Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper bread - a revelation
I went searching for traditional recipes/methods for bread baking after being mildly disappointed with back-of-the-packet recipes on bags of flour.

I saw lots of positive reviews for Bertinet's books in general and plumped for Crust and its DVD. The methodology and technique was really unexpected! The recipes are clear and the methods easy to follow, though...
Published on 13 Mar 2010 by K. Wan

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but ...
The good;

The video is very good as it lets you see the techniques in action.
The resulting bread you get is great.
Lots of pictures to show finished and intermediate results.

Not so good;

The recipes seem to be baking for large numbers of people (do I really need 4 loaves at a time?)
Also the instructions on P124 don't...
Published on 3 May 2011 by PJ Online


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Spot On!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
This is a great book and we are very much looking forward to having the actual experience with Richard - have learnt so much about technique through this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, 25 April 2014
By 
Mrs. S. MacLean "sumac" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
My son started baking bread a couple of years ago so this book really appealed as part of his Christmas. He has just about baked everything by now and loves the recipes. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 18 April 2014
By 
Agnieszka (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
I bought that book a few years ago and made several breads since. It explains step by step the sourdough bread in a way you can't miss. Includes many bread recipes, very easy to follow. The only thing you MUST learn is working the dough. If you're serious about break making - it's worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book that helps you make great bread, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is another Bertinet masterclass in bread-making and I highly recommend it.

I've been to his cookery school and he's a great teacher, whether it be in written form or in person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better bread, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. R. J. Went "wentie" (st tropez, france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
Great fan of the first book so thought I would get this as well.

There are a few different techniques that aren't mentioned in the first book.

At the end of the day, it's bread, and apart from the recipes, the technique is the same for all of them, but it's a welcome addition to dough and gets used every week (I have a very bad memory!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
this book is easy to follow and helps you bake good tasty breads which will surprise your friends so go and buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars little more adventurous than Dough, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
This excellent book builds on 'Dough' although you can have either without the other I'm very pleased I have both. Recipes in here are more advanced and have quite a few sourdough or poolish bases, for the slightly more advanced breadmaker.
Lovely kneading technique that I now use instinctively
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
Great explanation of the sourdough-making method, Unfortunately the first thing I learned was that I needed an oven stone, which recently arrived. I will start with the practical side of things once the kids have gone in the New Year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD and Bread Making book combination, 1 Nov 2013
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
The DVD that comes with Crust defines what the book is principally about; namely, working with wet dough. The 20 minute or so DVD lesson takes you through this process and helps in a way written instructions can't, because it is a tricky technique to master and seeing how it is done is simply more helpful. The result of working with wet dough is a better crust and a more airy crumb, What I like about the book, in addition to the main recipes, is the recipe for sourdough using honey. The book is divided into the following sections: Tools and Techniques, Slow bread-making processes and recipes, Different bread recipes, (quite an interesting section), Sweet bread recipes and a section on bread facts and some fiction busting information. In many ways, this book is not too dissimilar to other good bread books - Sourdough, Poolish, Ferments etc. and the DVD is what helps most to set it apart. There are some interesting and unusual recipes, but other books have this too - it is different, although one among a growing number of really good bread making books in print today. If you haven't got a 1st class bread making book you will not be disappointed with this one: if you already have some, or several, this will add to your knowledge base and help to develop your bread making skills. Definitely a book for bread making enthusiasts, but the casual bread maker will be glad they bought it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great flavourful bread, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD) (Paperback)
Clear instructions, pictures & easy to follow DVD explain an adaptable technique for making great bread.
I would really recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, Bagels and Brioche (with DVD)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews