Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the Michelin Starred!
Never before have I hurt laughing at a cookery book- after a misspent youth working in the industry I could certainly identify with nearly every story & character. Each section starts with a little memoire followed by recipes. In some reviews there is a bit of criticism of the swearing, in the rough tumble of professional kitchens it really is to be expected, In my...
Published 5 months ago by Lady KFP

versus
9 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, some nice recipes but.
.. This was bought for me as a present as I like to watch this chef cook on tv. Some lovely food in this book with great photos but with no indication of what to expect prior to purchase, I personally could have done without the very colourful language throughout the book. Even Gordon Ramsey doesn't swear like that in print!
Published 7 months ago by Rach34


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the Michelin Starred!, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
Never before have I hurt laughing at a cookery book- after a misspent youth working in the industry I could certainly identify with nearly every story & character. Each section starts with a little memoire followed by recipes. In some reviews there is a bit of criticism of the swearing, in the rough tumble of professional kitchens it really is to be expected, In my opinion this reflects that Glynn Purnell has remained true, and is not presenting some sanitised PR version of himself.

Some of the recipes are certainly not for beginners and are more for the adventurous/experimental cook, but there are a few which are more basic and do-able by a less confident cook. As explained in the forward you can always take ideas from the recipes and adapt it to your own dishes, so it can be as simple or complex as you want. I made the Bakewell Tart- and have to admit it came out really well following the books instructions and is something I will make again, & there are a couple of other things bookmarked for free weekend (pork scatching calamari). You would probably have to plan ahead to make some of the dishes, I don't think that they are really spur of the moment.

The writing style is really informal and relaxed. It is as if Glynn Purnell were chatting to you as his mate rather than giving a set of instructions, and that he wouldn't mind if came out as a disaster. In my head I started reading it with a Brummie accent!

I loved this book and am happy to give it 5 stars if only for the description of Sat Baines pyjamas, escaped attack lobsters and the story of the breakfast chef wrestling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 15 Jun 2014
By 
IOWRob (Isle of Wight, Uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
Big fan of Glynn Purnell and have eaten at Purnell's a couple of times so when I heard he was writing a book I was really looking forward to it. The book is very good and it was great to see so many of the dishes I have eaten are in the book and for the most part doable by the average home cook. As much as I enjoyed the stories I agree with another reviewer that theres a time and place for swearing I didn't see the point of it in the book, it doesn't add anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have over 300 cook books in my collection, I cook everyday from family meals to posh nosh this is by far the best., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
This book is very different from most cook books, if you enjoy cooking or just looking through cook books for inspiration this is a 100% must have. The recipes are clear precise and follow in a logical order with ingredients that are readily avalible. The most important thing in any cook book in my opinion is the end result ie the food on the plate. Get this book try it for your selfs then post on here to others the results you have.

I look forward to more books from the Yummie Brummie that is the kitchen master Chef Glynn Purnnell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
Great read, combining good food, classic stories and Glynn's humour. Includes a number of recipes from his award winning restaurants, as well as those that are slightly easier for those with slightly smaller kitchens and budgets!

Already a star, one of the best new food books around - here is hoping it propels his unique humour and style of cooking to the next level.

Very humble guy and shows through in this book - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars salmonnaaahhh, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
This book is a work of art. So many delicious recipies and interesting stories that you won't put it down and will want to read over and over again. Being a brummie myself i am inspired by chef Purnell and think that he food he cooks is original, smart pure genuis. I hopefully can do some more home cooking with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glyn Purnell, Inovative and initiative., 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
Ordered for my Partner, he is an Ex-Chef and loves Glynn Purnell's passion and inventive ness in the kitchen, I like him as he is another Brummie, like me.

The book has over 100 recipes, and lots of colour photos to show how the dish should look, it will give him lots of inspiration to try the recipes out on myself and friends.

Good size book, nice and clear, well worth the money and as its Glyn's first book I am hoping it will be the first of many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
Cracking book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
superb read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec 2014
By 
M. Yarrien (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
Excelent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes (Hardcover)
Great service and a great book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cracking Yolks & Pig Tales: The lid off life in the kitchen with 110 stunning recipes
£9.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews