Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2012
Its rare to find a cook book that you would want to make every recipe in it . And this is it, a wonderful book that you will want to return to daily. It is, as it states in the title, easy, inspiring and very mindful of all of us on a budget.
I have bought Sophie Wright's other cook books before and have made many of her recipes, all of which have turned out just as described and even more amazing, as pictured. This one has only just arrived and I am already planning the weeks menus for the family. What is great is that most of the store cupboard ingredients most people will have already and are not extravagant to buy if you don't have them. Most importantly, the recipes appear to be very well balanced nutritionally and show this chefs extraordinary talent in producing food that looks great , tastes amazing, is healthy and is mindful of the pennies.

The book is beautifully presented, and set out. The way that you are talked through the recipes makes you feel as though the book has been written especially for you, it is down to earth and sensible. The photography and styling is so nice that is makes you feel hungry just looking at the pictures. The instructions are clear and easy to follow and whenever substitutes or alternative suggestions are made they are shown as little tips which I think are very helpful.

This is a cookery book that every household should have. So I shall be ordering more copies to give to friends and family for Christmas.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
Great book cannot rate it highly enough! Such brilliant recipes, layout is really easy to follow, Fantastic ideas for making the most of your store cupboard and using leftovers. Tips on each page are an excellent addition. Definitely recommend to those on a budget who dont want to compromise on taste, variety or quality. Buy it now!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
How refreshing to find a cookery book that uses everyday and store cupboard ingredients with such flair. Sophie has a very clever way of marrying flavours to make the staple ingredients we use everyday taste special. Her enthusiasm for cooking is catching. Try the paprika and orange mackerel, easy, cheap and really tasty.

The recipes are beautifully presented, easy to follow, and they work!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
As the title suggests, with this book you're not going to need a million ingredients that are difficult to source, expensive to buy and will be used once! Also, the recipes confirm that you don't always need to buy the finest cut of meat for example, to make a tasty meal.

Having just received the book as a gift I've not yet got round to actually making any of the recipes however the instructions are concise and easy to follow and the photos make your mouth water so I'm very much looking forward to sampling the likes of sausage and bean cobbler, potato, ham and cheese bake and chicken, spinach and lentil coconut curry - to name just a couple!

And what an awesome way to use those random carrots we all have hanging about in the bottom of the fridge - carrot cookies!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I totally agree with most of the other reviews - this book is brilliant. Have hundreds of cookbooks at home and am used to buying new ones and finding about 4 or 5 "must do" recipes inside. This book is the other way round and there's only 4 or 5 recipes in there that I'm not bothered about trying.

Although I like the idea of being frugal with my food expenditure I'm not usually enamoured with the usual 'budget' cook books. With this one however you wouldn't notice that the recipes are relatively low cost. Where the book really comes into its own is the clever use of leftovers and the use of the same store cupboard ingredients over and over again in completely different recipes.

If you don't already own this book, I'd definitely recommend you to buy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Sophie makes it really easy to rustle up a quick and tasty meal cheaply after a hard day at work. Highly recommended.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
If i could i would give this cookbook more than 5 stars!!! I want to make every recipe in the book they all look and sound fabulous. I have over 400 cookbooks but this is my current favourite by far. I can't recommend this book highly enough and suggest you order your copy now!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Another cookery book but this one is different. Beautifully laid out and presented and in this day and age, a welcome addition to my shelf.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Dont use recipe books as a rule. But I heard this lady being interviewed on BBC Radio about this book. very useful to use up left overs. Only two of us to cook for and often have left overs. So found this ideal saves waste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I have all Sophies cookery books, there are lots of receipes to choose from, they are really good value for money and a staple part of your cook book shelf... buy this and then the rest of them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)