Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The accessible Heston
Heston Blumenthal seems to have cornered the market in envelope-pushing cookery (snail porridge, bacon and egg ice cream, dry ice with everything) but he's not the only one. Somehow, Paul A Young's favoured medium, chocolate, lends itself more readily to playing crazy games; the Puritan in me rebels against doing anything strange with meat and two veg, but pudding is the...
Published on 24 Nov. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected. To advanced for me as ...
Not what I expected. To advanced for me as only a beginner. Wanted more information on how to make "chocolates" rather than chocolate cakes, pudding etc...
Published 3 months ago by Lorraine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The accessible Heston, 24 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heston Blumenthal seems to have cornered the market in envelope-pushing cookery (snail porridge, bacon and egg ice cream, dry ice with everything) but he's not the only one. Somehow, Paul A Young's favoured medium, chocolate, lends itself more readily to playing crazy games; the Puritan in me rebels against doing anything strange with meat and two veg, but pudding is the fun bit, so it's OK to take a few chances. I wouldn't risk my eyebrows with a Heston recipe, but I'd have a crack at some of Young's ideas. And yes, Marmite and chocolate really does work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encourages one to experiment with flavours, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
I treated myself to this book recently, having previously bought one of Andrew Garrison Shotts' books on chocolate making. In my opinion, Paul Young's recipes are less fussy and demanding of Shotts' (many of which require cocoa butter and his own special pectin etc.). So far, I've only made salted pecan praline truffles and muscovado truffles but these went down a treat as Christmas presents. What I like most about this book is that Young has managed to convey his boundless enthusiasm for chocolate making and, whilst he does a super job of conveying the essential techniques, he does an even better job of encouraging the reader to experiment with flavours and textures on their own Chocolate Adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy enough for a beginner, creative enough for a pro, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
Robert E. Connoley "Gfron1" (Silver City, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a professional chef I tire of books rehashing the same information (ie how to temper chocolate), but Young does a good job of covering the fundamentals and then moving on to the fun stuff. This is a very good book that anyone can use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 21 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book! Its one of those where all the recipes work brilliantly (the ones I've tried anyway). I've made the basic truffles and raspberry truffles, which both received lots of compliments and were really straightforward to do. I also made the chocolate cookies and they were great. The recipes are really easy to follow and the information at the front of the book about different types of chocolate and flavourings is interesting. I'm looking forward to trying the more unusual recipes now I've done some of the basic ones. The only possible complaint is the weight I'm going to put on from eating too many truffles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delicious Inspiration Beautifully Assembled, 17 Nov. 2009
By 
Adele (London, UK) - See all my reviews
As a frequent visitor of Paul A. Young's heavenly scented Camden Passage shop in Islington and a taster of Paul's many delicious chocolate creations, the highly anticipated release of his 'Adventures with Chocolate: 80 Sensational Recipes' has finally arrived!

Brimming with Paul's talent and experience, not forgetting his award winning Chocolatier secrets, we're offered image after mouth watering image, all simple and achievable by following his straight forward recipes. Paul's enthusiasm for chocolate as a taste, as a template to add to, or an ingredient to be added is infectious and constant. From introducing chocolate in its purest form with classics such as 'Paul's Aztec-style hot chocolate', adding fruit and nuts, sugar and spice, even herbs and flowers, to the final chapter 'Alchemy' that takes a wilder path to Paul's famous 'Marmite Ganache'. The Genius Master Chocolatier washes your senses with each delectable page of this sensational journey into his world. Introducing the limitless pleasures to be discovered on an adventure that even the lesser chocolate lover will find inspiring.

'Adventures with Chocolate' is the perfect gift at any time of year for any event and for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So glad I bought it, 4 April 2010
By 
W. Bedford (Bury St. Edmunds,, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to add to my collection of books on chocolate after 'looking inside' on Amazon (a great idea) and reading previous reviews.

He has some very interesting recipes, not just for chocolates and truffles but also sweet and savoury dishes. There is a good introduction and notes on 'how to taste chocolate' and he shows boundless enthusiasm for his craft.
Some of his recipes are very unusual (marmite ganache for example) but all worth a try as they will be interesting to taste and there is obviously a place for them.
I had hoped there might be some notes on pairing wine with chocolate.
I am looking forward to working through many of his recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate heaven, 7 Jun. 2014
By 
KayBee "Hemulen" (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures with Chocolate: 80 Sensational Recipes (Paperback)
Paul A Young's book is a great resource for making your own fabulous choc creations. The recipes are varied, the friendly writing style makes everything seem achievable, I read the whole book before choosing to make a couple of things, and both turned out well, the fresh raspberry ganache was extra special. You need plenty of time to make your own chocs, but on this showing the effort is definitely worth it. Other recipes for desserts are tempting, and there are plenty of other unusual dishes including savoury ones .
Paul's enthusiasm for the subject, and his generous sharing of tips and techniques, make this a good and useful purchase. Buy one for yourself, or give to a friend, you won 't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 11 May 2014
By 
I. S. Brook (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures with Chocolate: 80 Sensational Recipes (Paperback)
So much I want to try. Everything I have, so far, has been exquisite. The strawberry, white chocolate and pink peppercorn truffles are simply divine. Only criticism, I find the font a little too small, and difficult to read, of an evening, when often against a non-white background, for someone of my age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures with Chocolate: 80 Sensational Recipes (Paperback)
Great ideas although you might want to use a cheaper choc - still tastes amazing
Given as gifts -good idea as you get to taste the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful indulgent and informative cookbook!, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures with Chocolate: 80 Sensational Recipes (Paperback)
This truly is a great cookbook. If you're like chocolate and baking with chocolate then then this is a must have purchase. It starts by taking you through different types of chocolate and how where they’re grown and the cocoa variety and so forth affects the taste and usage - but do not fear it’s not as technical as it sounds. Paul A Young keeps the writing interesting with a good selection of personal experiences

The photography is simply amazing and there’s plenty of wonderful photographs of the many treats you can make - the photography is definitely one of the selling points.

The recipes themselves cover a range of delights from creating your own truffles, through to creating indulgent dinner party desserts - so there’s something for cooks of all levels. The brownie are my favourite quick and simple chocolate treat - they’re like no brownie you’ve ever made.

Buy this book, your life will be better, if a touch shorter. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures with Chocolate: 80 Sensational Recipes
Adventures with Chocolate: 80 Sensational Recipes by Paul A Young (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews