Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beauty is in the details
Simon's Cat made it's name with black and white line drawings and animations. But for the first time in book form, Simon's Cat vs the World boldly departs from the tried and tested, proven formula, and goes full colour. It could be said to be a bit of a gamble. But it is a gamble that pays off.

A full page is now devoted to each gag, now beautifully illustrated...
Published 17 months ago by A. Proctor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the cats meow
I am a huge fan of Simon Tofield's cat, however this book has not done for me what the other three have, it tells no stories. They are simply one page wonders of the cat versus something. I empathised as a cat owner with so many of the cartoons in the past books (especially trying to takee the cat to the vet and also the cat drinking from the bathroom sink), this just...
Published 16 months ago by The Pez


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beauty is in the details, 8 Feb 2013
By 
A. Proctor (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
Simon's Cat made it's name with black and white line drawings and animations. But for the first time in book form, Simon's Cat vs the World boldly departs from the tried and tested, proven formula, and goes full colour. It could be said to be a bit of a gamble. But it is a gamble that pays off.

A full page is now devoted to each gag, now beautifully illustrated in full colour. This may seem like you are getting fewer gags for your buck - and indeed the book is slimmer than previous editions - but don't be misled. Because firstly, with full page full colour spreads, this book has clearly needed far more work than a collection of small line drawings might - meaning we actually get MORE for our money. And secondly, the new format works.

Simon's Cat has been transformed into a work of colourful delight (which incidentally is more likely to appeal to children). Many of the pages are drawn, coloured and shaded quite sublimely - little works of art in their own right. More importantly, Simon's strong points are in his observational humour and his attention to detail, and the full page format lends itself to this perfectly. Each page is a short story all in itself, with little incidentals going on all around the main action. Gags within gags, if you will. Simon has filled his pages with little observations and jokes, some of which you may even miss on first viewing. Go back and look again!

The supporting cast has grown as the books have gone on and Simon has made more and more use of them as the series has progressed. With the full page format this cast has come into it's own. Each bird and hedgehog and rabbit - and the gnome of course! - has his own character, his own reaction to the goings on, and few illustrations are as simple as "What is Simon's Cat doing?" How his friends are reacting around him, what else is transpiring behind him, is just as humourous. In fact, in my opinion, it is the supporting cast, and their reactions, and all the little details going on BEHIND Simon's Cat, that makes this volume such a gem.

I love this book and (rather obviously) highly recommend it.

One last word though: Aren't we rather overdue a DVD or three?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful coloured hardcover, 7 Nov 2012
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
Beautiful hardcover, first one I know of in full color!
It stays very original, funny, with nice drawings, subtile (water?)colouring. Especially if you love drawings and/or cats.

Less important and subjective:
Now he writes the topic of the page in words on the bottom of the page, I think it's better when the drawing speaks for itself,
except for the "... monday" "... tuesday" ones, there it enhances the meaning of the drawing!

miw!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fan of Simon's Cat, 5 Nov 2012
By 
Martine Guillot (Lyon, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
A fan of Simon's cat, I'll try to be objective ;-) I just loved Simon's Cat Vs. the World! I have so much fun with each of the books in this series. Long live Simon and his Cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
High quality print and covers. The book is very nice and funny!
Simon's cat shows exactly the antics of cats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Birthday present, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
I coupled this book with a few other Simon's Cat products as a birthday gift for a friend who loves cats (and Simon's) but cannot have them in the place he currently lives. He was really happy with it so I assume this was a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Present, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift for my partner as he has all the Simon's Cat books. This one was just as funny as the others and makes a perfect addition to his collection. The book came in perfect condition, very shiny glossy cover and was packaged well and delivered quickly. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for cat lovers of all ages., 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
'Simon's Cat' cartoons are very funny and suitable for anyone of any age who knows cats. I bought this item as a 4th birthday present for my grandson because he demands to watch it on You Tube whenever he visits me, and he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is absolutely amazing and funny. I gave it a five star rating because it's so funny. I would recommend it to cat lovers with a sense of humour. =-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat in a Million, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
What can I say - another instalment from the funniest cat ever - a must for all cat owners, just so they can identify with the
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars looks great!, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon's Cat Vs. the World! (Hardcover)
Lot of work went into this book to make it look great, which made it lose a little in content compared to the others, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simon's Cat Vs. the World!
Simon's Cat Vs. the World! by Simon Tofield (Hardcover - 4 Oct 2012)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews