Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Celebrity Cookbook!
The clean and lean diet concept requires a total change of mindset to follow the diet & workout plan, the cookbook contains good information to help you stay healthy and lose weight. The recipes are creative, nutritious, delicious, and fairly easy to follow. Yummy pics too! I love the clean and lean way of life it makes me feel fantastic, I also highly recommend...
Published 24 months ago by MAG

versus
45 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but could've been better
I bought this book because I wanted some new healthy recipe ideas. After all the cover states 'Clean & Lean recipes keep my body in amazing shape' (Elle Macpherson) and it also mentions a 14-day menu plan. Sadly too much space is wasted in the book with pointless things such as photographs of occasionally Mr Duigan himself but mostly Mrs Duigan, usually in a bikini...
Published 22 months ago by red0209


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Celebrity Cookbook!, 28 July 2012
This review is from: Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series) (Paperback)
The clean and lean diet concept requires a total change of mindset to follow the diet & workout plan, the cookbook contains good information to help you stay healthy and lose weight. The recipes are creative, nutritious, delicious, and fairly easy to follow. Yummy pics too! I love the clean and lean way of life it makes me feel fantastic, I also highly recommend Superfruit Smoothies: 50 Healthy Smoothie Recipes for Weight Loss, Energy & Optimum Health a diet book bursting with pure goodness. The Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook focuses more on watching what you eat, rather than how much you eat, it's a must have book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 9 Jan 2012
By 
V. Simpson "tori" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series) (Paperback)
Got all of the clean and lean diet books, definitely worth a look, have been on the diet for just under a year and have lost 2 and half stone, its not a diet its a change of lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works!, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series) (Paperback)
Good value for money, easy to follow AND it works - half a stone in 3 weeks and feeling great! Thought it has left me wanting more information and new recipes, will have to see if there are any more books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must buy!!, 6 Sep 2013
This review is from: Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series) (Paperback)
i love this book i started the clean and lean diet and immediatley lost weight this book is full of delicious recipes aswell!! must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but could've been better, 24 Sep 2012
By 
red0209 (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series) (Paperback)
I bought this book because I wanted some new healthy recipe ideas. After all the cover states 'Clean & Lean recipes keep my body in amazing shape' (Elle Macpherson) and it also mentions a 14-day menu plan. Sadly too much space is wasted in the book with pointless things such as photographs of occasionally Mr Duigan himself but mostly Mrs Duigan, usually in a bikini (wasn't it enough to put one of these photographs on the cover?). It's a bit like get rich quick schemes that feature photographs of people stood outside huge houses or driving sports cars. You need to put more effort into telling people how to achieve success rather than exhibiting the results of that success. Good marketing I suppose but the cover photograph would've been sufficient without flooding the book with more of them.

Most of the breakfast recipes are pointless or pretty obvious; if the recipe is called Hugh Grant's Poached Eggs with Asparagus and Parmesan and the ingredients are eggs, asparagus, Parmesan, salt, pepper and olive oil, I think anyone could probably work out what to do. That's without mentioning the needless celebrity name dropping that is a constant throughout the book. Does it really need to be Hugh Grant's Poached Eggs? The 14-day menu plan is a bit pointless also as it just lists most of the recipes throughout the book alternated over 14 days, without any other great revelations. The 'bad, better, best' guides throughout the book are mostly obvious also; for example Fish and chips/Fried fish without batter/Grilled fish with salad. Chapter 8, Clean and Lean Smoothies, could have been a very useful summary of the best smoothies, but instead is one big advertisement for Bodyism supplements, which feature in nearly all of the recipes. Can you not make smoothies with entirely natural ingredients?

Having said all of this, I think the book has a lot of good points. The main one being that there are quite a few interesting lunch and dinner recipes. I've tried a handful of them and can say that they all work well. Some of the food photography is very good, although typically throughout the book there are two recipes per page and the opposite page has a photograph of just one item at most. I know that some people like to see a photograph of what they're working towards when cooking something new, although personally I think that most of the recipes in the book are simple enough not to require this. The top tips scattered throughout the book and the general information in each chapter is all good, solid information but if you are already aware of what you should and shouldn't be eating, most of the tips and information will be things you've heard before. If you're new to the healthy style of eating promoted within this book, you'll likely find the tips and information very useful.

All in all, it's a decent book with a lot of good points, but it could've been better if there has been more focus on providing good, interesting recipes, and less focus on glossy photographs serving little purpose or promoting a particular brand of supplements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the other books by James Duigan and I haven't found anything new in this cookbook. I am disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent advice and very easy to read. My sister picked this up by chance in a supermarket and we are all now adapting our diet to follow some of his advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book recommend, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series) (Paperback)
Good follow up book to clean and lean diet book.
More recipes and info also not bad for vegetarians
Worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series) (Paperback)
It's ok, but i haven't learned anything new...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written and beautifully illustrated, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series) (Paperback)
Brilliantly written and beautifully illustrated. Nothing is spoon fed, but clear and concise reasoning is at the forefront of this book. The menu plan is extremely do-able, and I can't wait to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clean & Lean Diet Cookbook: With a 14-day Menu Plan (Clean & Lean Series)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews