Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A consistent "what if " book about WW1
This book is about what could have happened if , at the beginning of WW1, Germany had decided not to attack Belgium.
This is not a silly question, because , as described in the book, truly, at the least possible moment, the Kaiser Wilhelm II ordered to the troops not to cross the Belgian border, but in the reality, he changed his mind and he withdrew that order...
Published 6 months ago by Carrosio Roberto

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read and chuck away
The blurb on the back of this somewhat unimpressively produced paperback declares it a "novel" - it is not a novel, neither in size (maybe a novelette) or style(it is a series of short loosely related and uninvolving chapters). There is little or no plot (Germany decides not to invade france via belgium, invades russia instead, and wins and ... er. .. that's it)...
Published 9 months ago by Captain Kirk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read and chuck away, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Tide in the East (Paperback)
The blurb on the back of this somewhat unimpressively produced paperback declares it a "novel" - it is not a novel, neither in size (maybe a novelette) or style(it is a series of short loosely related and uninvolving chapters). There is little or no plot (Germany decides not to invade france via belgium, invades russia instead, and wins and ... er. .. that's it)

There are a few characters in this - real people apparently, though you would hardly know it from they way they speak and interact.

This is not a Fatherland or a Dominium. The author seems to have done his research, but a writer he is not. Even ignoring the bizarre spelling of places (Cracow?) and the typos, the book itself looks amateurish.

The authors premise - that Germany might easily have decided not to invade france via belgium and that that would have changed the whole course of the war - I agree with. It could be argued that Britain, worried by Germanys overtaking it in the industrial revolution and by its expansionism, might have gone into WWI anyway in order to maintain the balance of power in Europe. But that postulated scenario is plausible and worth exploring. Pity more was not made of the idea.

There are two afterwords that look at what might have happened had Germany won and , again, the conclusions it draws seem sensible. A pity though that this possible world was not explored fully in the book itself.

I would buy this, but only when you can get it cheaply second hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A consistent "what if " book about WW1, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Tide in the East (Paperback)
This book is about what could have happened if , at the beginning of WW1, Germany had decided not to attack Belgium.
This is not a silly question, because , as described in the book, truly, at the least possible moment, the Kaiser Wilhelm II ordered to the troops not to cross the Belgian border, but in the reality, he changed his mind and he withdrew that order after a tough confrontation with the German Chief of Staff General Moltke.
Instead this book explore what could have happened if the Kaiser didn't change his mind: simply Great Britain would have not been able to declare war on Germany and the Triple Alliance (Germany, the Absburg Empire and Italy) would have won the war.
I agree completely with the contents of this book and I liked very much even the author's style.
I tell you more: I would have given the fifth star if the book had been a little bit longer; personally I think that every chapter is an abstract of cwhat could have been a wonderful book.
Anyway the book is original and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out counterfactual, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Tide in the East (Paperback)
A really interesting well researched study with some fascinating vignettes of both well known and obscure historic figures. It could quite easily have happened in that way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent narrative, makes you think how things could so easily have been different.
Slightly disappointing ending but overall does not stray too far into realms of fantasy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Please can I have more ?, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Tide in the East (Paperback)
Very entertaining seemed to have finished too quickly though. Follow up books on the aftermath of the war would be welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it but it should have been longer, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Tide in the East (Paperback)
Great idea and generally a very good read. Only thing is that it seems to have been edited too much. There are sub plots and good stories in there but they don't go anywhere.
I'd recommend the author to fill in the gaps and expand on the potentially excellent characters.
Most compelling is the post script. Made me think...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good read., 31 Aug 2013
By 
E. W. Sharman (Ilford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gray Tide in the East (Paperback)
This is quite a good read could have been longer and better with some interesting ideas but the chances of linking the British with the Germans was missed and expanding the options with the tale making a world wide war struggle possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good counter factual story, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read and manages to avoid the big mistake of piling what ifs on what ifs. It sticks to one 'change' and explores the direct consequences. One mistake about Edward VII being a cousin and I'm not sure Italy would have joined in but in the notes the author at least states his view why, and its his book after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 8 Aug 2013
A scholarly but very, very readable "what if". The blurb tells you what the book is about and from that simple change of attack from west to east the author creates a world that is so different from the one we have today. Read it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Churchill / Hitler and De Gaulle and the Book aint worth a Damn, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Andrew Appleyard (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A novel idea for a novel but even giving a chapter to Hitler and leser spce to Churchill and a fee pages to De Gaulle could not change thi from a nice idea to a horrible book, which was I believe a waste of my money. I could not recomend this to anyone and I really enjoy War and especiall alternative history war books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gray Tide in the East
Gray Tide in the East by Andrew J Heller (Paperback - 15 Jun 2013)
5.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews