Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£7.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2013
This is a modern take on French expressions, so much more relevant than anything you learnt at school!Easy to read with amusing anecdotes plus lots of useful tips on how to say what you mean as well as how not to put your foot in it.Useful for anyone holidaying or working in France, or about to host a French exchange student.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Great little book full of wonderful phraseology and how to say some of those strange English sayings in French and still make sense. Really handy not just for anyone wanting some conversational assistance but also a fantastic edition for any A level or under grad french student looking to outsmart their teachers and be super up to date! Nicely illustrated as well.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
An excellent, detailed and amusing account of the different ways the French and English express themselves. The book is neatly laid out, the illustrations are good and this is much more than a dictionary of phrases with explanations for some of the differences. Well worth a read!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
My daughter studied French at University, both here in England and France. Although she goes to France a couple of times a year on holiday, she sometimes feels she has lost the ability to be as one of the locals, so I think this book will be invaluable to her.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Such a funny book and really interesting to see how the two languages say the same thing but with very different phrases. A great book to dip into again and again to make you smile and learn something along the way as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
What a clever little book & such a great gift for all the French neighbours in our life's, gets you talking & understanding the silences when our French neighbours try to translate some of our very strange island sayings...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
This contains so many useful tips for fluent speech in France especially for those whose French is rusty and who are contemplating a visit to France and not wanting to shout English at the natives
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
I had been told about this book by a friend. I live in France and struggle with the language. All my Anglo/French friends are getting one for Christmas - it is hilarious.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I really enjoyed this, sometimes hilarious, collection. Not only are the words and expressions interesting, but also there is a giggle on every page. Vive la difference!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
A good, well-thought out introduction to the argot words that school omits to tell you about. This will be used time and time again in the coming months.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)