Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book!
Some great ideas that I can't wait to try. Would certainly recommend this to a friend. Great pictures and interesting editorial.
Published 9 months ago by Ellie Poore

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice piccies, awful text
Although this book is packed to bursting with lovely photographs the text is appalling! Another reviewer has remarked on the constantly repetitive ( and very, very boring ) use of descriptive nouns and expressions like 'peachy' and 'handy-dandy' and I must concur with their observations. As a helpful guide it is a mere puff of wind, insubstantial, trite, and a bit of a...
Published 22 months ago by B. Scott


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice piccies, awful text, 18 Jan 2013
By 
B. Scott "Bibi" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
Although this book is packed to bursting with lovely photographs the text is appalling! Another reviewer has remarked on the constantly repetitive ( and very, very boring ) use of descriptive nouns and expressions like 'peachy' and 'handy-dandy' and I must concur with their observations. As a helpful guide it is a mere puff of wind, insubstantial, trite, and a bit of a con. Well, a LOT of a con actually. A real let-down. Nice for a Christmas or birthday gift for someone with a passing interest in shabby chic and upcycling but nothing to write home about. Especially to Granny! Very, very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Jan 2013
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
Although this is a pretty book to flick through I didn't find one 'recipe' that I wanted to follow. Found it all a bit twee and the words babyish. Also didn't think the instructions were all that informative - get a teacup, put a wick in it and fill with wax! What about temperature to melt the wax, size/ type of wick, correct type of wax. Just not enough useful info for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money!, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Chantelle Charnley "literary dustbin" (Accrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
I flicked through this in a shop and thought the pictures looked nice, and they do; very pretty indeed. However, there isn't much in the way of inspiration for projects; there are about 9 pages left intentionally blank for you to jot your OWN ideas down; and if I read the words 'handy dandy' or 'peachy' once more, I shan't be held responsible for my actions! I realise every writer has their own style, but what might seem cutesy and cool on a blog is irritating in the extreme in print.

Also, the projects aren't anything you couldn't have thought of yourself. One of them is painted wooden hangers- 'get your hangers; paint them'. And they're called recipes, not projects... All in all, only buy this if you have a very high tolerance for cutesy, twee, coquettish middle-class girlishness. I haven't, and I will probably give this book away to anyone who'll have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very inspiring, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
I really wanted to like this book... I'm sure the two writers are brilliant artists and inspirational people but I there isn't loads of variety in this book and it failed to inspire me. Lots of use of dollies, 3 ideas on sanding down furniture and repainting, 30% of ideas were crocheting.... Of none of those ideas are your thing then its slim-pickings. Also 4-6 pages were left intentionally blank for the reader to jot down ideas, I don't know about other crafters but i have my own book for ideas and sketches so I felt this was a bit naughty really. Really pretty book, well written and with some lovely pictures but overall when it comes to actual craftiness it's a bit of a 'fur coat and no knickers' situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
Some great ideas that I can't wait to try. Would certainly recommend this to a friend. Great pictures and interesting editorial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a cheek!, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
I read about this in a magazine and decided to treat myself, expecting it to be full of instructions for making things. What a joke! Of the around 162 pges, 93 are pictures and there are NINE pages of lined paper for your own notes.I don't think it's "peachy" or "handy dandy." I don't have a tatty old caravan I want to 'decorate' so to have pages of caravan pics instead of "recipes" is a waste of time for most readers.
I was really disappointed in the "recipes" - eg, get some wooden hangers and paint them. Well, I really need a book to tell me that!
My copy arrived from Amazon last week, price £11.25 and I saw a pile in Bargain Books yesterday at £5.99 each. Even that is too dear in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, pretty, pretty...., 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
I recently became a grandmother so when I saw the word "granny" I just had to buy it. This book is beautifully bound and eye candy to see.

What else can I say? I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 20 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
Beautiful book full of great ideas !! It's inspired me to make 2 cushions already !!
Love it love it love it

Michele Cooper A knitting nutter !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting & Attractively Produced, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Y. K. Autie (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
A lovely read with some tempting techniques for interested sewers. For anyone working with recycled fabrics, hand-me-down trims etc. this is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lots of Inspiration, 2 Nov 2012
By 
Selina Lake (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes (Paperback)
a lovely book with gorgeous photography by Catherine Gratwicke, great crafty makes and a wonderful design.
Well worth buying if you love vintage florals, handmade craft ideas, I'm going to have a go at making the make-do dishcloths!
Thanks Tif & Rachelle for creating such a fab book X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Granny Chic: Crafty recipes & inspiration for the handmade home from dottie angel and ted & agnes
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews