everthing about it; great plot, great characters, great dialogue, brilliant evocation of seemier side to Glasgow, beautiful obsevation and none of the self consciously "fine writing" that spoils so many new British novels, nice and meaty and real. Nice use of quotations too and I really enjoyed all the...
Published on 7 Aug 2002

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric
An atmospheric thriller, based upon an auctioneer's discovery of violent pornographic photographs during a house clearance, with homosexuality, brooding sexual tension and an ever-present sense of imminent menace thrown in for good measure.

Louise Welsh has a light touch in her writing, lending a subtlety to the dark and troubling scenes she creates;...
Published on 11 Sep 2006 by G. L. Haggett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 11 Sep 2006
By 
G. L. Haggett "glynlhaggett" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
An atmospheric thriller, based upon an auctioneer's discovery of violent pornographic photographs during a house clearance, with homosexuality, brooding sexual tension and an ever-present sense of imminent menace thrown in for good measure.

Louise Welsh has a light touch in her writing, lending a subtlety to the dark and troubling scenes she creates; relationships, both on the one-to-one level of brute sexual desire and in the wider sense of man's relationship to man, are convincingly portrayed.

Two rather stilted homilies towards the end of the book, on people trafficking and the behaviour during the Orange Walk, therefore sit rather uneasily in the context.

All in all, however, this is a satisfyingly challenging read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 7 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
This is a great book and I can't recommend it strongly enough. Loved everthing about it; great plot, great characters, great dialogue, brilliant evocation of seemier side to Glasgow, beautiful obsevation and none of the self consciously "fine writing" that spoils so many new British novels, nice and meaty and real. Nice use of quotations too and I really enjoyed all the references to Romanticism and Scottish literature (The drinks bar is called Gilmartin's, from the Justified Sinner). I can't remember reading a new book that was so generous to the reader in providing plain old fashioned reading pleasure, there's even (rarest of joys) a great ending with a real sense of closure. Just fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very different VERY good, 5 Sep 2003
By 
Jo (haverhill, suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I have never read a book like this before! All the characters are dark and interesting with shady pasts or little secrets. The main character spends his spare time looking for chance encounters in the park or gents toilets, yet he also manages to grip you to the storyline and you end up feeling for all the characters no matter their personality or preferences.
This book had me hooked from the first page! If you want a novel that is fresh and original you MUST read this. I cant wait to see what she writes next!
The ending caught me totally unawares!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very dark...., 30 Oct 2011
By 
Wynne Kelly "Kellydoll" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Louise Welsh is a talented writer - although I have to say that this book shouted "literary crime fiction" a bit too loudly in parts. However the atmosphere of Glasgow is brilliantly portrayed especially the interior of buildings. The plot is intriguing. An auctioneer is asked to clear the house of a dead man and finds a collection of disturbing pornographic photographs. He becomes fascinated by these and finds himself drawn towards tracking down the young female victim.

Most of the characters were, unfortunately, rather unpleasant and unattractive. The hero being a homosexual is no problem but the hero having predatory tendencies and a rather unsavoury sex life make him less appealing!

Recommended for those who like their crime fiction dark and with graphic sex.....

Plus: a brilliant narration by Robert Carlyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above the rest, 9 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
This book restored my faith in crime fiction! A dark story, set in a dark city, with a wonderfully dysfunctional hero. Beautifully written and tensely plotted, this is a class act for a first novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 28 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I came upon it by chance and purchased it after reading the reviews on Amazon, half believing the claims, but from the first page I was hooked. The story (both in style and content), is so different from any other crime thriller I've read, that I couldn't wait to get back to it to see what twist or turn the plot would take. I found the main character, Rilke, endearing in a very seedy sort of way. I thought that the author's very clever style of writing (from the point of view of Rilke) made me think of the old 40s black-and-white detective movies where the detective talks over the action, telling the viewer what's going on in his head! Nevertheless, this novel has a very gritty, earthy, powerful feel to it and it is like no other novel I've read. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different and dark, 22 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
A different novel - if only because it has a rather unlovable 'protagonist' rather than a narrator or hero. Dark, obsessive and unusual, this book is one you will be sorry to finish and the author one whose future work you will await with eager interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ran out of steam, 7 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Kindle Edition)
The initial set-up is very good -- the grimy characters, the rainy city, the big mysterious house with the big mysterious attic, the disturbing secrets -- and I stayed with it until I was about halfway through, knowing it wasn't exactly spectacular but entertaining nonetheless.

After that, it runs out of steam a bit and started to feel a bit overwritten until near the end when a room full of new characters is introduced at great length and you just know none of these people are going to be important so don't feel at all guilty in skipping. The end itself felt out of focus with the rest of the book.

A decent introduction to Welsh's writing and despite my disappointment with the end, I look forward to reading more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good & Bad, but a tale worth hearing, 30 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Paperback)
I expected great things from this novel, but didn't quite get them all.

There are both poor and excellent elements to "The Cutting Room"; the storyline itself is gripping & intriguing, Welsh's dialogue (although at times unconvincing dialect) is compelling & some of her characters genuinely interesting.

However, I felt much of her narration and description was too contrived. Considering the first person narrative, there were lengthy descriptive passages, not particularly evocative ones at that, which detracted from the pace of the story and did little to set the scene or make Welsh's Glasgow come alive.

The background characters were unappealing and irritating, but I found myself drawn to Rilke, the protagonist, and wanting to know more about him.

Overall, I would definitely recommend it as a read (though not a lengthy one; I am not a quick reader, and I devoured it in two evenings) for the following reasons: the girl-in-the-photographs storyline, the self-destructive Rilke &, if you like that sort of thing, the somewhat graphic accounts of his evening activities. Don't expect marvellousness, and you may even be irritated at times, but the story is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars irritating and forced, 24 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Cutting Room (Hardcover)
I'll start with the positive: this book was very readable from the start and some of the characters were at times endearing. However I found the haphazard inclusion of Glasweigan dialogue so contrived. Maybe this wouldn't be a problem for someone outside of Scotland but the little cultural references stood out a mile and seemed so out of place (as opposed to say in an Irvine Welsh book) as to totally detract from the book.
For me the charaters were often unconvincing and stereotypical, culminating in the final chapter/auction scene - I found it painful to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cutting Room
The Cutting Room by Louise Welsh (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews